We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a one night stay(26/1/13) at the Novotel St Kilda. It is in a good location across from the beach, Luna Park, and the eating facilities of Fitzroy St. The rooms are quite small, and bed size seems to vary between rooms. We were lucky enough to have a king, but people in our party in other rooms, only had queen size or even smaller. There is a bistro, and bar, but the drinks are very expensive. Better off walking half a block to the nearby Esplenade Hotel. Even though the rooms are small, they are quite functional, and fine for a short stay. There is a powder room separate from the shower/bath, but a common light between the two. If you get up in the middle of the night to visit the bathroom, you either fumble in the dark, or forced to turn the light on which lights up the whole bedroom. We did not pay extra for a seaview room, but still had an OK view of the city skyline. Car parking is an extra $20, but you don't have much choice if you don't want to pay. There are parking spots outside the hotel, but it is all metered 7 days a week. Breakfast was very basic, not a great deal of choice. Better value visiting one of the many cafes dotted around the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlburyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Executive Suite was the room which we booked. The room was clean and very spacious as it accomodated two adults and two children. The frontdesk staff are very helpful and polite. Fantastic location close to shops,cafes, beach and Luna Park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Loved the view, if you can afford it ask for the water view. Our room was on floor 3 and was stunning. The decor is very business like an orientated. We had a superior view with a king bed. It was very clean, spacious ,and comfortable. What we thought was complimentary water, had a tag around its neck saying $7.50 for a medium bottle of Gigi water. Lucky that the tap water in Melbourne. Breakfast was very good with all the usual offerings. All in all an excellent stay, and probably the only ace to stay I. st.kolda

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our room was dirty, chipped paint work, holes in one wall, stained carpets and ceiling no bedside table on one side of bed, broken chest of draws (4 -4.5 star???). Complaints were ignored. We had pre paid breakfasts but on the second morning they said we didn't(they did fix this, unlike the last time we stayed here when they wouldn't ) We have stayed here three times previously but will now never go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriskerriann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that your guest room was in poor condition. We are in the process of repairing & repainting our guest rooms to ensure they are maintained to a high standard. I apologise if we missed this room & will address ASAP.

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here during the Australian Open after a 10 year absence.

Booked and stayed in a Superior Bay View room. Very pleased with very efficient aircon on a 40 deg+ C very hot night.

Very welcoming and efficient staff at all times.

Our room overlooked the bay, very large and obviously refurbished in the last two year or so.

Very regular trams to the city stop outside. Recommend the Frankston airport shuttle to/from the airport which stops at the front door for about $34 couple vs $70 for a taxi.

Lots of dining options nearby and great walks along the waterfront.

Have seen other reviews about "tiredness" but can only assume that some areas of the property still to be upgraded.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and pay for a view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HobartResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtyth
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is tired and needs a general tidy-up. The corridors especially are in need of a new paint - faded and scuff marks everywhere. The ceilings in the corridors are very outdated and in need of repair. Service was adequate but utensils for breakfast had to be asked for as they were in short supply - drinking out of paper cups is not ideal! Position of the hotel is great but you cannot expect to run a hotel on that alone - the price we paid for our stay certainly did not give value for money. Would only rate the hotel as 2 1/2 - 3 star.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for yoou comments. We are sorry to hear we failed to provide value for money on this occasion. I have shared your feedback with ou Maintenanace Manager & Restaurant Manager to follow up the areas you have mentioned.

Please be assured that our Housekeeping standards are high & we apologise for this inconsisitency.

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Kilda
258 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $106 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing