We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Group Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were a large group who had travelled to Melbourne over the long weekend for a Basketball Tournament. The staff were friendly, helpful and just amazing! We arrived early and found that our rooms were available for check in. We also were allowed a late check out for 2 of our rooms without being charge an extra fee. The Apartments were clean and clean towels were available on request. The location had something for everyone! Minutes walk to trams, shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants and Luna Park.
Special thanks again to the staff, nothing was ever a problem!

Room Tip: If travelling to Melbourne, purchase a Myki. This allows you to hope on and off trams. Trams are eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Nat M

Thank you for your lovely review of Quest St Kilda Bayside! It was an absolute pleasure to host your group and congratulations on winning your tournament!

I’m pleased that you found our staff so friendly and helpful – they love helping our guests and to receive feedback such as yours just makes it that little more rewarding for them – I’ll be sure to pass your feedback on.

It’s great that our location worked so well for you. We’re so close to all that St Kilda has to offer, as well as trams to the city – we’re very spoilt in that regard!

Your tip about purchasing a Myki (public transport card/ticket) is helpful for potential visitors to St Kilda, so thank you! While there are other ways of getting around, the trams certainly make travel around Melbourne much easier. And to make it even easier for our guests, we sell the Myki from reception (at costs determined by Public Transport Victoria – no mark up from us!).

Thank you again for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you and your group back to Quest St Kilda Bayside on your next visit to Melbourne!

Warmest regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 478 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a well located property and the staff are friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a studio apartment which is excellent. The size is adequate but not overly large.

Parking is an extra charge but welcome facility and a lift is great.

It is a real shame the hotel cat moved to Queensland!

The only downside is that as too common in Australia, the hotel charges a lot for WiFi internet.

Also highly recommended that you book direct with the property as they seem to charge a huge markup on the various internet booking sites.

Room Tip: Book direct with the property as get much better rates going direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleReardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear DaleReardon

Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review of Quest St Kilda Bayside! I’m so pleased that you find our staff friendly and welcoming and our location so ideal. Our staff certainly love welcoming you back each time you return to stay with us.

With regards to our wifi charges, we have just reduced these charges so that we now charge per apartment per day, rather than per device. We’re receiving really positive feedback from our guests about this change.

Your suggestion to book direct with the property is a great tip! We do find that we can offer a much more personalised service by taking bookings direct with guests and in all cases we can at least match the internet rates.

Thank you again for your fabulous review of our property. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to St Kilda!

Warm regards

Luisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just spent two relaxing days in St Kilda at Quest Bayside in one of their Studio Apartments. Apartment was well appointed and had a lovely view overlooking an old church.

Only a short stroll along leafy streets to Fitzroy Street, the beach front and iconic St Kilda Pier.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful and the check in/check out process quick and easy. I suspect this may become a more regular base when we visit in the future. Highly recommend this establishment!!

Room Tip: If you can score a room on Eildon Street the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Zacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear DZacher

Thank you for your fabulous review of Quest St Kilda Bayside! We’re absolutely spoilt to have the beautiful 150 year old sandstone church and its garden across the road from us. It’s certainly a peaceful setting to be in, considering we’re also in the heart of St Kilda. For the benefit of other guests, I will clarify that only certain apartment types overlook Eildon Road and the church, and they do tend to sell out quickly.

I’m pleased that our reception staff were so friendly and helpful – they love helping our guests to ensure their stay is as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. They’ll be thrilled to receive your feedback!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and recommending Quest St Kilda Bayside. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed two nights, attending a birthday function in Melbourne.

The Quest has comfortable clean apartments. We had a 2 bedroom studio apartment, with a bedroom and an alcove with 2 single beds.

The location is great, two blocks from Fitzroy Street, with access to trams to many other parts of Melbourne. If the weather is dry, the St Kilda Esplanade offers a lovely walk along Port Philip bay (running and cycling also possible)

It is in a quiet residential area, but don't expect views. It's not a place where you would spend a lot of time, but a comfortable quiet bed for the night it is. Our apartment included a complete kitchen and laundry.

Room Tip: Top floor (3rd), we heard nobody else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgejkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Georgejkw

Thank you for taking the time to review Quest St Kilda Bayside. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree – the St Kilda Esplanade and the parks and tracks along the bay provide a lovely walk, run or ride around St Kilda and the beach. We’re so lucky to be located in such a gorgeous part of the world!

I hope you enjoyed the birthday function!

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit, and found it had a great view of the beautiful church. Good size room, comfortable big bed. We found everything we needed within walking distance. I would definitely recommend, and would stay again :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Carlie G

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Quest St Kilda Bayside. I’m pleased you found our location so ideal – we’re fortunate to be located only minutes to everything that St Kilda has to offer (shops, cafes, restaurants, beach, trams, etc), yet down a quiet residential street – perfect for our guests!

We’ve recently replaced a large number of our mattresses and purchased some new and very cosy mattress toppers, pillows and doonas, so I’m glad you found the bed comfortable too.

By the sounds of it you were lucky enough to stay in one of our ‘One bedroom executive’ apartments. These all overlook the beautiful church and gardens across the road. These apartments are very limited and sell out quickly!

Thank you for recommending our apartments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to St Kilda.

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the second floor. The room was a good size with a full kitchen and laundry. Great location - Only a 5 minute walk to Fitzroy and Acland streets where there are lots of bars and restaurants. The staff are friendly and the amenities are great. The biggest drawback is the noise. We could hear the hot water system running and talking from the rooms next door. People returning during the night would wake us up from talking and banging their doors. We were also disturbed by people walking heavily in the room above us. If it wasn't for the noise I would have given this place a 5.

Room Tip: Stay in a room of the top floor so you don't hear people walking around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear WestAussieGirl

Thank you for taking the time to review Quest St Kilda Bayside. I’m pleased that the apartment met all your needs and you found our location so ideal, but I’m disappointed to hear of the noise issues that you experienced.

I’m sorry that your experience didn’t live up to your expectations. Our guests often choose to stay with us, and return to stay again, because they’ve been able to have such a restful night’s sleep and found the property to be so quiet. The noisy hot water system that you heard particularly concerns me - we have never had a noisy hot water system in our apartments before, and our preventative maintenance has not picked this up. Unfortunately I cannot tell from your review when you stayed or the apartment you were in, but if you would be kind enough to call me direct at the property (03 9593 9500) and let me know which apartment you were in so we can investigate that hot water system, I’d be most appreciative.

We do, like all hotels, rely on our guests having a certain level of regard for other guests, however it is a shame that you didn’t discuss these concerns with reception or our property manager (who is on site 24 hours) as the issues arose, as they would have been happy to kindly ask the people above you to be a little more considerate, look into the hot water system noise or move you to another apartment. We take noise and sleep quality very seriously and would have loved the opportunity to help you during your stay.

If you do choose to stay with us again (and we hope you will!) please mention your review and the issues you experienced so that we can do all we can to help you have an enjoyable and relaxing stay in the future.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Quest St Kilda Bayside on your next visit to Melbourne.

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

St Kilda is a great suburb to base a visit to Melbourne. It has easy access to transport into and around the city.

The aparments are compact but well laid out and appointed. The staff were very helpful with regard to checkin, tourist information. The car park, whilst busy was easily accessible and secure (had a hire car). A short stroll of less than 5 minutes to the main street with an abundance of cafes and restaurants to suit all pallets and budgets. Main tram stop opposite these businesses and a pleasant ride on the No. 16 into Southbank.

The only criticism of the rooms was the very small shower cubicle with preformed base - I'm not a large person but if I was a generously proportioned male, I think it would have been a struggle.

This accommodation having 1 and 2 bedroom apartments would be ideal for families. The beds were large and the linen clean and fresh.

There was noise from the corridor outside the room in the evening a few times where families with children were passing by a few times (quite late) but that is no reflection on the accommodation.

There was no outlook from the room (it did have a balcony), but the location and facilities were worth this small sacrifice - who wants to spend too much time in a room when you have Melbourne to explore and enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POM13s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear POM13s

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Quest St Kilda Bayside. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location so ideal.

I’m sorry that you experienced some noise from other guests in the evening. Our guests generally find the property very quiet, and choose to stay with us for that reason (amongst other reasons!). If you come again and you do find guests to be unreasonably noisy, please inform reception or our after-hours service so that we can ensure a restful stay for all our guests.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Quest St Kilda Bayside on your next visit to Melbourne!

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest St Kilda Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest St Kilda Bayside

Address: 1 Eildon Rd | (enter off Acland Street), St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Family Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $97 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest St Kilda Bayside 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest St Kilda Bayside's apartments are the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. We are situated in a quiet residential street yet only minutes walk from the cosmopolitan attractions of St Kilda, with business and cultural precincts being easily accessible by tram or car - or a walk! Just 5 minutes' walk from St Kilda beach, each of these studios and apartments features kitchen facilities and a private balcony. Also available is a well equipped gym (open during office hours), heated swimming pool and BBQ facilities (summer months only). Guests' security is paramount, with carded apartment access, tagged property access and on-site car parking. Each studio and apartment has custom-made furniture and soft furnishings, an LCD TV, dining area, private bathroom and laundry facilities. Private kitchen facilities include an oven, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher. Additionally, a variety of local restaurants offer Quest St Kilda Bayside guests the ability to charge meals back to the apartment. Melbourne city centre is just a 15-minute drive from Quest St Kilda Bayside apartments. Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit is 500 metres from the complex, it is less than 10 minutes' walk to Luna Park and the beach is only a few minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest St Kilda Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest St Kilda Bayside Hotel St Kilda
Quest Hotel St Kilda
Quest St Kilda Bayside Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing