We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed one night at the Novotel, St Kilda in early March 2013 for business. The location is excellent - close to all the main attractions of St Kilda with a tram stop right outside. The conference facilities were fantastic with great refreshments and an allocated Nespresso business machine (well used by many of us who'd flown in early).

Staff were extremely and rooms were generally clean. I was given a free upgrade from a standard to a larger superior room, but it faced the carpark - not a great view, given the other side of the hotel faced the bay.

The room was very large with a nice day bed and large office desk to work (extremely helpful for the travelling professional). Bathroom was very large and decent, equipped with a large spa. The bed was large and comfortable, though I found the pillows a bit flat and woke up uncomfortably during the middle of the night.

Functionally, I found that the Novotel ticked the boxes for a conference venue in a great location and clean rooms where all you needed to do was work and sleep.

But given the room rate paid by my firm, I would be unlikely to stay here again if travelling for leisure. While the location was fantastic, I'd be after more value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 2,352 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Restaurant still too cold. Other patrons complained while I was there. Bit of noise during night before St Kilda festival. However, improved stay this time, special mention and thanks for Aleesha at reception - going the extra mile.Great customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank robinsann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thanks for your sharing your feedback on the restuarant & for your positive comments regarding Aleesha.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel St Kilda again in the near future.

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel gave us an upgrade to a larger room, which was lovley. Very spacious. The food was very good but felt the breakfast was a little overpriced. We were in a room to the back I imagine the rooms overlooking the water would be worth the extra money if you hadn't been to St Kilda previously.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank nolabroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent Location to all St Kilda has to offer, cafes, Luna Park, Palais, beach. Clean foyer and welcoming staff. Room had a view of port phillip bay, thank goodness, make sure you request this otherwise you will overlook the carpark out the back..horrible...but then again read on you may choose to stay elsewhere.
The room itself was probably the worst room in the hotel. It was small & compact but it was also neat, but unfortunately the bedhead backed onto the hotels 3 lifts which was very noisy, you could hear them going up and down when you trying to sleep. The bathroom had a strange smell that was coming up from sink everytime you turned the tap on and would linger, made you feel quite ill. The bathroom was more like a disabled bathroom, nothing flash about it for 4.5 stars and the television picture was not clear at the top of the screen and made awful noise when you changed channels.
The price was bumped up due to the Grand Prix weekend and was definately overpriced for what you got - cant believe we actually payed for a smelly bathroom!
Staff that we did see (checking in and out only) were very friendly and carparking very easy had to park your own. For what we paid we could of got a five star room at the Park Hyatt in the city - which is much nicer of course with concierge etc...
Did not tell staff my concerns as they really cant do much with a booked out hotel to get you into a room that was 4 star rated and a nice bathroom. Only stayed one night and never again. I imagine that Novotel St. Kilda will respond to this the same way they respond to all their negative feedback - unfortunately we must of missed this room and sorry it wasnt up to your expectations. Novotel you need to do something not make excuse after excuse. A great location like you have now just improve your rooms to 4 star as your website suggests you are.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzitraviller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. We apologise for these oversights & not providing value for money. We take our guest feedback seriously & respond to each one individually. Yes our location is terrific however we also proud of our staff & facilities, it is a shame we failed to provide great hospitality on this occasion. Please do not hesitate to contact me on 03 9536 6118 if you wish to discuss these matters personally.

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wonderful, quaint hotel. Staff is super friendly and hotel is right in front of train stop to go into the city. The hotel is also across the street from the beach where we had a great time watching the kite surfers!

There is a whole street around the corner of fantastic places to eat and shop.

We had a great stay and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Ocean view room offered a spectacular view from morning 'til night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Excellent facility great views, shopping, cafes and walks - restaurant is very good for dinner as well as for breakfast. Service was good with attention to detail. Access to transport is easy whether by tram taxi or car. Only 15 minutes from the centre of the city Overall great hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank garrywestbail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It's all about location, location, location!!! Also friendly staff and arrangements to requests were superbly handled. And we were also upgraded complimentary to a spa room with fantastic bay views over St Kilda beach area. What more can you wish for!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank StKildaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $106 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing