We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for $... Ask for room at back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Value for $... Ask for room at back”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Value for money and big thankyou and praise to young lady who got me a Chai Latte even though café closed. I was exhausted and that cuppa and thoughtfulness was a Godsend.

My first night was facing the road and across from a Backpacker/Bar. Very noisy even though windows double glazed. However I approached management and was put into a room on the back side of the hotel. I had 2 nights of great sleep, so do yourself a favour and ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want quiet.

The staff were very polite, friendly and accommodating and nothing was to much trouble for them. The staff recommended restaurants to eat at and give you some vouchers for meals and drinks. Trust me take them and use them. I had an incredibly awesome dinner of slow roasted lamb shanks with creamy mash and wilted vegies and 2 free drinks all for $17 at one of the restaurants vouched for by the staff.

The hotel is centrally located in St Kilda near Luna Park and is 2 minutes walk from a wide variety of shops from Maccas to local fine dining at great cheap prices. I would highly recommend this hotel but stress get a room at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Jeriah,

It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to make you arrival special!

Our location in heart of St Kilda can make it difficult to escape the hustle and bustle of our vibrant neighbourhood. We offer a variety of room appointments suited to all travellers and budgets, and it is wonderful to hear that that we were able overcome the minor hiccup and make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Thanks for your review, and please come back soon

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    567
    176
    58
    42
See reviews for
313
536
136
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent location, room immaculate and quiet, I always stay at this chain. Staff friendly, low-key and extremely obliging. A must-stay whenever I am in Melbourne. By the way, their other Hotel near Spencer St Station is also excellent for those needing to stay in the city. New meaning to the phrase 'boutique hotel'!

Room Tip: rooms facing the back parking area are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear DavidG,

Unique friendly service in clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in really cool locations is what we are all about at 8 Hotels. I must say, that it is wonderful to hear you are receiving the same positive experience across our properties in Melbourne!

We look forward to seeing you again soon David, thanks for your review.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the time we checked in to the last breakfast we were very impressed. The reception staff wee fantastic on our arrival and during our stay. breakfast in the cafe was great value for money. Our poached eggs were poached to perfection. the waiter on Tues morning was so friendly and help full as was the young Reception staff. The room was very good the bed was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Peter,

We loved having you and Diane staying with again, and it’s a real fantastic to hear you were impressed with our service both in the café and the front desk. Alex will be delighted to hear his poached eggs were spot on for you, thanks for mentioning it.

For the benefit of other readers our Boutique Breakfast in Chalk Café is an abundant spread encompassing freshly baked treats, continental meat and cheese selection, cereals, fresh/poached and dried fruits with a choice of 10 toppers to make your own special combination. The best part is our wait staff also double-up in the kitchen to freshly prepare eggs cooked three ways, and it is all inclusive in the one price!

Thank you for your review peter and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards


Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is in a great location and the service was great we had secure parking walked across the road to have dinner at one of the many restaurants the grand two bedroom was neat and comfortable I never stay at the same place twice but I did try to book again but was booked out. Will stay again for sure!. Thank you.

Mary

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodcutter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Mary (Woodcutter69),

I am delighted you enjoyed our location and our services offered.

Many thanks for your review and we look forward to your next visit also!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
406 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in a 1 bedroom apartment & found it very comfortable. Firstly I must say that all of the persons at reception were extremely helpful with directions, web searches, etc..
We were on the second floor without a lift but that was no problem for us.
Trams went past all day but we just got used to them & eventually did not notice them.
The location at the end of Ackland St is ideal for coffee, cakes & light meals & as I said trams run past for quick trips to the CBD, etc. We had no trouble with the hotel parking.
Whilst it is a no frills place we had everything we needed & would definitely go back.
I was a bit surprised when paying, not realising that the web prices did not include GST.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Noel D,

Thank you for staying and for your review!

As our room appointments do vary across the hotel, our reception staff are always available to assist with porterage of bags as and when required.

For the benefit of other readers all prices quoted on our website http://www.8hotels.com/melbourne-hotels/cosmopolitan-hotel/ are inclusive of GST, and our reservation staff are always happy to answer any questions you may have regarding the rates and payment terms.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warmest regards


Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nothing to complain about really. We had actually booked to stay only for one night, but then decided to arrive in Melbourne one day earlier and called the night before to see if we could spontaneously get the room for an extra night. This was swiftly accomplished, and during check-in the next day, there were no problems at all. There were only two of us, but we asked for four WIFI signal codes for our different devices, and the front desk staff happily obliged with a smile.

We had booked a standard room, which was really great value-for-money, significantly more affordable vis-a-vis other hotels in Melbourne. The room was really small, but very modern, comfortable and well furnished, looking like it had recently been renovated. Unfortunately the room we were shown to had problems with the air-conditioning (heating), and we had to call the duty manager to help us fix the problem. It was late at night when we arrived, I guess about 9pm and the service was really prompt: the staff on duty came right up, tried to fix the problem and assured us it would be OK, but after about 30 minutes, we recognized the heating was still not working. A little bit disgruntled (and tired) by now, we called the front desk again, and they immediately offered to upgrade us to another room, and the guy on duty came right up to our room to help us move our luggage to the new room. So all in all we were really happy and satisfied with the urgency and efficiency that the Cosmopolitan Hotel staff responded to the issue with the heating! And with such friendliness and professionalism too, you could genuinely see that they really wanted so hard to make the guest happy.

The room we were upgraded to was a family room, which was significantly much bigger than the previous room we came from (yay!), but unfortunately also a lot older in comparison. Hopefully the family rooms get a renovation soon too! Still we were really pleased because the heating was roaring, and even though this particular room was way out at the far end of the hotel property, the WIFI signal was super strong. Double yay! Free parking: triple yay! And the location of the Cosmpolitan Hotel is superb: lots of little cafes within walking distance, plus just a less than 2 minute drive to St Kilda beach. We were really happy with our stay at Cosmopolitan Hotel, especially at how our dollar really went such a long way due to the very reasonable hotel rates and all the 'extras' included in the rate. Plus first rate service from every single staff we met in the hotel. We'll definitely be aiming to stay here again next time we're in Melbourne!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellochubbybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear hellochubbybunny,

Thank you for sharing that you could feel our team members’ genuine desire for you to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us! This is indeed the core motivator for what we do each day at the Cosmopolitan Hotel, making guests experience as special as they can be.

Thank you for raising your issue at the time, and I’m glad we were able to move swiftly to correct it. We strive to capture any issues with rooms before guests, but unfortunately certain issues only reveal themselves at the time. Rest assured that the heating in the room was fixed with urgency. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful location in St. Kilda close to the Esplanade and beach. Very friendly and helpful staff quite happy to answer questions and offer suggestions. Amazingly quiet at night in the off season. Very comfortable beds - probably the best hotel beds we can remember in a long time. We had two children with us and the family room (3 beds) was adequate for our needs even though it was not spacious. Nice off street parking and good amenities for the price. I highly recommend the Cosmopolitan and we definitely would book here again upon a return trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Chris N,

Thank you for your review!

On your next visit, please ask our friendly staff about our other suitable options available for families. For a family of 3-4; our Grand Two Bedroom Apartments are simply perfect. They feature a spacious lounge, large flat screen TV and DVD, kitchenette facilities and two separate bedrooms, one for the kids!

Hearing that you loved the bedding is fantastic, and I am delighted to share that all of our 86 rooms (8 room types) feature Boutique Micro Cloud bedding, aimed to enhance our guests comfort.

Thank you for bringing your family to stay with us and see you again next time.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Prince
The Prince
#11 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of trendy St Kilda on the doorstep of Luna Park, The Esplanade, St Kilda Arts Markets, St Kilda Beach and Melbourne's finest restaurants and shops, the Cosmopolitan Hotel stands out with its boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. This landmark icon immaculately redesigned with the latest luxury amenities and variety of accommodations to suit all needs, will assure an unforgettable and truly authentic Melbourne experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8Hotels St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing