We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! Clean, convienient, super friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic! Clean, convienient, super friendly.”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at Quest St Kilda Bayside for 3 nights. I received a very warm and friendly welcome. They also rang ahead to find out what time we were expected in which actually gave me peace of mind that everything was on track. The check in was super efficient and we were on our way with a welcome pack of maps and vouchers in no time. The 2 bedroom apartment was spotless. The appliances seemed brand new, quality tea and coffee plus a plunger with real coffee! Prob sounds petty but love it when dinnerware and glasses are matching.. not odd glasses, plates etc. No mish mash of cutlery either. Prob most important was the comfortable beds and pillows, all rooms were tastefully decorated. I can not stress how happy I was with having a laundry. We were on a road trip so was priceless to have that there. I feel the staff really are one of the major assets to this place. We had an issue with our heater and rang for help and someone was there in a couple of minutes. We actually figured out the prob before he got there but he was so gracious and wished us a pleasant evening. On departure one of the staff was lending her car to jump start a guests car. Beyond the call! There was a little bit of a hike from our car to the apartment but there are luggage trolleys available and a lift which helps. So close to transport, awesome restaurants, Luna Park, the Pier, shops, its all on the doorstep. We will definitely be staying there again. Thank you all at Quest for making our first trip to Melbourne with the kids so memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Il0veQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideStKilda, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review! We like to think we go out of our way to assist our guests. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and please identify yourselves to us when you next check in.

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    187
    53
    10
    5
See reviews for
166
117
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We are family of four and stayed here for 3 nights. We chose to stay in St KIlda, as there were more things for young children to do. Some great playgrounds and parks. Luna Park and the boardwalk to see the penguins. Quest Bayside was in a great location. It was walking distance to all these places and also restaurants,cafes, and supermarkets. They have car parking as well. The rooms were fine. However they need to get some better block out blinds in the bedrooms, as it did stay quite light. The lounges also are not really comfortable. One interesting thing was that the dining table only had seating for three. The bathroom was a good size, but a shame the shower was rather small when the size of the bathroom easily could have fitted a bigger shower!
All STaff were friendly.

Room Tip: Try contacting them direct, we booked via their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideStKilda, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. I appreciate your comment re the blinds - we are aware of that some guests would prefer a darker room and some of our apartments do have block out blinds. We are currently working on a refurbishment plan for early next year and blinds for all of our apartments are a priority in that plan. Also, we will be updating all furniture - including lounge suits and dining furniture. However, we wish you had mentioned that there was inadequate seating for your group. All dining tables should have seating for 5 - perhaps the chairs had been moved to other apartments and our housekeepers had not noticed the discrepancy. We will be checking all apartments to ensure that there is sufficient seating for all guests.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. St Kilda has such a lot to offer - even in the winter and Quest St Kilda Bayside is perfectly positioned for access to the shops, restaurants, beach, trams and our secret colony of fairy penguins - saves a big trip to Phillip Island.

Once again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stay at the Quest most years on Business whilst in Melbourne. I travel each day to Laverton and that is a reasonable drive but this motel makes it worthwhile. was pleased to return last year and the young man at the front desk remembered my name. Now whilst it is not specifically important, nor is it politically correct but the young man in question does have a disability (physical I believe). Despite this he remembered my name (or a good guess at the time) and he was particularly helpful. I not only commend Quest for being affirmative and employing him but I commend them for employing people that have an excellent customer focus. Whilst I cannot remember his name I do remember he was very helpful. This alone was a reason to return each year. As for the motel its in a quiet street back from a major street in St Kilda called Acland Street. The motel is very clean and the rooms always very well presented. The last time I stayed I was entertained by a possum walking the power lines out of my motel window. The motel has convenience stores about a block walk away and parking is down the side of the building through a very slow electric operated gate. The only negative with Quest is the parking cost ($10) but it is under cover and its easy to access the rooms. This is a nice motel, I recommend it if you are wanting to stay near to the Melbourne City Centre

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideStKilda, Owner at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review. The young man you refer to indeed has quite a significant disability and his schooling suffered because of it. He came to us wanting to gain employment in housekeeping and during the 3 1/2 years he has been with us, he has shown dedication and commitment to his job, so much so that he has been promoted to a reception position and is now our business development executive. He is a wonderful asset to Quest St Kilda Bayside and we treasure him every day!! He is very friendly, helpful and chirpy all of the time. Two years ago he was nominated by this property for Quest Employee of the Year and we are proud to say that he was the winner for 2009.

The possums are cute aren't they? Unfortunately, we have to clean up after them every morning. They leave such a mess on the footpath out the front!! Our head housekeeper will be pleased with your comment on the rooms. She has been at the property for a very long time and takes pride in her work and that of her team.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Even though the weather was chilly, our impression of Melbourne and its suburbs is great. It is really clean, easy to get around and had something for each member of the family. We would like to come back. St kilda is pretty and the beach would probably be very busy in the summer.
Our apartment at Quest was good for four of us. We were pleased with how clean it was. The kitchen was pretty well kitted out and we could cook every night and even did the laundry before we left which meant we did not have to arrive home with dirty washing.
Our apartment was big enough for 4 of us - though there was only one bathroom. We had a bit of trouble with the safe when we first arrived but after telling reception it was fixed pretty quickly.

The people at the front desk explained how to catch a tram into the city and it was good fun for all of us. Quest Bayside is in a very pretty street, quiet and a quick walk to the supermarket, shops and great restaurants. A very good experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room up top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euki090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideStKilda, Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of our property. We like to look after our guests and offer that little bit extra service. We think that St Kilda is a great area and provides a lot that is of interest to a traveller - as well as having some of Melbourne's best restaurants within walking distance. Our apartments are well maintained and our housekeepers pride themselves on a job well done. As you discovered, our apartments are comfortably furnished, give you a bit more room than traditionally offered by a hotel and offer an economical alternative - particularly for a family as you can cook etc, rather than go to a restaurant. As an added service, we will make sure all of your grocery shopping is completed before you arrive. Just send us your list and we will do the rest - free of charge (except for a small supermarket delivery fee).

Once again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

No tv, ( oops forgot to mention ) , pre- auth, two weeks to return, terrible staff, small rooms. Disaster from start to finish. The Medina is much better. Rating - 1/10.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tklb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideStKilda, Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
We appreciate all comments and criticisms at Quest St Kilda Bayside but we really feel that this one is most unfair. On 29th June, the local electricity company came and changed our electricity metre to a new 'smart metre' which the Victorian state government has said must be done in all properties. In the process they blew the fuses which controlled our TVs in the property - and every single television was out for about 18 hours. We were first alerted to the problem on the evening of the 29th but our electrician was unable to get the part needed to rectify the situation at such short notice. All of our guests were made aware of the issue and were kept informed of the progress. We thought that everybody understood - obviously not.

As compensation, free DVDs were offered to all guests and this guest took advantage of this
option. All guests were also offered free internet so that they could download movies etc.

We take a credit card pre-authorisation on every arrival - which is standard practice. This is clearly stated on every website on which we have authorised advertising, and once again, guests who travel often are aware of its purpose. No money is actually deducted from a guest's account - rather, the pre-authorisation amount is 'frozen' and released by the bank within 3 - 5 working days. No transaction is shown on the credit card statement because no transaction occurs.

Our apartments are not massive, but they are not tiny either. The studio apartments are slightly larger than most hotel rooms yet offer a small kitchen and a bathroom with washer & dryer. Our one bedroom apartments have a separate living area, a decent sized kitchen anda good sized bedroom. Our two bedroom apartments are also a good size for 4 guests and the fact that many guests rebook from one year to the next attests to this.

The management team at Quest St Kilda Bayside stands by all the staff. The team is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and this is the first review we have ever had in which they have been criticised.

I encourage this guest to contact us to discuss her disappointment and we apologise for the inconvenience of the lack of an operation TV but reiterate that it was beyond our control and that it was rectified as soon as practicable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We were surprised at how satisfied we were with this hotel. The service at reception was excellent. We stayed in a studio, and it was fine. The room was clean and provided everything we needed (including the fairly well equipped kitchen). The decor is rather spartan, but it was clean. The location, service and price are what sealed the deal for our stay. If you want to stay in a great location outside of the CBD in Melbourne, this location in St Kilda is fantastic. It is close to 2 different commercial streets with a lot of restaurants, bars and shops, but the hotel is on a very quiet street. It is also very close to public transportation, which made visiting other areas of Melbourne very easy. My only complaint was that they could have had a proper coffee press or coffee maker in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. The room was clean but small for an apartment. Cooking a meal set off the smoke alarm. There was no view (only of a carpark), but it did have a complete laundry in the bathroom. It is quite a walk from the shops in St Kilda, and not that safe at night. We wouldn't stay there again at the price they're asking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msdcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaysideStKilda, General Manager at Quest St Kilda Bayside, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. Any reviews are always looked at very closely and acted upon if possible. Sometimes things are beyond our control and reviews seem to be at variance with each other. The review prior to this one has commented on how handy the property is to the shopping strip - we are less than a 5 minute walk to one large group of shops and about a 6 minute walk to the middle of another group of shops. The review prior to this one also commented that we provided good value for money, whereas this one believes that we are expensive!! At Quest St Kilda Bayside, we think that we provide good value for money. Our apartments are not massive, but they are quite comfortable and we regularly have guests stay with us for extended periods - and return year after year for stays of over 6 weeks. As to the area being unsafe - St Kilda is a buzzy bayside suburb with a very active night life. There are many people around the main streets, particularly on weekends and the writer of this response (an older woman) is quite happy to walk around the streets, unattended. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest St Kilda Bayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest St Kilda Bayside

Property: Quest St Kilda Bayside
Address: 1 Eildon Rd | (enter off Acland Street), St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Family Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest St Kilda Bayside 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest St Kilda Bayside's apartments are the perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers. We are situated in a quiet residential street yet only minutes walk from the cosmopolitan attractions of St Kilda, with business and cultural precincts being easily accessible by tram or car - or a walk! Just 5 minutes' walk from St Kilda beach, each of these studios and apartments features kitchen facilities and a private balcony. Also available is a well equipped gym (open during office hours), heated swimming pool and BBQ facilities (summer months only). Guests' security is paramount, with carded apartment access, tagged property access and on-site car parking. Each studio and apartment has custom-made furniture and soft furnishings, an LCD TV, dining area, private bathroom and laundry facilities. Private kitchen facilities include an oven, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher. Additionally, a variety of local restaurants offer Quest St Kilda Bayside guests the ability to charge meals back to the apartment. Melbourne city centre is just a 15-minute drive from Quest St Kilda Bayside apartments. Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit is 500 metres from the complex, it is less than 10 minutes' walk to Luna Park and the beach is only a few minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest St Kilda Bayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest St Kilda Bayside Hotel St Kilda
Quest Hotel St Kilda
Quest St Kilda Bayside Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing