We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really looked after me!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“They really looked after me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

My stay at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda was a very memorable one. The room was clean, the staff friendly and the hotel itself is very close to great shops and places to dine. However, I must write about how much I appreciated the hotel staffs understanding and their attentive service. My friends and I stayed one night, with an early checkout of 12.30pm the next day. I awoke very ill, unable to move and feeling very sick. The hotel staff sent toast and yoghurt and allowed me to stay in the room while I awaited to be picked up. They called my room, checking on me and asking if there was anything they could do. I was very touched and after having worked in hotels myself I was very impressed by their kindness and generosity. I recommend this hotel to anyone who would like an enjoyable stay in Melbourne!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveler589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    951
    513
    149
    78
See reviews for
411
1,032
190
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night and found the location of this perfect for accessing st kilda night life.... Unfortunately that's about the best part if the hotel ... The rooms are very small for the price and dated ... We didn't get towels in our rom which to me is a simple thing to ensure is done... The staff were very friendly and helpful however.. Just have come to expect more from this hotel chain and were slightly disappointed for what your money didn't get you here... Pool is tiny but I no the beach so close...It really is location location location

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andowhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Pam W

Thank you for writing a review here on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for not receiving towels when you arrived into to your room. We do offer larger rooms for a small upgrade fee if the size of the room is important to you, this can be either booked at the time of making the reservation or on arrival at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel overall is ok for Australia. As an Australian business traveller who frequently travels to Asia. The comparison is poor for this hotel. $7 for a bottle of generic brand in-room water. That's just wrong. In-room water should be free. In-room WIFI as I agree with another recent poster is 'horrendously' expensive. It's been reported by management that the hotel's internet is provided by a third party and that if you take up a membership then Internet is either free or cheaper. I feel that this is so 10 years ago. Suggestion, provide free Internet throughout the hotel and if need be add the nominal cost into the room rate. Those are the negatives. The positives are that the staff were helpful and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEASIAGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
MelbourneGlobtrotter

Thank you for providing us with your feedback during you stay with us.

Thank you also for your suggestion with regards to the internet costs. It is a challenge for the industry to provide free internet and whilst we recognise that the cost is something that people are no longer prepared to pay, we do offer the alternative as you have suggested with our membership programs.

It is great to hear though that you have had a good experience with the team here at the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Having stayed in a many hotels around the world I can confidently say that the staff at the Novotel St Kilda are by far the best I have ever encountered. We had a number of issues (from noisy people next door to hotel broker who had made a mistake on our booking - we had booked three rooms for 5 nights but they didn't book one room for the last night) but nothing was ever a problem for Arlene and her wonderful staff. They competently and effectively accommodated any request we had, and always with a smile - nothing was too much for them to do (they even dealt with the hotel broker for us and offered us the missing night at a special low rate). They made the stay truly memorable, and we definitely will come back here again!

The rooms were OK for a 4 star hotel, although it is definitely worth paying an extra $40 to have an ocean view - what a great way to wake up with such a wonderful view each morning!

Location was fantastic - just across the road was the sea, and a wonderful array of food available at the restaurants by the sea or a sort 5 minute stroll to Acland street one way and Fitzroy Street the other direction. For the kids Luna Park was only a couple of minutes walk away and you could use the vouchers in the Destinations Victoria Guide (found in room) to get a 20% discount on an all day ride ticket. You could also take a fishing charter that left from a nearby wharf.

Overall, a great family holiday, thanks mainly to the wonderful accommodating staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view (only another $40 per night), well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belairtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Family stay, room was comfortable as were the beds- 1 queen bed, 2 singles. The hotel seems tired, in need of a make-over. Check-in was not the easiest, were assigned a room already occupied! Had to take everything back down and start again. A bottle of wine & some sweets were sent up to our room later from management, though. We stayed 1 night, overall I would not recommend for a longer stay.
Did have some great pizza delivered from Carlisle Pizza though (not far from hotel), that I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AreWeThereYet444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llewellyn W, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
AreWeThereYet444

Thank you for your feedback with your stay here at the Novotel St Kilda and please accept our apologies for the mix up on your arrival. It is good to see that this was dealt with swiftly and efficiantly by our team.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed for just the one night in a 6th floor, bay view room.

Good size room, with a comfy lounge next to the window to lay and admire the great view.

Bed was comfortable, good shower and overall very happy.

Great location with only a short walk to Acland and Fitzroy Streets.

Only negative was checkout, with long queue as only one person serving initially and charges for internet on account that we did not use. Sorted out eventually.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince
The Prince
#11 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Property: Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing