We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room, great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is a little on the older side - it definitely has that "seaside hotel" feel, but check in was seamless, the room was spacious and well appointed and the view from the windows straight out onto the bay was superb.
The seafood buffet lunch was especially impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

I've stayed at many Novotels within Australia and have always found them to be consistent and affordable, particularly when I was travelling with family.
The Novotel in St. Kilda has location, location, location going for it, particularly if there on a Sunday morning when the Esplanade Market is on.
The rooms are good - not brilliant but clean and simple. If possible, ask for a room at the front for a view.
The breakfast was very good and the kids chowed down for quite a while on all the food. I've eaten in the restaurant once for a conference and found the food good but not brilliant - what I'd expect at a conference.
Parking is available. Staff are helpful.
In summary, I enjoy staying at the Novotel and will continue to visit but I'm finding the price is becoming a little out of my range for what's on offer. But location is key and Novotels have placed themselves strategically at places across Australia.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrbanDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Go Girl,

Thank you for providing your feedback here on Trip Advisor.

We are in the process of changing our food offering for our conference delegates and believe that the new menu will continue to offer an exceptional quality experience to our guests with a more healthier option.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to do so.

Yours Sincerely

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I am astounded by the price of this hotel and the services which are extremely poor...the quality of food wow!. I had singapore noodles with coriander, no coriander in sight. The noodles were so dry I had to put hot water on them. They also cant tell the difference between sour dough bread and wholemeal. The outrageous cost of the internet. No information in the rooms of anything near by like restaurants.I am stunned.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timgreen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Mr Green

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies that you have not had a great experience.

I am very surprised to read your comments and equally as concerned. Please can you contact me directly on Llewellyn.Wyeth@accor.com so we can discuss in person.

Yours Sincerely

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A king deluxe room with a view of the bay is worth the price. Coffee pot, nice TV, nice big corner bathtub with jets and comfortable bed.
Hallways need updating as they are dingy and old.
Breakfast selection is good. Coffee machines were not working, so no coffee with my meal as I didn't want to mess with it.
Courteous front desk and concierge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braskaball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for a week on business, great location for easy walk to restaurants up and down the St Kilda beach. Good fast check in, nice restaurant with buffet breakfast although preferred to go to local restaurant for breakfast when time permitted. Nice clean gym for a workout and pool area.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Brett G

Thanks for choosing to stay with the Novotel St Kilda for your week of Business and thank you for your Review. We hope we see you again here by the Bay in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My partner and I stayed here on June of last year, we stayed in the Executive Room and found it to be quite spacious and view was lovely. The staff member at the reception was lovely and assisted us with booking our same room for another night. We stayed here for a total of 2 nights and used it as a weekend get away. We ordered room service on our first night which was average, and had the breakfast which came with the room, the eggs were quite dry making it average also. The location was great as it was close to the beach and Acland street. The Sunday st kilda market was on when we stayed, which was a little noisy for a Sunday morning. Apart from that our stay at the Novotel was nice, and we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajhandfjlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Felicityhoward

Thanks for your review on you stay here at the Novotel St Kilda. It is great to receive positive reviews such as yours. I will pass on your comments to our Kitchen with regards to your meals to ensure that we continue to focus on consistency in our food delivery.

Yours Sincerely

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Novotel St Kilda is a comfortable venue for a group, including very good food and efficient logistics. The hotel rooms are fine, with everything you need. The staff are uniformly helpful and focused on giving service. In the conference centre, everything worked well, including audio visuals.
My only issues were with some of the dodgy locals who approached us and asked for money and then hassled us a little. I guess you get that sometimes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel will have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallymagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Sallymagpie

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us and it is great to hear that your experience was a positive one. We look forward to having you return to St Kilda in the near future.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
327 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $103 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing