We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had a horrible check-in experience. Like the previous reviewer, I was also given horrible directions to my room- oh wait, it wasn't even my room. It was occupied by other guests. I had just traveled a far distance, I had tons of bags, I'm pregnant and irritable, it was extremely hot, and I really wanted to get my room. I had to wait for the check in girl to help about 5 or 6 other guests before she could correct my situation- in the interim, I had other guests yelling at me... it was a disaster. The check in girl never could find it in her to apologize to me for how it all went down. Really put a damper on the beginning of my trip.

The room itself was small and not worth the price. Overall, I didn't even really enjoy St. Kilda and my hotel experience was largely responsible for this.

However, the location of this hotel is convenient to transportation, beach (which was not really swimmable), and restaurants.

Look into another option. Good luck!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Rachel,

It is really disheartening to hear that your recent experience on arrival dampened your overall stay. A simple misunderstanding (a rare case of human error attributed to your name being almost identical to an existing guest) escalated and I am genuinely sorry for how the events played out.

Your review highlights a couple of areas where we have let our service slip, and when we fall short, we always debrief and look at how we could have improved the situation. Rest assured that this has occurred, with protocols reviewed to minimise the likelihood of this occurring again. Providing correct directions to our guests’ rooms, offering assistance with luggage and certainly apologising when we are at fault is normal part of our service culture, and it is a shame that in this instance we were unable to provide this service.

For the benefit of our other readers our check-in process at the Cosmopolitan Hotel is generally one that is seamless and geared at assisting our guests in any way we can, with a reception that is manned 24/7. In regards to room types, you and other readers may wish to know that The Cosmopolitan offers a large range, from modest rooms for the budget conscious to more luxurious accommodation.

Warmest regards


Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    582
    183
    61
    42
See reviews for
334
547
141
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have stayed in quite a few hotels and I must say this would be one of the best. We spent two nights on our way to Tasmania and was so impressed booked another two nights on our return. We found the Executive room clean and comfortable, the staff extremely helpful. For an extra $15 each we enjoyed the buffet breakfast that consisted of different cereals, variety of fruits, ham, cheeses, yoghurt and different types of breads and spreads, eggs cooked as you wanted and of course tea, coffee and fruit juice. What is more, Free Parking. The hotel is situated within walking distance to all you need.
We live in a very quiet country town and although St Kilda is a very busy area, we had no problems with sleeping.

Room Tip: If you have any concerns, you can always ask to see the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Doreen,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us twice this month!

Thank you so much for your glowing review! I delighted that you loved our Cosmo Deluxe rooms and had the opportunity to try our exquisite Boutique Breakfast in Chalk Café in the morning.

Please do give me a call when you next plan on returning to Melbourne and I will personally take care of your arrangements!

Thanks again and warmest regards

Ben Higgins
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed 2 nights recently on business. Had a room in what felt like an older part of the hotel, back from Carlisle St. On the plus side - my room was clean, the bed very comfortable and there was no street noise to worry about. Windows which open to let fresh air in are a nice feature. Well located. As for the less impressive parts - the bathroom/toilet was very small and cramped. Lucky it was just me staying; things would have been very squishy for 2. No mini-bar. I think this hotel would suit a client looking for a relatively inexpensive option without too many frills.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickyKnees63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear DickyKnees63

Thank you for staying and for taking the time to review.

You are quite right we offer many different levels of accommodation but not limited to an older style with a high level of cleanliness! We also have modern boutique rooms, studios with kitchenettes and one and two bedroom apartments for parties or families wishing to stay. The best part is there’s a price to suit all budgets.

Sorry to hear the bathroom size in the standard room was not suitable to your needs, perhaps you may be interested in trying one of our Cosmo Deluxe rooms on your next visit. This room features a double walk in shower in a bright and airy en suite.

At the Cosmopolitan Hotel we reserve the in room fridge space for our guest to utilise at their discretion. However we still offer a large minibar selection via our special Quench Menu. This service is offered with in all of our rooms, pick up or delivery from our reception, which ever you prefer!

Hope to see you again in the future,

Best regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently. Reception staff are very helpful and a cheery lot with a warm welcome with great on site secure parking.
We stayed in an entry level room which was clean and well laid out.
New very comfortable bed , clean bathroom , and a well thought out room.
The hotel is in a great central location to all the Acland St restaurants.

Downside was the noise.. The trams were so loud we thought they where coming through the room each night.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniors2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Seniors2Melbourne,

I am delighted you found our entry level room, to be just fine! With 8 room categories available at the hotel we pay extra attention to ensuring that there is a consistent standard of cleanliness and comfort across the board.

Being in the heart of St Kilda with access to everything on your door step does make it difficult to leave behind the hustle and bustle. Great tip, our reservation staff are helpful and flexible when it comes to guests requests, and will always do our best to accommodate.

Please do come back again soon!

Warmest regards


Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a Studio deluxe room and were very impressed. Very spacious and modern.
All of the staff were friendly and helpful and the service was excellent.
Prices were very reasonable and would definitely recommend buffet breakfast in the restaurant.
$15 for all that you could eat, and eggs were preordered so they weren't sitting around.
Tyrone was especially friendly and had a great rapport with guests.
Free gated parking and close to great shops and eateries. Excellent location.
Amongst the hustle and bustle however not a problem with sleeping.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear zimatony,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing what you liked about your stay in this review; In particular your experience in Chalk Cafe.

Our Boutique Breakfast offering and Cafe itself, underwent a transformation late last year and it is a credit to Tyron and his team,making Chalk a great place, to dine in the mornings. Thank you for especially mentioning him!

On your next visit be sure to ask our reservations staff about our great value, Bed & Boutique Breakfast deals, easy to book packaged in the one price!

Thanks again and warmest regards

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel is quite basic but modern and clean... we payed very reasonable price even in the high season (January)

The hotel comes with gated parking lot, sits next to all the happenings of St. Kilda.

Room is modern and very spacious - we happened to be staying on the top floor with balcony which was just a bliss!!

For the price, I really think this is a great hotel! Especially for a couple travelling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmetseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear gourmetseeker

Thank you for your review.

Excellent news that you were able to enjoy the vista from your own Cosmo Deluxe Terrace, this stay! With only 5 of these gems in the hotel they are a definite hot favourite of our guests. Especially with all this warm weather and longer evenings of late.

It is great that you have shared what appealed to you most about your stay. At the Cosmopolitan Hotel we pride ourselves on being great value for money, clean and comfortable accommodation in the heart of St Kilda, everything’s literally on our doorstep!

Be sure to give us a call to see what offer we can make for your next visit!

Warmest regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at St Kilda for a wedding. Great location and staff very cooperative and friendly. Close to everything and quite pleased.
One bedroom suite was well designed although bathroom could have better lighting (wifes makeup). Plenty of room and not too noisy in room although lots of hustle and bustle outside till very late. Did not impact too much even on a Saturday night.
Car parking on site a bonus.
Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarcyIpswich1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Operations Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear DarcyIpswich1956

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad to see our One Bedroom apartment was suitable to your needs. Thanks for mentioning better lighting in the bathrooms – Suggestions from our guests are helpful when considering future hotel improvements!

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of trendy St Kilda on the doorstep of Luna Park, The Esplanade, St Kilda Arts Markets, St Kilda Beach and Melbourne's finest restaurants and shops, the Cosmopolitan Hotel stands out with its boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. This landmark icon immaculately redesigned with the latest luxury amenities and variety of accommodations to suit all needs, will assure an unforgettable and truly authentic Melbourne experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8Hotels St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing