We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book this hotel if you want a good nights sleep”
Review of The Prince

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Prince
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't book this hotel if you want a good nights sleep”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed 3 nights (Fri - Mon) & found the noise at night very disturbing.
Thought Friday night noise was bad however saturday night was unbearable. We had a 5.30am start Sunday due to triathlon & got very little sleep Saturday night. Noise was still going when we got up. A group of people were running up & down corridor ofour floor at 3am knocking on doors.
Booked a deluxe room which was small & basic however comfortable. Our room faced Ackland street so outlook & breeze was ok just the night time that was unbearable.
The room was clean & nicely presented however the shower needed a good scrub - lots of mould.
Breakfast is nothing exciting either - didn't fancy burrito,taco etc for breakfast. No aussie style
bfast choices.
Hard to recommend this hotel especially if you actually plan on sleeping at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronanne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    89
    37
    28
    16
See reviews for
17
121
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our room was comfortable although it was a bit small. We did not have any roise from the revellers in the bar; however, wevwere fully aware when the people above us walked around and when they used any water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgiananddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights over the Moomba festival long weekend. We found the hotel staff to be very courteous and helpful, and the hotel itself very clean and welcoming with a lovely private ambience.

Our deluxe room was spacious enough with the air conditioning doing a great job on a 36 degree day. The room could have done with a paint as there were scuff marks all over one of the bedside walls from luggage etc..

Parking was a very big plus although you have to get your parking ticket validated at reception every time you leave if its included in your room rate. The location was great. Close to Acland street cafes and entertainment of St Kilda. We found the traffic to get into town a nightmare but I guess the long weekend was to blame. It was a short drive to the shopping districts f Richmond's Bridge rd & Chapel street in Toorak.

Breakfast at the Mexican Cantina downstairs was the only low point. We encountered extremely rude obnoxious staff one the first day and it was a shambles the second with ridiculous waits just for coffee. WE cannot recommend the Cantina downstairs. We would have skipped it had we stayed an extra night and gone elsewhere to pay for breakfast.

All in all Prince is very good value. We only came back to shower and sleep and it was comfortable and convenient. Top option in St Kilda for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in a deluxe room facing onto Acland St (Room 315). The room was small but clean and comfortable, with just a shower and no bath. We were surprised that with all the mod cons there was no ipod dock in the room. The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are very good. They moved breakfast to the Cantina a couple of days before we left which was a much more relaxed atmosphere and the new menu was great. The hotel is a very popular events venue and was extremely noisy most nights, both with other guests and street noise. I would stay here again for a shorter trip and request a quieter room, higher up away from the street. The location is excellent as it is close to the tram, bars, restaurants and esplanade. It might also be worth checking what events are being held there before you book as we never got to use the pool/deck due to private functions.

Room Tip: High up and away from the street! Both Acland St and Fitzroy St are very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalouAliceSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our kids purchased a night at the Prince with breakfast incuded. Car parking and meal for around $180. The front desk got us a cab and took us to Circ de soleil in Dudley Street, Docklands. This funky hotel had a great room with all normal facilities. Breakfast was most enjoyable and as we left the 3rd floor carpark we thought that we should have used the day spa. Maybe next time. I recall visiting this seedy side of town some 30 years ago, and it certainly would not have been my choise had it not been a gift. The upshot is we think this might become our preferred hotel. We spent the morning walking down Acklan St. and thought of buying an investment property in the region. Very impressed.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the location and night life the room was very quiet. Curtains would help the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyandPhoebe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in Feb 2013. The hotel is in a fantastic location, a very short walk to the beach and right next to the bars and restaurants of St Kilda.

The room was average. Decent shower etc, and nothing particularly wrong with the room, just nothing special. The wifi worked well in the room.

The breakfast area was good, and the selection of breakfasts was great. Coffee was also very good, freshly ground etc.

The SPA and pool area wasn't up to much. Tiny pool and wasn't all that impressed, so we didn't make a visit.

The main issue with the hotel is that it is a pretty lively bar as well, with live bands, wedding parties etc so the room was pretty nosed until about 11pm. To be fair, this wasn't an issue for us and it was quiet after 11 so that was fine.

Room Tip: Go high up to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pr1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor for us.

We are actually in the process of rolling out a refurb of the rooms to brighten, refresh and give the rooms a lift.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the spa. The Spa is actually a separately owned and run facility. However I will pass this feedback on for you.

Kind regards

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Prince Hotel is not just a gorgeous, stylish place to stay!
My daughter was getting married just down the road so we moved in for a busy couple of days as I was also doing the reception and wedding flowers. I practically turned the Hotel room into a florist shop.The entire staff were incredibly helpful and they made the whole experience "doable".No request was too much and there were many!..........Loved the food, the decore,(especially in the bar and reception area), the comfortable bed, the lighting design and the valet parking! My daughter's suite was very spacious and stylish and Service was exceptional.The Prince Hotel exceeded all my expectations and more. Thank-you to all the friendly and helpful staff. Meredith.

Room Tip: Our room was facing busy Fitzroy street.Next time I would opt for a quieter room.he bridal Suite was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Director of Sales at The Prince, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a reply on tripadvisor.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you back with us very soon.

Kindest

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.2 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince

Property: The Prince
Address: 2 Acland St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Prince 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince is Melbourne's premier boutique hotel, hidden in the cosmopolitan bayside suburb, St Kilda. With 40 individually designed rooms, Veuve Clicquot in the minibar and (MALIN+GOETZ) bathroom amenities guests will enjoy a stay with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prince Hotel St Kilda
Prince Hotel St Kilda
Prince St Kilda
The Prince St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing