We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That's the one.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“That's the one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I come ounce a year to Australia and always like to spend few days in Melbourne, the Cosmopolitan became my address to stay, a 10 second walk and you are on this great street name is Aukland where you have all the cool restaurants and bars..beach is a minute walk also. The hotel itself is clean, rooms are not necessarily spacious but comfortable with super clean bathroom which is just what I need when i'm not at home. So for me, that's the one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliver h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Oliverh,

We are delighted to have offered you everything you need whilst you are away from your home!

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again next year.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    559
    172
    57
    42
See reviews for
306
523
134
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room and were very happy with it. It was spacious, the light (day and electric) was good, nice bathroom, and it was clean and comfortable. The desk staff were helpful with directions and suggestions for dining. The location is good - near buses, trams, cafés and pubs. And it cost less than $115 per night. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDCofSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear TDCofSyndey,

Lovely to hear you were impressed with our Cosmo Deluxe and took advantage of our stay 3 nights and save 15%. Your caption Convenient, Clean and Spacious are all things we aspire to be, and I thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to your next stay!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

After countless visits to Melbourne, we decided a stay in St Kilda would make a nice change. Previous tram rides to St Kilda were short and sweet, however unfortunately with luggage St Kilda seemed further away. We arrived at Cosmopolitan long before check-in, and were able to leave our bags, whilst we returned to the city.
Upon our return, room 104 was ready, and we walked out through the carpark, at which time I became very nervous as the quality of our chosen accommodation. The external views of this hotel were very dated, however we were very pleasantly surprised to find our room immaculately clean, and more than roomy enough for three adults. The bathroom is a little small, but as for value for money, this place has it.
I only had two small gripes...the passwords for the free WiFi, did not work. I didn't bother to follow this up. Also, upon check-in my credit card was charged the price of the room plus $100. Whilst this is fairly standard, I became annoyed on check-out, when I settled the account with cash, however was told that a fax would need to be sent to the bank to have the money refunded to my credit card. The shoe store I returned shoes to were able to swipe my CC and refund money immediately, so I'm not sure why the Cosmo St Kilda could not do the same.
Will stay again in the summer time, when I can enjoy the warm evenings along the St Kilda waterfront.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Rosalie,

I appreciate you giving us a try and thank you so much for your review!

Our Cosmo Studio rooms are quite popular with couples and families (of 3) as they are equipped with a mini kitchenette and have an alcove to sit and relax. Thank you for highlighting our rooms cleanliness and the spaciousness.

It’s a shame we were not afforded the opportunity to provide another Wi-Fi pass or assist you in connecting to our Wi-Fi. Our reception staff are always more than happy to assist with any queries pertaining to this complimentary service.

At the Cosmopolitan Hotel, we (like the shoe shop) are able to refund purchases. Regrettably pre-authorisations (that are not used for settlement of your account) do require confirmation to the bank for a same day removal. We are always happy to assist with this also, and honestly speaking they can arrange this for you within 24 hours. For the benefit of other readers we also offer for guests to pay upfront Cash/Eftpos with a security deposit which can avoid the above process.

Rosalie, was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer time!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is our second stay at the Cosmopolitan St Kilda. Both times we have been in a family room. First we were in room 301 and this time 304. Although 301 is a fair bit bigger, I would prefer 304 as it is much quieter. That is the only reason. I hate being in a hotel that is so noisy you can not sleep. It is actually the backpackers across the road that is loud. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms modern and cosy. 304 has a lovely balcony with some lovely views above the St Kilda rooflines.

And we would still like to thank the lovely guest/s that found my sons wallet with his birthday money in it and gave it to the very nice girl at reception. At one stage I thought we were going to have an hysterical 8 year old on our hands. Thanks kind stranger!

Room Tip: 304 lovely quiet family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Hapasi,

Lovely to have you and your family stay with us again and delightful news regarding the wallet – Cheers kind stranger indeed.

Hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanban
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We just spent the weekend it a Cosmo twin room at the cosmopolitan hotel in st kilda (3 adults, 1 2.5yo, 1 9 month old).
Based on other reviews I knew that this room was in the "older" part of the hotel and that there would be noise from the club across the road. While these things were true we felt that the hotel offered excellent value for money (we paid $110/night).
The reception staff were fabulous and went out if their way to help us, the room was pleasant and clean and parking was free! The location of the hotel is great - acland st, the beach and Luna park are only a few minutes walk.
The cafe downstairs serves a buffet breakfast which isn't amazing but sufficient for the $18 you pay.
Highlights of our stay were the endota day spa, the Mexican restaurant across the road and "95" for outstanding coffee.
I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrspmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Mrspmagoo,

Transparency in the style of accommodation we offer is important to us and I am delighted you agree we offer great value for money!

Rooms starting at as little as $90 a night ranging to 2 Bedroom Apartments sleeping a family (or Party) of four. We really have something for everyone and the best part is you do not pay any more for Parking or Wi-Fi, it's FREE!

Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms cleanliness and our team attentiveness. It's always a pleasure to share the positives with my team.

Thank you again and see you soon!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful suprise. The hotel was wonderful and the price was reasonable. The best part of the stay was the wonderful customer service provided by Ben Higgins. He ensured our the stay was great and gave great information on local activities and places to eat. I would highly suggest this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Julie K,

I am absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your stay and to see that you have taken the time to commend Ben, our Operations Manager for his efforts. Ben is natural with our guests and he will be delighted to hear your feedback!

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a nice neat hotel with great service. I booked a petite room, which I knew would be small, but the bed was more like a king single than a double. Very clean though and great location with plenty of great cafes and bars at your doorstep.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a regular - the petite really is tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgeyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Midgeyc,

Thank you for your short & petite review!
See you again soon!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Prince
The Prince
#11 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of trendy St Kilda on the doorstep of Luna Park, The Esplanade, St Kilda Arts Markets, St Kilda Beach and Melbourne's finest restaurants and shops, the Cosmopolitan Hotel stands out with its boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. This landmark icon immaculately redesigned with the latest luxury amenities and variety of accommodations to suit all needs, will assure an unforgettable and truly authentic Melbourne experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8Hotels St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing