We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant hotel with friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed April 5, 2007

My husband and I stayed here recently overnight in an Ocean Views room. Although fairly small, it was comfortable, on the second top floor and had a lovely view of the beach and ocean. We found the staff helpful and friendly at all times and breakfast was quite good but fairly expensive. Because the shops were not close by and it was quite windy outside, we didn't bother to go elsewhere for breakfast but did get dinner the previous evening elsewhere as the hotel menu did not have a great variety and, we thought, overpriced.
The tram stops outside which is great and takes 25 to 35 minutes to the city depending on the time of day.
We found Acland Street (10 mins walk away) highly overrated (except for the cakes) with outdated shops that looked like they could do with a big refurbishment inside and out. Fitzroy Street (also about 7-10 mins walk) down the bottom end was nothing marvellous but the top end up the hill was much better with far nicer looking coffee shops, outlook etc where we stayed the following 3 nights at the Medina Executive Apartments which we did prefer.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,298 - 2,304 of 2,352 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2007

We stayed in a supposedly "deluxe ocean view" room as we were celebrating New Year at a function nearby. The room was drab, and positioned down a laneway above reception, facing a high rise apartment block opposite, with large groups of smoking teenagers in the park between. Some Novotel reception staff said we had a right to be angry and disappointed in the room given the money paid but said they could do nothing. Management were adamant that as we could glimpse hints of the bay through the palm trees on the other side of the highway a few hundred yards away we had not been misled with the room description. The hotel is in need of refurbishment, and over-priced - as for the same amount of money you can get an apartment in Sydney with a view of the opera house and Sydney harbour bridge.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank explore_&_indulge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2006

We stayed for two nights at the novotel the rooms were ok slightly tired.
We payed xtra for a seaview $170 per night the service was first class the restaurant was surprisingly very good a bit expensive but really good size meals
We enjoyed the pool after a long hot day shopping very refreshing
A great base to see St kilda and the City from although a bit out off the city the tram is right at the door and comes every 15 minutes takes 25 minutes to get to the heart of Melbourne
We purchased an all day pass for $6.00 from reception
Akland st was very close and this is must see
Heaps of taxis at the door and we caught the shuttle from the airport to the hotel no problems all in all a very nice stay and would stay there again no question

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2kiwitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2006

Stayed here for 9 days over the christmas period 2005.
The hotel is clean friendly and located in a good position on the beachfront at St Kilda. walking distace from the bars and shops of this attractive district. There is a tram stop directly outside the hotel which takes you to the center of melbourne and all that this charming city has to offer.
All in all I would recommmend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Melbourne. It is reasonably priced, the staff are helpful and the location is ideal.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2006

We stayed here on New Years Eve for one night. Checkin and check out the following day was slow due to the fact that there were not enough staff to handle the number of guests. However, they were friendly and well mannered. Our twin room was small with the beds being the worst I have ever encountered in a 4 star hotel, extremely uncomfortable, considering the tariff of $235.00 plus $11.00 for car parking. We also had to wait almost 2 hours after we had checked in for our room to be available.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kahyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Liverpool, England
733
Reviewed November 27, 2005

Stayed at the Novotel for two nights in November. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us a room overlooking the ocean. Room was spacious. Ate in the restaurant one night and food was excellent. Hotel also has secure parking and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2005

We chose the hotel because we wanted to be on the south side of the city, but still within easy reach, so in that respect it was ideal.

The local shops and restuarants were fine and within easy walking distance.

The only problem we had was with the so called 'Non-Smoking Hotel'. We had to change rooms several times to get a room that didn't smell of smoke. It was obvious that little attention was given by certain guest to refrain from smoking in the rooms. The hotel had specific machines to cleanse the rooms so we could only assume they seem unable to stop certain guests from smoking in the rooms. Although the reception staff said a charge was made to the guests who disregarded this rule, this didn't seem to work either. The only people to suffer were the following guests who, like us, had to change rooms.

Rooms were genrally small for a 4star, but were clean and tidy.

Otherwise, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertWorcesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $106 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing