We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed on three different occasions”
Review of SugarReef Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

SugarReef Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $19 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: SugarReef Seafood and Steak Restaurant & Bar was established in Melbourne in 2010.Subtly nestled amongst the palm trees in St Kilda with a combination of great ambience, friendly staff along with bay and park views, SugarReef is a fantastic experience for anyone at any time of day or night.SugarReef is a perfect location for a quick corporate lunch, a leisurely afternoon bite with friends or simply enjoying a relaxing dinner whilst watching one of St Kilda’s amazing sunsets.At SugarReef we pride ourselves in the quality and freshness of our products and only buy from the best and most reputable suppliers. Our focus is not just on the food but the whole dining experience.We are all about comfort and simplicity where our guests can eat and enjoy fresh fabulous food. We look forward to hopefully seeing you soon. The SugarReef Team.Specialising in Seafood and Steaks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed on three different occasions”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Great service staff polite friendly welcoming venue and location fantastic lovely decor. Food is very average poor quality it a restaurant kitchen needs to lift its game great service can only do so much with a poor quality prepared dish

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gurrawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service - disappointing food.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our group of six celebrated a birthday - our wait staff were excellent without exception, and the overall atmosphere of the restaurant was great. We never waited for a drink all night - the staff kept a great eye on our table. The food however was disappointing and a bit hit & miss - the nasi goreng tasted like a jar of sauce had been poured over rice, and the spaghetti marinara had so much chilli it was difficult to taste anything else - even the dish ordered with less chilli was very spicy. Then again, other meals ordered by our group were loved & raved over - the dessert sharing plate was awesome. Small grip - even though we booked saying it was for a birthday, we didn't receive a free meal for the birthday girl until querying the bill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldtimers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Visited here for tapas & had a nice waiter from Ireland who was great with the kids and just all around friendly, and attentive as a waiter. The tapas were good too- I would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reader12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had tapas here for two. The food was wonderful and the restaurant itself is lovely. I would recommend this restaurant for its food and prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Service and Gluten Free Friendly Food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We celebrated a birthday here on a hot summer evening. The windows of the restaurant were open to catch the sea breeze and allow a great view of the passing parade of people heading to and from the beach. The service is terrific! All staff were friendly and attentive. Meals were served with just the right amount of time between courses. The food is good basic cafe fare with a nice range of different sizes and types of dishes. A great place for groups or couples to share food or go it alone with the larger courses. Many of the dishes are gluten free and marked as such on the menu, which makes it easy for coeliacs or others needing to eat GF to do so easily. Thanks must go to the restaurant for this. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugsbitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SugarReef Restaurant and Bar also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing