We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Chic hotel. Well located next to trendy Acland street. Fantastic service. We were instantly upgraded when we checked in. Comfortable king bed and spacious room. Off street free secure parking. We were even allowed to leave our car there for the day after we checked out. If travelling on the spirit of Tasmania, this hotel is not far from the port.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear NadineLee

Thank you for the review and your kind words about the Cosmo and staff. We pride ourselves on our service and the team will be delighted they left you with a positive impression of the place. It’s fantastic news that we were able to offer you an upgrade on arrival, something we happily do whenever available. We also recognise that guests may want to enjoy St Kilda a little bit longer on a sunny Sunday afternoon, and with our ample amount of parking bays it usually no problem to extend this extra courtesy.

For the benefit of our other readers, The Spirit of Tasmania is located a short 10 minute drive from the hotel and our parking is complimentary! This sort of flexibility is the reason why the Cosmopolitan Hotel is a popular choice for our guests embarking or returning on the Spirit of Tasmania.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to St Kilda!

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    567
    176
    58
    42
See reviews for
313
535
136
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A little out of the city but on the tram route into town, 5min walk to tram stop. Great food and fairly large comfortable rooms, excellent comfy beds, only a short walk to the main street of St Kilda with heaps of restaurants, close to the beach and the famous sea baths. Also fairly quiet location for a city stay.I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toptravellerLismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear toptravellerLismore

Thank you for your review.

It makes me happy to hear you enjoyed your room and found your bed to be Comfortable and Excellent. MicroCloud toppers were recently introduced to all of our beds in the hotel with the intent of providing that extra level of softness, for our guests comfort. I am glad you liked them and it’s great point to share to our with other readers – Thank you!

I hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for five days, and it was a great stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, providing good local advice and great restaurant recommendations (including discounts for staying at the hotel). Rooms were big, clean and bed comfy. No noise, which I let them know was crucial for me (very light sleeper). 1 min walk to Acland St. Wish there was a mini bar in the room, but there was a fridge and I stocked it from the nearby 7-11.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Al R

Thanks for staying and reviewing us!

Our reception is 24 hours and our staff really enjoy having a chat with our guests, finding out about their day and helping them with the things you have mentioned.

Cosmo’s 8 room types are all unique in size, décor and their position within the three wings that is the hotel. It’s great to hear your room choice was quiet, spacious and just how you like it!

I appreciate your view on the minibar at the hotel; however our offering, has our guests in mind completely! Instead of having a limited selection of drinks and snacks that we have chosen for you, that occupies all the space in your fridge, we give you the option to bring your own or have us supply exactly what you want for your entire stay. Cosmopolitan | Quench is an extensive selection of reasonably priced favourites given to our guests on check in. Our reception team personally deliver, and can even pre-stock your favourite selection for your arrival. All is available for you to see in our new display fridge at reception. Additionally, the menu also incorporates a lobby shop selection for all those little things you forget when you leave home, like your toothbrush!

Thank you again for your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Situated in a convenient location, close to everything that St Kilda has to offer. Staff were very frendly, professional and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding (continental with enormous variety plus eggs to order). Meeting facilities and catering were very good as well.The only downside was noise until 3 am from the yobbos outside the backpacker hostel across the road, but the staff advised me to tell them next time there was a problem and they would try to deal with it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwin_AustraliaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Darwin_AustraliaJohn

Thank you for so nicely listing what most appealed to you about your recent stay with us. I am once again delighted to read that our Boutique Breakfast served in Chalk Café was well received and that you made the most of our generous selection! Thanks for mentioning our Meeting facilities at the hotel, for the benefit of our other readers who may not be aware we have a smart conference space, nestled on the third floor of the property, very accessible, with lots of natural light overlooking St Kilda with all the equipment necessary for your event. For those guests interested in more information, feel free to contact Meera at the hotel for a site inspection or for a friendly chat through our offering.

I am sorry to hear our neighbours caused you some discomfort on this stay, this really disappoints me to read and I can assure you that we take this very seriously and are in discussions with the local council who have recently showed an interest in our case.

Thanks again for your review John and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed here a few times and will be returning again next year. The location is great; beach a few minutes walk, shops and cafes all around, easy access to public transport. Staff are friendly, accommodating and professional. Deluxe room is nice, clean, has comfy king bed, mini fridge, kettle, nice bath amenities, large shower, spacious closet, desk. I feel at home here, have had stays of two weeks, has just what I need.

Some nearby food spots I liked are Rococo, I Carusi II, 7 Apples Gelato, Claypots, Dog's Bar, Leroy Espresso, Bala's, Chinta Ria...

Take the tram or bus to Bridge Road, Chapel St, the city, Chadstone, or south to Brighton and beyond, so many places to see. Or stay around St Kilda, walk everywhere, see Sunday market on the Esplanade, stop at the many cake shops, relax by the beach and watch the sun set with a cocktail!

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sienasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear HeathG1

So great to have you back at the Cosmo and so nice to hear you feel like home when you are staying with us!

Your neat description of the hotel and what we have to offer is just perfect and I am certain your recommendations for Lunch and Dinner will be well receieved by our future guests. I’d also like to add that at our reception desk we have several discount offers for restaurants within the Acland Street Hub!

I look forward to seeing you again next year!

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Surprisingly great! The staff were very helpful, professional and always friendly. The Location of the hotel is very centralized, near the beach, theme park, shopping and numerous eateries. The room was spacious, clean and well kept. The view however was okay as there are not many sites to be seen from the balcony. There is a restaurant associated with the hotel "La Kitchen," we did not eat there. There is Free Wifi avail, also complementary movies to borrow in the lobby as well as a computer free for usage with internet access. We stayed 3 nights while in Melbourne and enjoyed our stay with the Cosmopolitan hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Long N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Long N

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cosmo and for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and love to see the details that appealed to you most, that in turn wished to share!

For the benefit of our other readers, ‘La Kitchen’ has undergone a recent facelift and as a result I am happy to announce our rebranded ‘Chalk Café & Bar’. Chalk is beautifully presented with fresh new monochromatic tones making for a comfortable atmosphere for dining in the morning. Our Chef Tyron has carefully selected the right ingredients to encompass our new, succulent Boutique Breakfast. Eggs cooked three ways during the week and a delicious A la carte menu to choose from on weekends, Chalk it up: breakfast from 7am weekdays, 8am weekends!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards

Ben Higgins
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and son on our first (and only) trip to Melbourne. I booked online and had no idea what to expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised by our large, clean, comfortable room. It's in a great location, as there are plenty of eateries, shops and other attractions (such as Luna Park) within easy walking distance. Tram stops were just a couple of mins walk also and it was an enjoyable trip into Melbourne's CBD. Staff are friendly and we scored a great bargain at under $100 per night for 8 nights stay :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanMgt, General Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear MBelf,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review!

It is nice to hear that after reserving a room online that you were pleasantly surprised with our services. Transparency is important to us and we aim to be as honest in our offering online as we are with our recommendations, in person.

It’s great to see you took advantage of our stay and save promotion in March. We often run different specials throughout the year, which our reservation staff will gladly talk you through, and answer any questions you may have about the hotel and the area.

We hope to see you back here, in the warmer months!

Best regards

Daniel Allia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Prince
The Prince
#11 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of trendy St Kilda on the doorstep of Luna Park, The Esplanade, St Kilda Arts Markets, St Kilda Beach and Melbourne's finest restaurants and shops, the Cosmopolitan Hotel stands out with its boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. This landmark icon immaculately redesigned with the latest luxury amenities and variety of accommodations to suit all needs, will assure an unforgettable and truly authentic Melbourne experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8Hotels St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing