We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Nearby Hotels
Apartments Ink(St Kilda)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Rydges St Kilda(St Kilda)(Great Value!)
    $89
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne(St Kilda)(Great Value!)
    $128
    $116
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Fitness center
    Tolarno Hotel(St Kilda)(Great Value!)
    $99
    $54
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne(St Kilda)(Great Value!)
    $109
    $93
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Novotel Melbourne St Kilda(St Kilda)(Great Value!)
    $117
    $103
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    $76
    $74
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Prince(St Kilda)(Great Value!)
    $137
    $107
    Hotels.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Abode St Kilda(St Kilda)(Great Value!)
    $95
    $89
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    $110
    $102
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    Reviews (505)
    Filter reviews
    505 results
    Traveler rating
    204
    221
    64
    10
    6
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    204
    221
    64
    10
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsold churchgreat locationquiet locationshort walkone bedroom apartmentthe kitchencar parkluna parkpublic transportwashing machine and dryerdining tablelaundry facilitiesserviced dailynice apartmentlounge areagood sizecake shops
    Filter
    Updating list...
    410 - 415 of 505 reviews
    Reviewed August 8, 2012

    My family recently stayed for 2 nights at the Quest St Kilda Bayside apartments. There were 8 of us altogether so we had 2 two bedroom apartments. Both apartments were very nice and comfortable (maybe a little bit dark?). They were fully self contained with all the kitchen utensils and appliances you would need. The beds were very comfortable. The apartments are in a good location, close to trams and to Acland Street and Fitzroy Street. There is also car parking on site and wi fi internet available both at a reasonable rate. The one thing that stood out to us was the service of the reception staff, particularly Jeremy, who was very friendly and helpful. Thanks for a pleasant stay. We will be back.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank MinnieLulu
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of Quest St Kilda Bayside! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay. We’re fortunate to be in such a fabulous location – in the centre of St Kilda and only a few minutes’ walk to all it has to offer (beaches, shops, restaurants, trams, etc), but also in a quiet and leafy residential street. I was pleased to hear about the level of service you received from our reception staff, too. We take great pride in our staff.

    It sounds like you were pleased with the apartments you stayed in as they are, but next time you return, they’ll be even better! The first of our brand new, refurbished apartments have just opened for the first guests today! We’re so excited about them – they look fabulous – so fresh, bright and modern. The guests who are in-house and who have had a ‘sneak-peak’ have been very impressed, and many are trying to make advanced bookings for them already. I note your comment above about your room being a little dark – I think the new paintwork, carpet and furniture will brighten every room in the complex. The rest of the apartments will be complete in a matter of weeks, as will our reception area.

    Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

    Kind regards
    Luisa

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 23, 2012

    I like to stay in a studio apartment when I stay at Bayside. They are small but perfect for me when I travel on business. The view is of the very old church opposite. I have seen possums playing in the trees in front of the building which might appeal to tourists. The street is a dead end street, so it is very very quiet at night. The tram stop is about a 5 minute walk away and there is a very nice restaurant called Il Fornaio just around the corner. Breakfast is excellent!! The apartments, though very clean, have been looking in need of a refurbishment and I noticed signs around the place telling guests that the refurbishment is happening at the moment. There was noise of cutting at next door to my apartment and I complained that it woke me up, so the next morning, the cutting was moved so it wasn't next to any apartment at all. The very nice receptionist told me that all of the bench tops are being replaced and that they are replacing just about everything in all of the apartments.
    I like to use the carpark which is under the building but sometimes all of the spots are taken so my car is parked a little walk from the lift - but still off the street.
    I do like the free wifi at reception. If I want to work in my apartment then I pay the wifi charge which is fairly standard I think.

    Room Tip: If you are by yourself or a couple, a studio is perfect, otherwise it doesn't matter. Perhaps top floor
    • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank roberta t
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

    Thank you for your very kind review. We always look forward to welcoming back our returning guests. I, too, enjoy watching the possums from the balcony of the front rooms at night, and love sneaking around to Il Fornaio for a naughty cake and coffee!

    I’m sorry that the noise of cutting woke you up. This is very unfortunate, because we have scheduled the refurbishments so that ideally guests would not even notice them occurring. I hope that after you mentioned this to reception, that you were no longer disturbed by the noise. The cutting that you heard was, as the receptionist mentioned, the sound of our new benchtops being installed. This aspect of our refurbishments is almost complete – the remaining tasks in our refurbishment plan are of a more silent nature – painting, laying new carpet, installing new furniture, etc. No more cutting!

    You’re right, often the car park spots under our building are taken, but there’s still good car parking in our overflow car park, which is still off the street and behind the security gates, only a 20 second walk away.

    Many of our guests do take advantage of the free wifi at reception. It’s always a good alternative if guests have just the odd thing they’d like to check without paying for wifi in their rooms.

    We hope to be able to welcome you back again when we’ve completed our refurbishments, so you can experience the new Quest St Kilda Bayside.

    Kind regards

    Luisa
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 22, 2012

    We booked this hotel so we could stay close to my daughter which leaves in st kilda as well. I was amazed to find the hotel in an ugly old building since St kilda is sourounding by very pretty construction. Once in the room I noticed that they were old and very worn. It does need to be refurnished. By the way the furniture seems to be a gathering of old furniture from some op shop.
    I tried to have a shower when the hot water stopped and never came back.
    We decided for an early check out and we were informed that we must inform 48 hours... So if u are planing to stay for 3 days it is just not possible. We were also informed that there is no service on Sundays and the only person working in the hotel is the front office lady which is not very helpful. Anyways this so called serviced apartment is a nightmare w cold water.

    • Stayed: July 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Juauriemo2
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    L C, Guest Relations Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take all feedback very seriously and work hard to satisfy our guests during their stay.

    St Kilda is known for its older-style buildings, as well as the newly built artistic style buildings (it’s a great mixture). It’s a shame that the building we are in is not to your taste. A photo of the building is on our website (www.queststkildabayside.com.au) for all potential guests to view.

    We are aware that our apartments are looking a little tired, which is why we have commenced refurbishing our apartments. I’m pleased that you have not noticed the refurbishments being done – we’ve designed the refurbishment program to have minimal impact on our guests. It is our objective for guests to not even notice they’re occurring. Refurbishments are expected to be completed in September and include new carpet, paintwork, blinds, bench tops, taps, toilet cisterns, artwork, door handles, wardrobes, towel rails and a complete furniture replacement including cushions and bedding. Even our reception area will be refurbished. We’re very excited about its completion.

    The apartments each have their own hot water system. There is generally enough water for a 10 minute shower (unless the shower is being used with particularly high water pressure or the dishwasher has been run, in which case the hot water may run out earlier). The hot water system normally reheats completely within about half an hour.

    As advertised on our website, all the apartments are serviced daily except Sundays and public holidays. If our guests require any extra towels, linen or rubbish bags then they are available from reception. Our reception is staffed from at least 7am to 10pm (often later), 7 days per week. We also have an on-site property manager who is available 24 hours/day, 7 days per week, should there be issues or anything that guests require outside of these hours. The reception telephone will also be answered by our after-hours service when reception is closed, to ensure that we can always respond to guests’ needs.

    All bookings are confirmed prior to arrival, and we generally require notification of cancellation 48 hours prior to arrival in order for a refund to be provided. In this case, the guest asked to check out early, with less than an hour’s notice. Unfortunately, this does not allow us sufficient time to re-advertise and fill the room, thus the reason we requested 48 hours notice of early departure.

    We ask that all guests speak to reception if they have any issues or concerns during their stay, as we try our best to ensure all guests have an enjoyable, comfortable and hassle-free experience with us from the point of booking, to departure.

    We hope this guest will consider returning so that we can welcome them back after the refurbishments are complete.

    Kind regards

    Guest Relations Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

    Stayed a night at the Bayside Quest and was blown away by the hospitality of the staff and amenities. Beautiful church gardens across the road. Walking distance to the restaurants of St Kilda. Do yourself a favour and stay an extra night to experience hospitality as it should be

    • Stayed: March 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank MintTraveller
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    L C, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

    What a lovely review! Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We’re glad you found our staff ‘hospitable’ – our staff are often the reason our guests return (sometimes many times!).

    We are in a fantastic location, being so close to the beach, tram to the city, nightlife, shops and restaurants. I hope you were able to enjoy some of the fantastic restaurants that are only a few minutes’ walk from Quest St Kilda Bayside.

    We hope you’ll consider returning to experience our property when we have some completely refurbished apartments (in only a matter of weeks!)

    Kind regards

    Luisa
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 3, 2012

    Stayed here for a few nights prior to setting out on our overseas holiday. It is a top spot for getting to the city - quiet street, handy to trams and lots of interesting shops and restaurants in both directions. We had a 2 bed apartment which was a good size for 4 people. As with the other review here, noted that the decor is a bit tired but also noted the sign at reception and in the room explaining what is happening. Flicked through the 'refurbishment' book at reception and it looks like it will be impressive. Would recommend as is. Clean, friendly staff and good facilities.

    Room Tip: Seems the top level is the preferred option
    • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Gina T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

    Thank you for your lovely review. We’re so fortunate to be in such a fantastic location.

    We are very excited about the refurbishments and can’t wait for the finished product at the end of September.

    We hope we can welcome you back so that you can experience our new, fresh and modern apartments for yourselves.

    Kind regards,

    Guest Relations Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews