We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location, but nothing special.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location, but nothing special.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

The Novotel is good, solid hotel, but not a fancy one. The rooms are a little smaller than U.S. hotels, but it was still clean and functional. It's a standard hotel, not a luxury resort, and I was fine with that. It's located across from the beach, but you do have to walk down a long path and cross a major street to eventually reach the beach, so it's not as convenient as a beachfront hotel. On the plus side, you're within easy walking distance of a lot of great restaurants and bakeries. There's a nice craft market across the street on Sundays as well. The parking is free and convenient. Directly in front of the hotel is a tram stop and that will have you at Federation Square in 15 minutes. I would definitely stay here if you're planning to visit Melbourne's CBD, as the hotel is less expensive than almost all Melbourne hotels and also offers free parking. Take the convenient tram into town and there's no need to worry about parking or driving - just have fun!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carl0086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    947
    507
    147
    75
See reviews for
406
1,021
188
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Holland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

The hotel is comfortable and clean. Not all the rooms have wonderful views but if you are lucky you'll get a really nice view. The staff weren't so nice when we checked in but were reasonably ok.

I would recommend visiting St Kilda for one or two nights on a trip to Melbourne but would strongly suggest spend most of your visit in the city.

We took a stroll along to Fitzroy street and found a wonderful restaurant called Elbowroom (number 19). The food and wine was delicous and the staff were very friendly and provided a lovely service.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMaker9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

Usually I quite like Novotel's, because they are consistent and generally have all you need. However the one in St Kilda is really disappointing, apart from the location which is good. The lobby is very stark, generally fine - good that they have free internet access. Reception staff are pleasant and efficient. The room we got however was average at best - it was cleanish (not so keen on the chewing gum on the bathroom floor though), small, very plain (white stucco walls with one or two dull prints), rubbish view over the car park. We got a good 'secret hotel' deal on Wotif and we really just wanted a place to sleep in St KIlda, so not that bothered. However if I'd have paid the full price for this hotel, I'd have been really annoyed. Maybe we got the worst room because we paid less than normal, but if that is the case then I think they are missing a trick because the hotel was pretty empty - why not upgrade people to the better rooms with nice views, so they might want to come back? There is another Accor hotel near by called The Urban, which is much better and a similar price.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

We found St Kilda a lovely place to stay rather than in Melbourne city, and a very regular tram service stopping right outside hotel made it easy to get into the city. The view from the hotel is lovely and it is convenient to Ackland Street which has some lovely restaurants and great cake shops!
The hotel has recently been totally refurbished and our room (superior king-bay view) was very spacious and spotlessly clean. All staff were effecient and friendly and the buffet breakfast was a great start to the day .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rio99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew-maynard, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Dear Rio99

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay with us at the Novotel Melbourne St Kilda. It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about a guests stay.

As you mention we have a fantastic location right on the beach between the cosmopolitan Fitzroy and Acland streets, yet still only 15mins to the city by tram. We have two that stop right outside the hotel. Are refurbished rooms are a pleasure to stay in, they are of a good size and well appointed.

What is always pleasing to read as a manager are good comments about the performance of our team. I will share these comments with them.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Regards

Andrew Maynard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

My wife booked this room as a romantic get-away for my birthday and managed to get a great rate. When she rang the reception staff to see if they could organise a bottle of wine as a birthday surprise for me they were more than happy to do this.
We were very pleasantly surprised to be greeted warmly and welcomingly with the news on check-in that they had upgraded our booking to a superior room on the 5th floor with a view. And what a magnificent view it was.

The room itself was not huge but made up for that small shortcoming with a view over St Kilda beach and the bay. The room was comfortable and clean and tastefully decorated. The hotel in general gives an aura of being able to be relaxed and comfortable. This is enhanced by being out of the city (but everything within the city is in easy reach.)

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful without being overbearing or in your face, check-in smooth and hassle free.

Buffet breakfast was good and reasonably priced.

Rest assured that all the renovations appear to be finished (tastefully) although road-works in the vicinity make it a little difficult to access.

A huge thank you to all the staff there that made my birthday more memorable and we have now listed the Novotel St Kilda as one of our hot favourites.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew-maynard, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, May 25, 2009
Dear SouthAusieDave,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Melbourne St Kilda. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. It is always the little things that make all the difference and I am pleased we did them for you. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

You are correct when you mention that our renovations are now complete. There are some road works at the bottom of Fitzroy Street which will remain in place for a few more weeks yet. There is however plenty of other ways to reach the hotel and the trams are still working the 16 and 96 routes into the city.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Andrew Maynard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

I read a couple of reviews bagging this hotel and just wanted to say that I have stayed here 3 times in the last few months and plan to stay there again this weekend. The main reason is the location - right opposite the beach and nearby to all the wonderful shops, restaurants, bars and people watching of St Kilda and the City. But location isn't any good without service and facilities that you are happy with. I have always found the staff extremely helpful. even with minor things such as tram timetables, the food was lovely (both breakfast and tea), the rooms (twin standard rooms) had the best beds (VERY comfy!) and everything you need for a hotel room including on-site parking (very handy in St Kilda). I have had no complaints at all with this Hotel and am looking forward to a another great weekend coming up in Melbourne at the St Kilda Novotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoot60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew-maynard, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, May 6, 2009
Dear Hoot60

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay with us at the Novotel Melbourne St Kilda. It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about a guests stay.

As you mention we have a fantastic location right on the beach between the cosmopolitan Fitzroy and Acland streets. What is always pleasing to read as a manager are good comments about the performance of our team. I will share these comments with them.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Andrew Maynard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

I stayed with my young son at this hotel on 7th April 2009. We took advantage of a internet special and for the rate paid, was very pleased with the accomodation.
The standard room was a fair size, not overly big but not tiny either. The bathroom had a small bath which was a plus with a young child, however the basin was seperate from bath/shower and toilet which was different.
The best thing was the extremely comfortable bed which while advertised as queen looked more king size. There was a small size flat screen television on the wall in front of the bed which had free foxtel, so the Nickolodean kids channel was a bonus. As it was a chilly day we didnt use the pool or outside area but was grateful for the short walk of only 3 minutes to Luna Park, the Palais Theatre and Acland Street.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Josavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew-maynard, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, April 19, 2009
Dear Josavel

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Melbourne St Kilda. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

As you mention we are in a great location for the attractions of Luna Park, the Palais Theatre and Acland Street.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Andrew Maynard
General Manager
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince
The Prince
#10 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Property: Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing