We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent one night here after a long flight from London. Although I arrived very early In the morning, I was fortunate they had a room available straight away as I was eager to freshen up. The staff were incredibly friendly and I was thrilled to get a free upgrade. I ended up in a large room with king sized bed and an additional single bed which was in the older part of the hotel. The room was plainly designed -but included all the amenities I needed - hot shower, heating, TV, coffee and fridge, hairdryer, ironing board etc. I retired to the soft, comfortable bed and had a really great sleep. I would definitely recommend. St Kilda is a good location for younger travellers, with lots of bars and restaurants. Only a short tram ride to the CBD too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Emmos,

The long haul flight from the UK to Australia can be a tough one and we understand the desire for an early check in and do what we can to make that happen for our guests!

Our spacious Cosmo Twin rooms, older style are well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the room ammenities on offer.

We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you in St Kilda again soon!

Thanks for your review

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,221 - 1,227 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Being flexible with my travel dates, I picked up a great one bedroom apartment during the week for four nights at a great price. Especially if you include the free parking & WiFi. By the time you add those costs on to other hotels, it's really makes for a good deal.
Very friendly staff at the desk, happy to help with anything. The unit was clean, bed was very comfortable too. Room had two TV's + air con. Tram rides into the city centre were from just across the road, and plenty of choices to eat nearby.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the trams, which helped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dash2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Dash2009,

It is really great that you were satisfied with our One Bedroom Apartment and to hear that our special inclusions really made all the difference. For the benefit of our other readers we offer complimentary Wi-Fi and Car Parking for all our guests at no extra cost!

Your kind words regarding your room’s cleanliness and my teams general attentiveness is really appreciated.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for one night in a deluxe room with a king size bed for an excellent rate of $126.00 through Entertainment book. We arrived prior to 2pm but were still able to check in which was great. Reception staff friendly & helpful. Parking included in room rate. Free internet in lobby. Our room was at the back of the hotel away from the street and was quiet & clean with a very comfortable bed. Compact bathroom with a large shower, nice soft towels & toiletries. This hotel is in a great location just around the corner from Acland Street so you can easily walk to cafes, restaurants & the beach. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Melbourne.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street with an outlook over the car park & houses would probably be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller5039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear happytraveller5039,

Thank you for staying and for sharing the deal you secured through the Entertainment Book!

Your comments are really wonderful, I’d just like to add that (for the benefit of our other readers) the Internet access is not limited to our lobby computers; we actually offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the property for our guests use!

I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Perfect location close to cafe strip and st kilda jetty . The room had everything necessary to make our stay a pleasant one . Having free parking and wifi was a bonus for the price. Our late arrival at night was no problem with extremely helpful staff. As we are planning several trips to Melbourne we will definitely be back

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 55michelleb5574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear 55michelle5574,

We love to have guests stay from West and is such a delight that you were impressed.

Thank you for your review and see you again soon!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. Good online sale price. Clean. Small double bit pokey. Good if your needing a decent hotel but not spending too much time there. Staff friendly. Great cafes just metres away. Tram stop just outside. Metro is 500m away. Power outlet is right above bedside drawer so had to charge phone in bathroom. Overall nothing special but surely adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyGoldC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear AndyGoldC,

If you thought our Cosmo Petite was “Good Enough”, then you really must try one of our other 7 room types on for size!

At the Cosmopolitan Hotel we offer an array of rooms to select from such as; the Cosmo Studio popular for its self-catering option, our spacious Deluxe Rooms fitted with king beds and double walk-in shower en-suites, 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments which sleep up to four people, and rooms featuring balconies which overlook residential St Kilda.

We really do have something for everyone, and thank you for staying with us!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a small room that was fully equipped with all your needs. It was wonderfully clean. It was located in a brilliant position at the back of the Acland Street cafes. The breakfast was really great at $15 per head. The reception girls and the cafe girls were very cheerful, helpful and efficient.
They had free Wi-Fi and secure car parking. We had an offer of $126 for 2 nights which was amazing so we could not complain about the room size. We were out all day so it did not matter to us. Even for more money to have a larger room I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear jetaway08,

Thank you for your recommendation of our more “Petite” room category; a hot favourite for guests, needing a clean place to sleep, with all the amenities you need, just cosy in size!

We understand that one size does not fit all and we cater for guests preferring more space with upgrades available starting from approximately $20.00 a night. Simply ask our friendly reservations staff about our other 7 room categories on offer.

jetaway08 we really appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked two nights at this hotel recently & wasn't disappointed. Booking was confirmed immediately; also received an email a couple of days before booking confirming they were expecting us & included info about how to get to the hotel & information about the area.
Arrived 11.30am our room was available (check-in time was 2pm). There is a lift from the lobby to all levels & free security parking (even though we didn't need either); apperar the hotel has had a refurbishment in the last few years. Tea, coffee & milk provided. Hairdryer & Iron in the room also. Free Wifi too but can't comment on the speed as didn't use it.
Breakfast at Chalk Café was very nice (add $3 for weekends).
The Cosmopolitan loans MYKI cards to customers which you will need if you intend to use the trams or buses (if they run out of complementary cards, you can purchase them for about $15 which includes a days travel); can be topped up on the trams or at local grocery store (previous customers had left over $10 on each of the cards we borrowed). Look for the number 16 or 96 trams at the stop outside Luna Park if travelling to the city.
ALL staff were very pleasant, helpful and attentive.
The hotel is one block away from heaps of trendy cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: We had room 112 which was away from the street overlooking the car park. Didn't encounter any st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Cathant,

Whilst we receive a lot of feedback on here, generally speaking not much pertains to the booking process. Thank you for taking the time to highlight the positives of your personal booking experience. I am proud to say that our reservation staff dedicated to making the process as seamless as possible and we really do care about the details!

Great to see you had a lovely dining experience in Chalk also, and thank you for mentioning it.

Hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards


Daniel Allia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
1.3 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $88 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the action of Melbourne’s favourite beachside playground, this 86 room boutique hotel is a perfect base to explore St Kilda, Melbourne, and its surrounds. Moments away from St Kilda Beach, Palais Theatre, Iconic Luna Park as well as famous Acland Street cake shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars. There's so much to explore and quite a bit of history too. Influenced by St Kilda's entertaining scene in the 50s to 70s, Cosmopolitan was once known as the Rock and Roll hotel, popular with a number of great Aussie icons and international performers. Catering to all budgets whether it be for business or leisure, Cosmopolitan Hotel has accommodation styles to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing