We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
A TripAdvisor Member
“Over night Stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Hotel was so convenient for our over night stay before our Cruise . The Staff were extremely friendly aand helpful with local information .TheHotel is in easy access to the city without being in the heart of it all. great choices for Dining available both in the Hotel and in the surrounding area. all Public transport extremely close to the Hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    973
    525
    157
    84
See reviews for
419
1,054
191
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Were upgraded to a bay view room which was actually smaller than the one we last stayed in and didn't have that much of a view however room was clean. Shower very small with shower head that could not be raised above an average mans head. Included breakfast which was good however they need a new peppermill! Only one in the restaurant and it didn't work. Need to organise room servicing better - housekeeping refilled 10 minutes after our arrival and they then tried to charge us for mini bar items.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by a used condom that was at the back of the bedside table in the standard room...not happy, NOT a good start to the weekend.
Advised reception who were very apologetic and immediately upgraded us to a better executive room that was much nicer than the Standard Bay View Room.
The standard Bay view room was a bit small and pokey.
There was a music festival on for most of the day and the constant Duff Duff noise of the base became very annoying after a couple of hours (Shame the windows are not double glazed to keep out the noise)
Apart from the initial pokey standard room and used condom incident, we had a great stay in St Kilda and the staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TradingTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry about the the housekeeping oversight which is not acceptable & a poor first impression.

I have passed on your comments to our Executive Housekeeper to follow up with our team about better attention to detail in servicing guest rooms. I was also pleased to hear that our staff were able to promptly recover the sitautaion & provide an upgrade to a superior bay view room.

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, breakfast and food was nice. All staff were willing to help. Your minutes away from seafront and some nice bars and restaurants. Its only a short tram ride to the city centre and cost a few dollars for a daily pass. Only downside was parking was $20 per night

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great location - close to the water as well as the St Kilda shops.
Room was good too, but not cheap, and for the price there were a few shortfalls, including
(a) ridiculously expensive internet [why do big hotels rip guests off so much for internet, when backpacker hostels charge nothing or next to nothing?]
(b) strong outside light came in through bathroom window and into bedroom through glass wall in-between
(c) decor in bathroom and bedroom quite worn and in need of renovation.

Room Tip: Don't get a room where the outside light shines ion through the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDEC_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us & appreciated the favourable feedback on our location. We do provide complimentary use of Macs in the lobby & internet throughout the public areas which may offer better value for money.

I am sorry to hear you describe our room decor as being worn out, we will monitor for improvements as required, also check on the blinds between bathroom & bedroom are effective to block out any light.

We hope you will have the opportunity to return to Novotel St Kilda.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Property: Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing