We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Seems to cop a fair bit of criticism this place. But for what you pay I think it was quite good. Sure the room was a bit dated but the bed was super comfortable and the room quite spacious with a good view of the bay. There was some hallway noise and even a bit of noise from above. The hotel location however, is excellent. Across the road from St Kilda beach and a beautiful park and Boardwalk. All in all I would stay there again as I think the good outweighs the bad. Friendly staff and a decent breakfast also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking St Kilda Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henryboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was my partner's birthday so we stayed in St kilda for the weekend. We got to the hotel at 1.00pm. I was told that the room was not ready but we could park the car which was good. The woman at reception said she would give me a call when the room was ready. However, we waited at a bar until 3pm and then realised that they had forgotten to call us.

The view was pretty good. I was surprised at how small the tele was. There was a problem with the shower. The water did not drain away. The previous guests had remarked on this on the feedback form. Which had obviously been ignored. My partner said that there was no soap or shampoo.

The view was pretty good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Andrew764

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay with us here at the Novotel St Kilda. I was dissappointed to hear that you waited until 3pm to check in and having to follow up personally at the time. Please accept my sincere apologies, hotels are about that all important first impression and on your experience, we did not meet our goal.

I have used your feedback within the hotel to focus on our arrival in order to continue to deliver a product and service that we are very proud of.

Thank you once again

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good location. We could hear elevator from room. Comfortable room, we had the standard room, which is the Novotel room you get every where. I would stay again at this location. Lots of restaurant and stores walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Alwaysinasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I live in Melbourne but attended a gig at the Palais St Kilda so decided to book a room at the Novotel and stop the night in St Kilda. We had a Superior Room with Bay Views, the room was spacious, clean and the view was amazing. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and allowed us a late check out at midday and to leave our car in the hotel car park for the rest of the day at no extra cost. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay here at the Novotel St Kilda. It was great to hear that your experience was a positive one. As you know, we are very conveniently located across from the Palais Theatre for all the shows that are played in Melbourne's oldest operating theatre.

Thank you once again and safe travels.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I found this hotel to be situated in an ideal place, central in order to walk around St Kilda and virtually on the beach. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting St Kilda.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank lknowles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Novotel St Kilda provided a great location, good service and good value for money - would stay again. Taxis were always available right outside the hotel and ithe hotel is also right across the road from the Sunday St Kilda market which was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ellymay1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My last stay at this hotel was a few years ago and back then I didn't think much of the interior OR the service, although the location is perfection!
This time, however, was a completely different story. Absolutely gorgeous renovations!
We had a great deal (through the Novotel site) on the Executive Suite and it was large, beautiful, immaculate and had stunning views.
The staff were professional, friendly and organised, and as always, the location is perfect! Five out of five!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaW866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Rebecca W866

Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay here at the Novotel St Kilda. As a hotel, we aim to deliver above all guest's expectations and it is fantastic to hear that we achieved this on your visit. Please feel free to contact me when you next come a stay with us and I look forward to saying hello.
Kindest Regards
Llewellyn Wyeth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Kilda
269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $104 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing