We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed at the Cosmopolitan Hotel for 3 nights. Got in very late, the staff were very helpful and gave me a room upgrade. The size of the room was great! Large room with a large bathroom, and the king size bed was really comfortable. Staying at this hotel means you're 5 minutes walk from the main attractions in St.Kilda. Fantastic location, and private parking for your car. Noise was never an issue (as I always bring ear plugs!) but for extra comfort ask for a room facing the rear, you'll be away from the tram tracks.

The only downside to staying at the hotel was the decor of the room. Room had strip lighting, white walls and ceiling, and was very sterile. Not a bad thing as the room was clean, but a couple of pictures on the walls would have livened the place up!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Ray767,

It is wonderful to hear you were suitably impressed with the hotels cleanliness, location and the complimentary upgrade on arrival. Your suggestion regarding the in-room décor is most helpful – thank you.

For the benefit of our other readers each of our room categories is uniquely different in its style, design and appointment. Quite honestly our value for money lead in room types are quite basic in their presentation, however feature all the modern conveniences in an amazing location.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel, on your next visit from NZ.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our stay at the Cosmopolitan, St. Kilda's Melbourne, was great! We liked the King size bed, the spacious size of the room, which looked out onto a balcony, with chairs & small table. The large shower, was excellent. The room was exceptionally well designed, as well as being light and airy. The staff were very helpful. The downstairs Chalk Room cafe looked great too. The Cosmopolitan Hotel is a just a short distance to many cafes, gorgeous cake shops, laundry, book shops and many others. I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear ccthom,

Our Cosmo Deluxe Terrace rooms are a popular favourite with couples, or guests travelling for business, simply wanting that extra space and a nice king size bed!

For the benefit of other readers this room category is located on the 4th floor of the (main) Barkly Wing and feature their very own private terrace. With only 5 of these on offers they are all north- facing capturing views towards the city; perfect to relax, unwind and make the most of the long evening sunsets.

ccthom, many thanks for your recommendation and hopefully we see you again soon.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

With all good restaurants near by. Yet quiet and peaceful. Friendly staff.
A lavish spread of breakfast menu. Good choice if you are planning to be near and around St Kilda.
Its 30 minutes of taxi ride away from the airport, so you must plan your travel well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aina_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Ania_sydney,

Great advice to share for our guests! We do pride ourselves on offering unique and friendly service in clean and comfortable accommodation, in an amazing location – down town St Kilda!

Many thanks for your review Ania.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel 4 nights and our room was in the main hotel block on the third floor at the rear. We were woken up early the first morning by building work which appeared to be on a private house in an adjoining street. This was not a problem for the rest of the week as the weather was so wet we presume the builders could not work.
Our room was a good size with very large bed. The bathroom was well equipped but felt a little cold possible due to the extractor fan working to efficiently !
It is a short walk to the main street were there are a large number of bars and eating places. It is also easy to get into Melbourne Central via trams 16 & 96
The reception staff were helpful and you can purchase myki travel cards from them. Only negative thing was that I asked for our room safe to be looked at as it was not working properly, but this did not happen.
Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltyb_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Saltby_99,

So nice to have you stay with us for four nights recently!

It is a shame to hear the external noise caused you some discomfort on your first night stay. For the benefit of other readers our hotel is located right in the heart of St Kilda in an amazing spot, and as Saltby99 has mentioned, it is a mere minutes from the main tourist draw card - Acland Street!

I am sorry that we weren’t effective in communicating that, we were unable to remedy the safe fault during your stay. We usually pride ourselves upon being attentive and on ball with things that arise, but please rest assured that this has been taken on board completely.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Australia and thank you for your review.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here one night upon our late return from overseas, as upon our last visit the room was very clean, lovely crisp sheets, reception friendly and efficient. Rooms with less tram noise are on the upper level. Secure parking available, Wi-Fi no charge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Michael-Barry,

We aim to offer a high standard and it is fantastic to hear you were suitably impressed!

Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during our trip around Australia. We arrived at hotel at 9am due to an early flight. The hotel was very helpful and let us check in eArly which was brilliant after a 24 hour flight from Wales. Room was small but clean and well equipped. There was a fault with out window but when we told reception the maintenance man came straight up and fixed it. Hotel is close to everything and it is very easy to use the trams a short walk away to get in to the city. Can walk to Albert park in 30mins which was nice on a sunny morning, all the staff were helpful and friendly and made the stay very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel4889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Rachel4889,

Thank you for staying and for your review! The 24 hour trip from the UK can be tiring one and I am delighted we were able to offer you an early arrival.

For other guests wanting to stay for three nights or more, we do offer stay and save packages which represent value for money including car-parking and wi-fi. Our friendly reservation staff are more than happy to take you through options suitable for you.

Rachel4889, we hope to see you again on your next visit out to Australia and until then.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I booked this hotel, and cancelled my hostel booking on the recommendation of a friend. I am very glad to have stayed here as the position is perfect, and the hotel was first class. I was able to easily walk to Ackland Street, (although that could do with a bit of a make over!). I stayed for two nights, but separated by a 3 day absence. I left luggage, and this was already in my room on my second visit. This was much appreciated.
The staff were obliging and pleasant, especially on my first visit. Breakfast was included in my package but the included eggs were not offered on my second visit by the breakfast staff member. On departure the room rate had magically increased by a dollar and some cents on departure, which puzzled me somewhat. The women afternoon/evening staff in particular, I found most obliging on both visits. A very comfortable stay in a very convenient location. It was more expensive than I would normally pay, but as most Australian hotels are vastly overpriced, it was good value. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: I think the higher the better. I was on third floor and felt private, then the first floor and felt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne7307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Yvonne7307,

I am delighted to hear that both of your recent stays were comfortable and enjoyable!

For the benefit of other readers at the Cosmopolitan Hotel, we offer a range of rooms to suit all travellers and their budgets and our reservation staff are more than happy to take you through the different room/apartments available to see what best suits your needs.

Yvonne7307, we hope you choose Cosmo St Kilda as your place to stay on your next visit.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Kilda
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $90 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the action of Melbourne’s favourite beachside playground, this 86 room boutique hotel is a perfect base to explore St Kilda, Melbourne, and its surrounds. Moments away from St Kilda Beach, Palais Theatre, Iconic Luna Park as well as famous Acland Street cake shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars. There's so much to explore and quite a bit of history too. Influenced by St Kilda's entertaining scene in the 50s to 70s, Cosmopolitan was once known as the Rock and Roll hotel, popular with a number of great Aussie icons and international performers. Catering to all budgets whether it be for business or leisure, Cosmopolitan Hotel has accommodation styles to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing