We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Often my home away from home!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed May 4, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Timborabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Safari747
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

very happy with hotel in great position and have stayed many times but had dinner in restaurant on friday and went to pay with accor card and was told could not use card on public holiday ,we had forgot it was a public holiday and also some signage to alert accor members would have been good.we were not the only members with cards and we were all disappointed

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dialasparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

dialasparky

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your Membership Discounts for your meals not being received on the Public Holidays.

I have passed your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager and will ensure in future that there is sufficient signage notifying guests of this when arriving into the Restaurant,

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Service, room, restaurant, location were all excellent - rate for car parking was very good.Close to many of St.Kilda's attractions and transport
Restaurant provided excellent food and service with drinks at reasonable prices

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank garrywestbail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

After paying $266 for the room (on a Sunday night), we walked into an old shabby room with a huge stain on the floor. After speaking with the very helpful lady at reception, we were able to get an upgrade into a better room with a spa for an extra fee of $20. The spa was tiny and couldn't even really fit one person comfortably, let alone two. After having a spa the tap handle leaked black stuff into the bath, to what I later discovered to be mould!
The vanity curtain between the bathroom and the bed didn't work, so there was no privacy when either my partner and I went to the bathroom.
The bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable and neither my partner or I had a very good sleep. We had been to see a show at the Palais, and we both had had quite a few drinks and we still couldn't sleep - thats how lumpy the bed was!!

After the spa, i looked out of the window to the beautiful view, and noticed that there was fingerprints all over the window, not just one or two, but a lot! and all over the window.

Then to top off the whole experience we were going to be lumped with a $20 parking bay fee. Thankfully the lovely girl in reception waived that cost.
We would have been better staying in a newer hotel in the city and caught a taxi to the Palais. Overall i am very disappointed with this hotel, and I will be looking for a different hotel next time I plan to see a show at the Palais. The staff were very helpful and nice, and that was probably the only reason we did not walk out of the hotel, ask for our money back and find another hotel :-(

Room Tip: Save yourself the pain, find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0KBlanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

OKBLanks

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some very valuable feedback.

I would welcome and encourage you to contact me directly on Llewellyn.Wyeth@accor.com so that I can ensure that all items that you have raised have been swiftly rectified.

Please accept my sincere apologies that even after the team rectified your original concerns by offering you an upgrade, we were still unable to provide you with a positive experience. I look forward to hearing from you directly so that we can continue to improve on our product into the future.

Yours Sincerely

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The location is right in the heart of St Kilda opposite the beach.

The service was pretty good from check-in to check-out. I had requested a late check-out and was offered noon. I wanted it till 2pm and stated I was Le Club Accor silver member and could late check-out if available. He advised me he could extend till 1:30pm and see if 2 was possible so left it at that.

I got a room on a high floor as I requested. It was a standard room with queen size bed. The room itself was smallish as only had a desk with chair and no other armchairs or anything. Bathroom was small as had bath over shower (which let water spray everywhere as shower screen had a gap) and the sink was actually in the room. The blackout shade was great except mine didn't go up more than a third as it was broken. The bed was soft which I liked and got a decent sleep.

I tried the gym out and although small, had really modern and nice equipment. I didn't try the pool out but it is a heated outdoor pool. If it was hotter it would have been nice to try. When I tried to go back to room the key wouldn't work in lift (it has a key entry in lift which I like for security) so checked it out with front desk. He checked the system and advised I had a 2pm check out now which was good.

There are good and bad points about this hotel but more positives. Nice place to have as a getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

OKBLanks

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some very valuable feedback.

I would welcome and encourage you to contact me directly on Llewellyn.Wyeth@accor.com so that I can ensure that all items that you have raised have been swiftly rectified.

Please accept my sincere apologies that even after the team rectified your original concerns by offering you an upgrade, we were still unable to provide you with a positive experience. I look forward to hearing from you directly so that we can continue to improve on our product into the future.

Yours Sincerely

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gav H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
327 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $103 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing