We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok....would probably go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ok....would probably go back”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Booked for a week last week online and paid for upfront, very efficient process. Upon checking in was asked for a credit card for room charges, as i live overseas i dont have a CC and suggested i pay cash. Due to leaving a cash deposit the request for $700 deposit left me a little floored considering the room had been paid for totally weeks before. They finally agreed and accepted a $350 deposit. Location was ideal for us as a family (stayed in a family suite) but found a few things quite disappointing. $20 per day for parking? I thought as guests that was a bit expensive, restaurant meals expensive and nothing special. Room was reasonably clean and spacious but felt a bit dated and also could hear noises from hallway and other guest rooms. Towels had unusual vinegar type odour although mostly everything was clean. Mini Bar was minimally stocked and not re-stocked every day, also first morning we arrived housekeeping was knocking on the door at 7.30am! Would have thought we would have had a little bit of sleep in time given it was a Saturday. Would probably stay again purely due to location, but nothing really overwhelming would invite me back other than that.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay. Please accept our apology for any shortcomings, I have passed on your feedback to our management team to follow up & improve. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on 03 9536 6118, if you wish to discuss these matters further.

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    972
    522
    155
    81
See reviews for
419
1,050
191
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very nice room with a view over Port Phillip Bay. All the staff were friendly and helpful from the reception staff to the house keeping staff. Made use of the gym which is very well furnished with the latest bikes and treadmills etc. Overall our stay was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelStKildaGM, General Manager at Novotel Melbourne St Kilda, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & made use of our newly upgraded gymnasium with all the latest equipment. Hope to welcome you back sometime soon!

Regards.

Erkin Aytekin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The room decore was clean and crisp. Views of Port Phillip bay were magnificant and the location was ideal. Within walking distance of some magnificant eateries. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our stay was most enjoyable as we attended a wedding on the weekend. We always stay at the Novatel when in STKilda or that side of the city. The only issue i have is on checking our account when arriving home we have been charged twice for my daughter staying with us a s an extra person $60, when she only stayed one night which was the Friday the 28th. Could you look into this please.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed in a family suite as we have two children aged 7 and 10. The suite was ideal...much more spacious than a standard room. We really only used the room for sleeping as we were out and about for the majority of the time. We pre-purchased breakfast and regretted it. Not fantastic...we have had much better in other hotels and establishments. After the first morning we decided to head out to the cafes which are all located a short walk away...much nicer food and better value for money. The location of the hotel is fantastic and parking was really easy and convenient. There are trams located just outside the Hotel as well...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was our first stay here and in this area and we had a standard room with a fantastic view of the sea. The room was rather small but perfect for a single night stay. The bayside is a nice stay to relax and the staff helpful and courteous.The Hotel looks like it had been renovated since I was in the area last and had welcoming feel to it.We went home feeling really refreshed.I booked this room on a wotif mystery night at a great price. Plenty of secure parking(extra $) and restaurants nearby. We will definitely be back to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay, meeting up with friends who were also staying at Novotel.
We chose St. Kilda for its location, across from the beach and great walking paths in both directions. And it also has lots of options within walking distance for cafe's and restaurants. Because the weather turned on us we decided to stay in at the Novotel and have drinks at the bar and dinner in the dining room. The four of us were very happy with the service, friendliness and the food.
And when we checked in we were given a free upgrade with a view of the beach which was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Kilda Junction Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Melbourne St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Melbourne St Kilda

Property: Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Address: 16 The Esplanade, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Melbourne St Kilda 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Melbourne St Kilda is the city's premier beachfront hotel. Ideally positioned facing St Kilda beach and surrounded by some of the city's finest attractions, Novotel St Kilda is the perfect escape for the business or leisure traveller. Situated 6km from the city centre and 28km from Melbourne Airport, experience all this unique St Kilda hotel and its cosmopolitan surroundings have to offer from this hotel's prime position on The Esplanade. Novotel Melbourne St Kilda provides a great choice of St Kilda accommodation, offering 211 rooms and suites, many featuring spa baths with spectacular bay view over Port Philip Bay. The Novotel St Kilda can cater for a variety of events including residential conferences, team building exercises, annual meetings and gala dinners. Choose from 12 versatile function spaces for up to 300 delegates. Many of the rooms offer stunning ocean views and outdoor terrace areas for informal networking. Walk to some of Melbourne's finest attractions such as Luna Park, experience the famous Sunday art and craft market on The Esplanade or discover the many shopping options and bustling nightlife on nearby Acland and Fitzroy Streets. If you need to park the car, there is a secure, undercover parking (extra charge), whilst a tram stop at the front door ensures easy and convenient access to Melbourne city centre only six kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Melbourne St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Hotel St Kilda
Accor St Kilda
Novotel St Kilda
St Kilda Novotel
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing