We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed June 4, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We arrived from sunny North Qld last week for a conference that my husband was attending. The family room was very spacious and clean and plenty of room for all of our luggage. The only thing my husband was a bit disappointed about was that we didn't have an ocean view. We were on the other side of the building. Since I booked the room I didn't know that we had an option of this or not. So I would recommend asking if any of the family rooms had ocean views. St Kilda was a great area to be in. The girls and I walked down to Acland St, had a nice hot coffee and wandered around the cafes and shops. Then we decided to get a taxi and head into DFO South Wharf. This is only a short taxi ride and cost approx. $18 each way. Worth it for the shopping!!! St Kilda is a great area - plenty of eateries and when the sun is shining - which it did for 3 out of our 4 days - it is great. Breakfast was included in our package and the buffet breakfast was good. Bacon, eggs, hash browns, mushrooms, sausages etc. Also there was quiet a good variety of bread for toast. Very good stay for families.

Room Tip: We had family room on level 5 - this was at the end of the hotel corridor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RozMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our business trip started badly, with fight delays causing our arrival at the hotel to be delayed till about 11:30pm. When we tried to gain access to the hotel the doors from the carpark were locked. We used the intercom to try to alert the front desk of our arrival.....no response.
We tried banging on the door and continued to use the intercom for some time before I eventually pulled out my itinerary and called the hotel on my phone.
"Oh sorry sir, the intercom doesn't work!".....great!
The rooms, while clean are a little dated now and have been renovated a few times by the looks. My room was a weird layout which sort of wrapped around the rear of the building, making it impossible to watch the TV without re-arranging all the furniture.
As per other reviews, yes the elevators are noisy. luckily I was so tired that I slept ok.
The Breakfast is very expensive. I know a lot of people like the idea of a full Buffet breakfast, at the hotel, but this is not my thing. There are a plethora of great breakfast places, within walking distance - Phamish is a standout, and its just down the road towards Acland St.
On the up side - The Gym at the Novotel is Good! and there is a pool. The carpark is large with a good undercover area.
Location wise, you don't get much better, and the tram station is literally right out front.
As for my "Average" rating, well I rated my preferred hotel as "very Good" and I didn't like the Novotel as much.
For those who prefer a Hotel with meals, bar, gym etc. all on the premises, You will probably like this place, if you get the right room.
Look for a room away from the elevator and facing the bay.

Room Tip: Look for a room away from the elevator and facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Greg

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly it is great to hear that our Security measures are working well however in your case, unfortunately too well. Please accept my apologies for the Intercom not working on your arrival and please be assured this has now been rectified.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on Llewellyn.Wyeth@accor.com on your return visit and I am happy to personally ensure that you enjoy your next visit to us.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is a little on the older side - it definitely has that "seaside hotel" feel, but check in was seamless, the room was spacious and well appointed and the view from the windows straight out onto the bay was superb.
The seafood buffet lunch was especially impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I've stayed at many Novotels within Australia and have always found them to be consistent and affordable, particularly when I was travelling with family.
The Novotel in St. Kilda has location, location, location going for it, particularly if there on a Sunday morning when the Esplanade Market is on.
The rooms are good - not brilliant but clean and simple. If possible, ask for a room at the front for a view.
The breakfast was very good and the kids chowed down for quite a while on all the food. I've eaten in the restaurant once for a conference and found the food good but not brilliant - what I'd expect at a conference.
Parking is available. Staff are helpful.
In summary, I enjoy staying at the Novotel and will continue to visit but I'm finding the price is becoming a little out of my range for what's on offer. But location is key and Novotels have placed themselves strategically at places across Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbanDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Go Girl,

Thank you for providing your feedback here on Trip Advisor.

We are in the process of changing our food offering for our conference delegates and believe that the new menu will continue to offer an exceptional quality experience to our guests with a more healthier option.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to do so.

Yours Sincerely

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I am astounded by the price of this hotel and the services which are extremely poor...the quality of food wow!. I had singapore noodles with coriander, no coriander in sight. The noodles were so dry I had to put hot water on them. They also cant tell the difference between sour dough bread and wholemeal. The outrageous cost of the internet. No information in the rooms of anything near by like restaurants.I am stunned.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timgreen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Mr Green

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies that you have not had a great experience.

I am very surprised to read your comments and equally as concerned. Please can you contact me directly on Llewellyn.Wyeth@accor.com so we can discuss in person.

Yours Sincerely

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A king deluxe room with a view of the bay is worth the price. Coffee pot, nice TV, nice big corner bathtub with jets and comfortable bed.
Hallways need updating as they are dingy and old.
Breakfast selection is good. Coffee machines were not working, so no coffee with my meal as I didn't want to mess with it.
Courteous front desk and concierge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braskaball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
327 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $103 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing