We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
1
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Dont expect the exceptional when staying at the Novotel St KIlda. The rooms are average, the service is minimal and even though they tell you about the possibility of noise disturbance, their time frame is a little off. I did expect more and dont expect to fit more than one person in their 2 person spa unless you're a child or smaller than average.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay with us. We do have larger rooms with big spa-tubs also available, please be sure to request one of our Executive King Spa Rooms for your next stay, these rooms also have terrific bay views! I don't quite understand your comment about the timing & noise disturbance, perhaps this was something out of our control on this occasion. Look forward to welcoming you back to St Kilda.

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,265 - 2,271 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed here while working in downtown Melbourne (Bourke street) for 3 days. The hotel is nothing spectacular, with good service, but not outstanding. Rooms are comfortable and of good standard, but not plush and opulent. The bathroom layout was a little weird, but of a good clean standard. Breakfast was good with a nice array of healthy options on the buffet. Travelling into town was simple, as the tram to town stops right in front of the hotel. No exceptional restaurants in the area, but good food is available. Location is great for calming walks by the seaside.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2010

Thank you for chosing to stay with us & for your comments on our services, facilities & terific location. It is a nice place to stay overlooking the Bay & only a short trip into to City. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Due to my experience at this hotel I am very reluctant to consider staying in any Novotel anywhere in the world ever again. I booked in myself and my husband and my elderly parents as we were convening for a family dinner at a nearby restaurant. This is a very expensive hotel so one expects good service. When we arrived at about 5 or 6pm, the check-in experience can be described as off-hand at best, and there appeared to be only two people on duty in the entire hotel. We asked for information about how to walk to the restaurant, which is quite a famous one, and the staff appeared to have no local knowledge at all. The room (we had booked a better than average room) was OK but no more. My parents arrived a little while afterwards, very tired after a difficult journey, and they were ignored by about ten minutes by the one person on reception at that point, who carried on a long phone conversation with someone enquiring about accommodation, without even acknowledging them or asking them to take a seat. They were put into a room with a double bed although I had explicitly ordered a twin room. When I rang down to ask to move them, there was a considerable wait before anyone arrived and they were then taken along to another, smaller, room with again a double bed only. After about another ten minutes they were finally put into a twin room. This was very distressing for them and made us all late for the family dinner.

There are two computers for guest use in the reception area, which is good, but they are White Macs and the keyboards were really dirty. It was disgusting.

In the morning we all met for breakfast and found that there was no coffee available as part of the breakfast cost. The only coffee was from a coffee machine and you had to pay extra for it - from memory it was $4.95. I have never in any hotel anywhere in the world not been given coffee as part of breakfast,. This was really rather outrageous.

Apart from the terrible service and ripping off guests over breakfast coffee, the hotel has a bad feel to it. It feels empty and echoing and altogether is not a nice place to be.

I would advise people never to stay at this hotel. The only problem is that St Kilda does not have many nice places to stay. I hope someone opens somewhere better than the Novotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

I was concerned to hear that we failed to provide you & your family with our usual high standard of service, and that you were not completely satisfied with your overall stay. Please accept my apolgy for the poor recognition provided on arrival & check-in, as well as the incorrect room being allocated for your parents. Although your comments are not positive, we do appreciate your feedback as we work hard to provide excellent service & it is only through your comments that we can monitor where we need further improvement. The Mac Computer Area is cleaned daily, we will double check the keyboards as the may be discoloured as these are white. Our breakfast buffet price is all inclusive with a "fresh bean to cup coffee" machine which serves brewed coffee, we also offer barista made esspreso coffee as another option at an additional charge, I am sorry to hear that this was not explained to you at the time. Clearly we have not been consistent with our hospitality during your stay, please do not hesitate to call me to discuss your concerns personally on 03 9525 5522. Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Rooms were up to the usual Novotel standard. The restaurant was quite poor, although the food quality was acceptable it was not particularly good. The list contained few wines most of which seemed not to be available.The fitness centre was poor. Dirty and smelly, with 40% of the equipment not working properly

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to provide excellent service & it is only through your comments that we can monitor where we need further improvement. Happy to hear your guest room experience was good, we will also follow up your comments regarding the food quality in the dining room & our wine list. Our Gymnasium is used regularly by our guests & we have a preventative maintenence program for the equipment, I will pass on your feedback to my Chief Engineer who will double check the working condition of our Gym equipment as well as the cleanliness & ventilation of this area. Health & wellbeing is an important for the Novotel brand & we will take into consideration plans to upgrade our Gym in due course. Best regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel is very well located and now offers excellent facilties since its upgrade.

There is problem with the seals around the external windows which needs to be fixed in room 503 as the wind could be heard whistling through this as well as some water from the rain.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Thanks for your favourable review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our upgraded facilities & our prime beachside location in the heart of St Kilda. We appreciate your feedback regarding the window seal in room 503 & will attend to this ASAP. Hope to see you back at the Novotel in the near future. Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Rooms terribly out dated, small, walls paper thin, bathroom tiny. We found dirty tissues behind the TV!! Food in restaurant was very nice surprisingly the service on the other hand was terrible - I believe it was under staffed though. Great location for checking out all of StKildas attractions but there are heaps better hotels to stay in than this Novotel. Whilst the room rate was pretty cheap you expect better from Accor places.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

Thanks for your review. Yes our location is great for staying in St Kilda & just across the road from the beach. We also have a carpark on site for your convenience. Sorry to hear you were not completey happy with the size of your room & we will follow up on your comments regarding the housekeeping cleanliness. For your next visit may I suggest an upgrade to a superior bayview room for only a few dollars more, these rooms are larger & have terrific views which may be more to your liking. Also appreciated your feedback on our great food & we will work towards continual improvements on our restaurant service. Kind regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Novotel, St Kilda for 4 nights. I accidently booked a Queen bed instead of 2 singles. The hotel fixed up my mistake and gave us the 2 single beds we needed.
My gripe was the condition of the room. For $180 a night I thought the room was definitely expensive. The carpet was ripped, grey grout came out of the walls while showering, which had mould in the corners. The toilet often stuck when being flushed. The bathroom door looked someone had kicked it. I had to ask for a bedside light as there was only one and no central lighting in room. The bathroom ceiling had marks all over it. The skirting boards looked like they had not been cleaned in quite some time.
Generally I don't think the room is well maintained.
The staff were lovely, so at least the hotel had that going for it. I think if I paid what I did for a better kept room I would have been happier.
By the way being an Accor member isn't much help. I have stayed there 5 times over the years and have always had a carpark view and never have been upgraded.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamakaz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2010

It was nice to hear that our staff & location made a positive impression on you during your visit. I was sorry to hear that your room was of a poor standard, due to recent high occupancies there may have been some wear-and -tear to this room. Thanks for letting us know, we will attend to the maintenance issues that you have highlighted ASAP. I have alos noted that you are a return guest & we will do our best to upgrade you on your next stay at Novotel St Kilda.

Kind regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $113 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing