We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel”
Review of Tolarno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tolarno Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hotel is situated on Fritzroy Street. Close to many restaurants and Bars. Beach is about a 5 minute walk away. Each room is designed differently with local artist art in the room. Rooms are good and clean. However bathroom shower temperature fluctuated from too hot to cold, you need to keep on adjusting when you take a shower. Try to avoid getting a room at the front of the hotel. Fritzroy street can be extremely noisy on the weekend if you want to get some sleep the front of the hotel may not be your best option. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelvinFurd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear MelvinFurd68,

Thank you very much for your recent review. It sounds as though you made the most of your St Kilda experience – restaurants, bars and the local beach. It’s good to hear you enjoyed the uniqueness of Tolarno’s, particularly the diverse art collection.

The shower temperatures can fluctuate at times. We have asked Rheem about this and they advised we cannot change the temperature to which our water is set (it is set at a very high temperature) which is done to prevent bacterial problems. Due to this some rooms can experience the water temperature fluctuations now and then. It has not been a huge problem but it is annoying for those who experience it and we are sorry you did.

You have given good advice to future guests, to choose rooms off the street if they are here over the weekend and are noise sensitive.

It’s very pleasing you found our staff friendly and helpful and we hope to see you if you visit Melbourne again. Thank you again and best wishes, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 281 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

I just stayed three nights at the Hotel Tolarno, over the Grand Prix weekend. I thought it was excellent. St Kilda is a noisy place, sometimes unruly and, over a GP weekend, crowded. In spite of this, the hotel itself was pretty quiet. There are two things that really stand out about the Tolarno. 1. The reception staff are super. Polite, helpful and considerate. You just can't fault them. 2. The art. There are some cracking paintings in the corridors.

The hotel is a bit tatty here and there, but that's part of its charm. It's a great place to stay. If you're looking for 5 star, this isn't it, but if you're looking for somewhere you can trust the people and feel cared for, go to the Tolarno.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richy61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Richy61_11
Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased you found Tolarno Hotel suited your needs.
We are in a great location for those attending the Grand Prix. We are also very pleased you found our friendly staff offered you great service. We do feel this is one of our best assets – staff who care about guests! We are here to make your stay as enjoyable and trouble free as possible.
You are right in saying the artwork is a stand-out. There’s a huge variety of works, we are a gallery in a hotel really.
It’s true that we are not a 5 star hotel and we don’t pretend to be. The very nature of the 1880’s building does not lend itself to lap pools and state of the art luxury. As a 4 star property we always hope we will meet and ideally exceed expectations.
We really appreciate your honest review and one can read from it that “you get our hotel!”
Thanks again and we hope we can welcome you here again. Best wishes, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as we had a wedding in the area.
The price was good and the staff where very friendly.

Our room was perfect for what we needed but the only problem was when we got back and wanted to go to sleep at 1am, the noise from outside was so loud that we only got a few hours sleep.
It is in a party area but I think they need to get thicker windows.
Parking was close by and only cost 7 dollars.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank seandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hi Seandw,

Thank you for writing a review about your Tolarno Hotel experience.
It’s nice to know you found your room comfortable, the tariff reasonable, our staff to be friendly and the parking convenient and affordable.
St Kilda is a popular area for weddings and we have a lot of guests who book with us to attend weddings like your selves.
It’s disappointing that the outside noise impacted on your sleep. As much as it is out of our control, we would very much like to lessen the decibels from Fitzroy Street, which are often very loud on weekends. We have mentioned before, on this site, that we have had sound engineers look into this, and the only option given is to enclose the balconies in thick glass. We haven’t gone down this path yet, as in many ways it will be sad to lose the outdoor balcony. We do take guest feedback seriously and it is being considered, as many of you have commented on this in your reviews.
We thank you for your honest and succinct feedback too. Kind regards, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have always had an excellent experience when staying at the Tolarno. We have celebrated our anniversary here most years since 2002. Great staff, service, art work, rooms and location- and Tolarno did not disappoint this time. We stayed Friday and Saturday nights and the only concern we had was the noise Saturday night/Sunday morning. It could be our older age impacting our opinion, however we found the dance music from across the road very sleep disruptive. We enjoy hearing some of the vibrant street noise, yet at 5.00 Sunday morning I was woken to the techno beat still going across the street. Maybe they had it louder than they should have.... Not really a reflection of the hotel, but if your planning a sleep-in request a room toward the back. We were in the deluxe balcony suite which faces the street. Nonetheless the room and weekend was great. A very consistent hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kateandwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Kateandwoz,

Thank you very much for your March review. It’s wonderful to hear you have spent many anniversaries here over the last 12 or so years.

The balcony rooms are great for many reasons but Fitzroy St can be rowdy and nobody at any age likes a disturbed sleep. The weekends are the times when the party goers really seem to be out and about and it’s unfortunate that our guests in balcony rooms hear them a little too often. It’s nice to know your weekend stay was still a happy one and you made the most of your time here.

We really hope we can be of service to you for at least the next 12 years. Perhaps your next room can be off the street, we would be happy to talk you through some rooms before you choose. We’ll look forward to seeing you and thank you again for taking the time to write your review. Best wishes, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you are looking for a retro/artistic place to stay, with a bit of history behind, a fantastic italian restaurant and surroundings where you feel genuinelly welcomed by very human and caring people, then TOLARNO is the place for you!
We talked to Jane and the other two guys at reception and they were so empathetic and kind, we were really touched by the humanity displayed effortlessly by all of them.
We had a great evening there and enjoy one of the most amazing italian food at their restaurant.
We would not hesitate to go back there next time we are in Melbourne :)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hello Peter V,

Thank you very much for your review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and the restaurant; which does serve delicious food.

Being a fairly small, independent hotel, we do feel that we can truly be ourselves and don’t have to operate to the strict, often robotic, guidelines that some of the larger chain hotels do. Although our approach is very professional, we can go the extra mile to help guests a little more, in order to make their stay more special. We genuinely care about what we do and our guests’ - it’s nice to hear you felt that way during your stay here.

We will look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Melbourne. Best wishes, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is located on Fitzroy Street with easy access to St Kilda Pier / beach and a short walk to Acland street. We chose it because it seemed to be the best affordable boutique hotel in the area, and we weren't disappointed. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and check-in was easy. The art on the walls really gave the hotel extra personality. We had a hire car for part of our stay and parking was easy. There is unlimited parking only two blocks from the hotel, and our stay was over the Aus day weekend and we had no trouble getting a space but if there are no spaces the hotel has a deal with a nearby carpark for $7 a day.

Some nearby places I would highly recommend:
- Captain Baxters (trendy bar/restaurant overlooking the Beach) - awesome food and great cocktails
- Fitzrovia (On Fitzroy St just up the road - for breakfast or dinner)
- 95 Espresso on Acland Street has very good Coffee
- Milk the Cow - Wine and Cheese Licensed Fromagiarie on Fitzroy Street - AMAZING!

We'll be back to stay at this Hotel on our next stay in Melbourne without a doubt.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the upper floor to avoid noise from people on the stairs. There isn't a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Benjamin G,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review, from your recent stay. It’s really great to hear why you chose Tolarno’s, and list “affordability” as one of your criteria.

We wish we had parking at the hotel but as this is not possible we have the arrangement at Metropol on Canterbury Rd - $7 for 24 hours. It was good you were able to park in the free parking area a couple of blocks back from the hotel and found it to be no problem. The free street parks can fill up, which is why it’s good to have the car park as a back up and some people prefer to have their car under cover.

We always hope our guests explore and discover some of the terrific places in the area, and I think your recommendations will be very well received by those looking at your review for ideas. Places like “Milk the Cow” are so unique and great for cheese lovers! On the summer evenings what could be more relaxing than looking at the sunset while sipping cocktails overlooking the beach at Captain Baxters! Fitzrovia produce great food and 95 Espresso on Acland St is one of many great coffee places.

We love repeat guests and will look forward to your return visit. Thanks again for taking the time to submit your feedback. Warm regards, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

A rare night away withmy husband to see the St kilda festival. This hotel was perfect! The staff were brilliant, helping me out with parking on one of the busiest days in the year and looking after our bags when we arrived so early. A great welcome, a fabulous stay in a funky hotel in a fantastic location, better equiped than my house! Thank you, we can't wait to come back! Great Sunday value.

Room Tip: We had a standard room, suited our needs for a festival focused stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizanddunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello Lizanddunc,
The St Kilda Festival is certainly a lively time to come to the area! This is one Sunday we need to prepare for at the hotel. Many streets in St Kilda, including Fitzroy Street, are closed off to vehicles, which can make it difficult for guests entering to check-in and park. We’re really pleased we could assist you with the luggage and parking early in the morning, so you could make the most of the day.
As you were out for most of the day, I agree that the standard room would have been the right room type for you.
We’ll look forward to seeing you again. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it. Best wishes, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Sixty Two on Grey
Sixty Two on Grey
#12 of 19 in St Kilda
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolarno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolarno Hotel

Address: 42 Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#8 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $79 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tolarno Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an art gallery, cafe and private residence of flamboyant Melbourne artist Mirka Mora and her husband Georges, the Tolarno Hotel has always been a creative space in St Kilda. The tradition continues at Tolarno Hotel. In a salute to the charismatic Mirka, the hotel’s walls and halls are hung with striking artworks by emerging and accomplished artists, 150+ works in total including a number of Mirka’s – guest’s often comment that it’s like staying in an art gallery. Today our 4 star hotel awards 3 major student art prizes via the Victorian College of the Arts (VCA), Monash University and Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) and the yearly winners are exhibited in the hotel foyer for 12 months. Many of the artworks in guest rooms are prize-winning student paintings; the remainder are works by prominant local artists. Combine these striking surrounds with our friendly service, well-appointed rooms and suites and location in the heart of St Kilda’s dining and entertainment precinct and you have a stay like no other. With trams just a 30-second walk from our front door offering easy access to Melbourne’s CBD attractions, shopping, restaurants, events and business precinct, you’re connected to everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tolarno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Tolarno Hotel St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing