We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and in a great spot..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great location. A stones throw from the beach and the service was fantastic (the new Scottish lady working at reception was the stand out performer).

Transport links literally outside the hotel, tram, bus, taxi etc.
7 eleven 3 mins walk, which is also next to restaurants and bars.
We got a great sleep too (over our 4 night stay), considering we were only on the 3rd floor and along a street with a lot of entertainment and things going on...

We hired a car for the final day and the parking service at the hotel is class. You use your key card to let you in, and there are many parking slots available. 24hr security to keep your mind at rest.

We feel the cost of the room was justified, as the room was large, clean, comfy bed and nice sheets and a safe. The walls are kinda thin, so I hope the people next door didn't get woken up in the middle of the night... ;)

Travelled as a couple, 11-15 Oct 2013...

Room Tip: We got a room facing the car park as most were booked. However with the sunsets being pretty spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-n-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Mike-n-Asia,

An abundance of secure parking plus our centralised location, are just a couple of features that really add to the overall value for money incorporated in our room offers. Thank you for mentioning them for others to read.

Like I have said in my previous review response, Kellyanne is a new recruit to the team and we are simply delighted to have her on board – thank you for recognising her efforts on this forum.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Melbourne.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

beautiful very clean hotel, very good location, easy access, staff are very kind, all of them specially Kellayanne the Scottish girl, very helpful and knowledgable.
they smile with every time you pass by, the cafe is nice, service is quite good and relaxing
i will stay again here .
Mohamad

Room Tip: facing the road , if you want to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Mohamad,

Thank you for your review and praise regarding Kellyanne and her service. She is a recent addition to our small team, and making a wonderful impression with our guests. Your recognition will go a long way - much appreciated!

See you again on your next visit.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at the Cosmopolitan for two nights mid-week while on a business trip to Melbourne.
The location is definitely its main advantage. St Kilda beach is 3 minutes away. Luna Park is across the street (almost) and there are plenty of eateries just around the corner.

If you're just after a clean and well located hotel to sleep in then this is a good option. Everything is compact, including the parking area but that's what it's like living in such a popular area of town. The view from my room was the living rooms and balconies of the neighbouring apartment block. Not much privacy for those guys but they didn't seem too worried. You can always pull the curtain over if you need privacy.

The staff were welcoming and professional.

I think there are bigger rooms so my opinion is based only on the room I was given.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Philippe V,

Thank you for your review. Our guests range from corporates like yourself to interstate or overseas leisure travellers, and families simply coming to the area to see the sites you have mentioned!

It’s wonderful to hear you are return guest and were impressed with our teams’ service. We hope to see you again next time you’re in Melbourne.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Terrific location close to restaurants and cafes in Acland Street. Reception staff extremely helpful and obliging. The room was clean and comfortable with a large shower cubicle in the bathroom and strong water pressure. Breakfast was provided and the wait staff were also pleasant and obliging. A bonus was the secure free car parking. Although checkout was 10am staff allowed me to park our vehicle for the remainder of the day at no charge. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear David R,

Offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a location you cannot beat is exactly what we strive for at the Cosmopolitan Hotel! The service part is what we really enjoy and it’s great to hear that this has shined through in your recent experience with us.

Please do come back again soon!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is very well located in St Kilda, just a 2 minute walk to Acland St where there are many restaurants, bakeries and shops and beside the tram stop to the city (20-30 minute journey). The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was very big, had very comfortable beds and a widescreen television. The room was cold so we needed to have the heater on most of the time and there was a lot of noise as the room faced on to Carlisle St where the tram runs. DVDs are available to borrow from reception, laundry is open 24 hours and the wifi was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cailinshligigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear hcsligeach,

Regrettably our amazing location does not mean we are immune to the hustle and bustle of our vibrant neighbourhood. It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed the hotels position, and services!

Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really good hotel in a great location. Staff are fantastic and the hotel is clean. We never ate at the hotel but it did look fantastic.
The hotel is situated in a great part of st kilda with many bars and restaurants to hand.

Room Tip: The small doubles are just that, small, but what more do you need if your only sleeping there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear LondonChange,

Lovely to have you stay with us and thank you for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2br room. Rooms are clean and tidy but nothing fancy. Location is great, right in the heart of St Kilda close to restaurants, luna park and the tram. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Tip: purchase a tram travel card from the front desk, easily topped up with money at main stops.

Room Tip: 2br is plenty big enough for 4 people on an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1TRMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Ben W,

We are extremely fortunate to be in such an amazing location, only minutes from Acland Street, and St Kilda beach, and it is fantastic to hear you were comfortable in our clean and modest accommodation!

For the benefit of any guests not acquainted with Melbourne's public transport. Our friendly reception team offer Myki Traveller Packs which include, one days’ worth of travel, a tram map with helpful information and some discounts to local tourist hot spots, to get you started.

Ben W, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on your next visit from Queensland.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
1.3 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $93 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the action of Melbourne’s favourite beachside playground, this 86 room boutique hotel is a perfect base to explore St Kilda, Melbourne, and its surrounds. Moments away from St Kilda Beach, Palais Theatre, Iconic Luna Park as well as famous Acland Street cake shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars. There's so much to explore and quite a bit of history too. Influenced by St Kilda's entertaining scene in the 50s to 70s, Cosmopolitan was once known as the Rock and Roll hotel, popular with a number of great Aussie icons and international performers. Catering to all budgets whether it be for business or leisure, Cosmopolitan Hotel has accommodation styles to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing