We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit, and found it had a great view of the beautiful church. Good size room, comfortable big bed. We found everything we needed within walking distance. I would definitely recommend, and would stay again :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Carlie G

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Quest St Kilda Bayside. I’m pleased you found our location so ideal – we’re fortunate to be located only minutes to everything that St Kilda has to offer (shops, cafes, restaurants, beach, trams, etc), yet down a quiet residential street – perfect for our guests!

We’ve recently replaced a large number of our mattresses and purchased some new and very cosy mattress toppers, pillows and doonas, so I’m glad you found the bed comfortable too.

By the sounds of it you were lucky enough to stay in one of our ‘One bedroom executive’ apartments. These all overlook the beautiful church and gardens across the road. These apartments are very limited and sell out quickly!

Thank you for recommending our apartments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to St Kilda.

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 491 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the second floor. The room was a good size with a full kitchen and laundry. Great location - Only a 5 minute walk to Fitzroy and Acland streets where there are lots of bars and restaurants. The staff are friendly and the amenities are great. The biggest drawback is the noise. We could hear the hot water system running and talking from the rooms next door. People returning during the night would wake us up from talking and banging their doors. We were also disturbed by people walking heavily in the room above us. If it wasn't for the noise I would have given this place a 5.

Room Tip: Stay in a room of the top floor so you don't hear people walking around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear WestAussieGirl

Thank you for taking the time to review Quest St Kilda Bayside. I’m pleased that the apartment met all your needs and you found our location so ideal, but I’m disappointed to hear of the noise issues that you experienced.

I’m sorry that your experience didn’t live up to your expectations. Our guests often choose to stay with us, and return to stay again, because they’ve been able to have such a restful night’s sleep and found the property to be so quiet. The noisy hot water system that you heard particularly concerns me - we have never had a noisy hot water system in our apartments before, and our preventative maintenance has not picked this up. Unfortunately I cannot tell from your review when you stayed or the apartment you were in, but if you would be kind enough to call me direct at the property (03 9593 9500) and let me know which apartment you were in so we can investigate that hot water system, I’d be most appreciative.

We do, like all hotels, rely on our guests having a certain level of regard for other guests, however it is a shame that you didn’t discuss these concerns with reception or our property manager (who is on site 24 hours) as the issues arose, as they would have been happy to kindly ask the people above you to be a little more considerate, look into the hot water system noise or move you to another apartment. We take noise and sleep quality very seriously and would have loved the opportunity to help you during your stay.

If you do choose to stay with us again (and we hope you will!) please mention your review and the issues you experienced so that we can do all we can to help you have an enjoyable and relaxing stay in the future.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Quest St Kilda Bayside on your next visit to Melbourne.

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

St Kilda is a great suburb to base a visit to Melbourne. It has easy access to transport into and around the city.

The aparments are compact but well laid out and appointed. The staff were very helpful with regard to checkin, tourist information. The car park, whilst busy was easily accessible and secure (had a hire car). A short stroll of less than 5 minutes to the main street with an abundance of cafes and restaurants to suit all pallets and budgets. Main tram stop opposite these businesses and a pleasant ride on the No. 16 into Southbank.

The only criticism of the rooms was the very small shower cubicle with preformed base - I'm not a large person but if I was a generously proportioned male, I think it would have been a struggle.

This accommodation having 1 and 2 bedroom apartments would be ideal for families. The beds were large and the linen clean and fresh.

There was noise from the corridor outside the room in the evening a few times where families with children were passing by a few times (quite late) but that is no reflection on the accommodation.

There was no outlook from the room (it did have a balcony), but the location and facilities were worth this small sacrifice - who wants to spend too much time in a room when you have Melbourne to explore and enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POM13s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear POM13s

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Quest St Kilda Bayside. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location so ideal.

I’m sorry that you experienced some noise from other guests in the evening. Our guests generally find the property very quiet, and choose to stay with us for that reason (amongst other reasons!). If you come again and you do find guests to be unreasonably noisy, please inform reception or our after-hours service so that we can ensure a restful stay for all our guests.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Quest St Kilda Bayside on your next visit to Melbourne!

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is an old place in a back street about 2 blocks from anything. The room was ok with a tiny balcony overlooking a car park. The oven was very dirty, there was a used tissue under the bed and the daily bed making should never be acceptable.
Try elsewhere .

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear ItchFeet58Australia

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of our property. I’m very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations in this instance. Our guests generally choose Quest St Kilda Bayside because of (amongst other reasons) its location – only a few minutes’ walk to all that St Kilda has to offer, yet down a quiet and leafy residential street (and therefore our location tends to afford our guests a good night’s sleep, as you had).

You are right, that the building is quite old, although we completed a refurbishment of the entire building only 18 months ago, so the interior is still relatively new.

I’m very sorry that you found the oven dirty, a used tissue (or anything for that matter) under the bed and the bed-making sub-standard. These aspects of your stay are absolutely unacceptable and I’m horrified to read that you experienced that. It’s certainly not the standard that we strive to achieve, and in fact we generally receive high praise for the cleanliness of the apartments. I would be very grateful if you could contact me direct at Quest St Kilda Bayside on (03) 9593 9500 so that I can investigate that further and take it up with our housekeepers (unfortunately I cannot identify from your review when you stayed or the apartment you were in).

If you visit St Kilda again, I would love to be able to provide you with the experience that our guests should receive. Please contact me via the number above should you choose to stay with us again, so that I can personally take care of your reservation at Quest St Kilda Bayside.

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

It is one of the best accommodation my family had ever stayed in. The apartment is clean, comfortable and well-equipped with room and kitchen facilities. The dishwasher, washer and dryer are bonuses. Great cooking utensils and cutlery provided for preparing decent meals and good tea-coffee making facility too.

Beds are comfortable and the bathroom is spotlessly clean. The staff at the reception is extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating, especially Jeremy who goes all out to make our 3 nights' stay really comfortable. The staff even helped us to check in our flight to Sydney and helped to get us a cab to the airport in the early morning. Kudos!!

However only tea and coffee are replenish every day but not the laundry powder. On the first night, our heater was not working and we really had a shivering winter night. The next day, they provided us with more blankets and got the heater fixed.

The apartment is easily accessible to the tram stop and is within walking distance to St Kilda Pier and Acland St where lots of eateries can be found. Surprised to find a good Malaysian restaurant selling great Malaysian food. Will go back and stay if we were to visit Melbourne again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymum59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear holidaymum59

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review of Quest St Kilda Bayside! I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we were able to meet or exceed all your needs. Our staff love helping our guests and ensuring that their stay is as comfortable, hassle-free and enjoyable as possible.

Regarding the replenishment of amenities in the apartments, we do replenish tea and coffee daily, although other amenities such as laundry powder are provided as part of a ‘starter’ pack in the apartments, so are not automatically replenished daily. If, however, our guests need more of these items we are happy to provide them at reception.

Thank you again for your lovely review of our property. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne!

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very close to st kilda but in a nice quiet street. Only a few minutes walk to the seafront or restaurants. We stayed in a very clean 2 bedroom apartment, very friendly staff. Definitely recommend a stay here

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Denise S

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback of Quest St Kilda Bayside! I’m so pleased that you found the location ideal and our staff friendly. I’ll pass your feedback onto them. Thank you for recommending our property.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Quest St Kilda Bayside when you next visit Melbourne.

Warm regards

Luisa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our 3rd stay at Quest St. Kilda Bayside over the last 4 years. We were glad to have the same room on the top floor overlooking the city. I was aware on our previous trip that the hotel was due for a refurbishment and it was noticeable immediately. Very pleasant.
Great location - easy access to Acland Street and the shops and restaurants, plus close to the beach.
My only concern is the swimming pool area. Surely just 3 loungers is not enough for the size of the property.
Will be back and look forward to being able to find a sun lounger!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Andy1006579

I’m so pleased that, once again, you enjoyed your stay with us at Quest St Kilda Bayside! We always love welcoming back our regular guests.

Thank you for your feedback about the sun lounges. We’ll certainly speak to our body corporate about getting another few before next summer.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you’re next in Melbourne!

Warm regards

Luisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest St Kilda Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest St Kilda Bayside

Address: 1 Eildon Rd | (enter off Acland Street), St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Family Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $104 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest St Kilda Bayside 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest St Kilda Bayside's apartments are the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. We are situated in a quiet residential street yet only minutes walk from the cosmopolitan attractions of St Kilda, with business and cultural precincts being easily accessible by tram or car - or a walk! Just 5 minutes' walk from St Kilda beach, each of these studios and apartments features kitchen facilities and a private balcony. Also available is a well equipped gym (open during office hours), heated swimming pool and BBQ facilities (summer months only). Guests' security is paramount, with carded apartment access, tagged property access and on-site car parking. Each studio and apartment has custom-made furniture and soft furnishings, an LCD TV, dining area, private bathroom and laundry facilities. Private kitchen facilities include an oven, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher. Additionally, a variety of local restaurants offer Quest St Kilda Bayside guests the ability to charge meals back to the apartment. Melbourne city centre is just a 15-minute drive from Quest St Kilda Bayside apartments. Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit is 500 metres from the complex, it is less than 10 minutes' walk to Luna Park and the beach is only a few minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest St Kilda Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest St Kilda Bayside Hotel St Kilda
Quest Hotel St Kilda
Quest St Kilda Bayside Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing