We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Accomodation”
Review of Apartments Ink

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments Ink
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Accomodation”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We recently stayed here as a family with our two children. Accommodation is in a good location and close to transport and the front office staff were fantastic in answering any questions we had. We were upgraded to a two bedroom deluxe from the standard two bedroom we had booked and found the apartment to be a good condition with all amenities we required. We were also supplied with a port-a-cot and high chair at no additional charge. Washing machine and dryer in rooms is a great bonus. Car Parking is also provided with the rooms. We enjoyed our stay and will look to stay here again when we are next in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Opt for a high floor so you are away from traffic in and out of the supermarket below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Front Office Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Holidazing,

Thank you for your glowing review of Apartments Ink, we pride ourselves on our customer service and local knowledge. As part of our service we are happy to provide the necessities for infants free of charge, and are glad to hear the features of the room accommodated all your needs. Next time you are in Melbourne, please feel free to contact us directly for a special rate.

Justin Hunt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    119
    28
    12
    11
See reviews for
72
90
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Ink for 3 nights at bro's recommendation and it was a good one. Our family of four had a well-equipped apartment with two separate rooms for us and kids. Rooms were clean and spacious, and the washing machine and dryer were most helpful! Service was minimal, but adequate. It's a big plus that the supermkt Aldi was juz downstairs which made our stay more like home.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Front Office Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Rockbunny

Thank you for taking the time to review our Apartments, it is greatly appreciated and love hearing that your stay felt like home. We all look forward to welcoming yourself and your family back on your next trip back to Melbourne.

Justin Hunt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We enjoyed our time here, 13 days and nights with good cooking, sleeping and washing/drying facilities. We were comfortable, warm and close to our family who we even manged to cook for a coupke of evenings. Only small criticism was the shower was a bit low on water pressure compared with other places we stayed but you could not fault the temp or control.
we will probably come again when we next stay in St Kilda next summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in 303 on the top at the front of the building where the balcony had a pleasant outlook an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Front Office Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Mike B

May thanks for your positive review of Apartments Ink. It’s great to hear the apartment suited your needs and the kitchen facilities were put to good use! We understand the water pressure in comparison to other establishments may lack a little, this is due to our efforts to reduce water usage by utilising water saving shower heads. In hindsight it looked like the issue didn’t really hinder your stay, and come summer time we would be more than happy to accommodate you again in the lovely St Kilda area.

Justin Hunt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very friendly front desk staff (all 3 that served me during my stay) and free internet in the lobby.

Clean apartment style rooms with everything that you'd need to prepare a meal.

Very comfortable large bed. Well appointed bathroom. Fair pressure in the shower.

No problem with heating and cooling.

Not far to walk to Chapel Street and trams to the city are less than 500m away in 2 directions.

Room Tip: Aim for the top floor if possible. An Aldi is located downstairs for very cheap food and drink. Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Mt_Lawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Front Office Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Rob_Mt_Lawley

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review Apartments Ink, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our large bedding and well appointed bathroom. The added benefit of our location is that we are not far from Chapel St and public transport for the short trip to the city. I look forward to your return to Melbourne and Apartments Ink.

Justin Hunt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and was probably a bit dissapointed after seeing it online.
The rooms were a bit run down and when we arrived we found a handyman repairing the room having to wait a while to enter.
Also another guest attemted to enter our room after he was given the same room number. This was very awkward and not what you would expect. All his paperwork had the same room number..!!!!!!!!!!
Also they only stocked decaf coffee and after asking for normal coffee they delivered decaf again.
So for the cost i must say i was pretty dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troydan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Front Office Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Troydan7

I appreciate your sincere review of Apartments Ink and am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. On reflection of some of your points unfortunately maintenance attending your room and also the guest being sent to the same was wholly a reception error. My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience, the staff concerned have been updated on the issue and advised of consequences of such an incident. I would be more than happy to welcome you back to our property when you return to Melbourne, please feel free to contact me directly for a special deal.

Justin Hunt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hi,

We relocated from abroad at the end of March and stayed at Apartments Ink for 1 month with my husband and 20 month old baby.

Facilities:
The apartment was really nice and actually bigger than in the pictures. All appliances were fairly new and worked perfectly. Very quiet complex!

Location:
If you are staying for a long period, there is an Aldi next door where you can do your groceries at an affordable price specially if you have a family. Alma Park and the Public Library are walking distance, the same with Carlisle Road were you have a Coles, banks, pharmacies, cafes, everything you may need. St Kilda beach is also a nice short walk from apartments.

Public Transportation:
We mainly used the tram to go to CBD which has a stop only one block away. The train station is also walking distance. The same with the trams on Chapel if you want to go in that direction, you can even walk to the commercial part of Chapel if you enjoy walking.

Staff:
Justin, Kate and Jai from the Front Desk team were super friendly and assisted us with all our needs. Would specially like to mention Carlie, Operations Manager, who from the moment of our booking inquiry until our departure, was extremely professional, empathetic, friendly and went beyond her responsibilities advising us about many professional and general life issues normal to any international relocation.

I would have no hesitation to recommend Apartments Ink specially for long stays.

Big thanks to all the team!
Gabriela & family

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gguanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Front Office Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi gguanella

WOW! Thank you for the amazing review of Apartments Ink, myself and the whole team were more than happy to accommodate your family during your relocation. It was an absolute pleasure to meet and interact with your family on a daily basis, we wish you all the best for your future in Melbourne Australia!

Justin Hunt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Should have known we were in for an interesting time when we were contacted the week before our stay to find out where we were. Luckily we had booked online and had proof of our travel dates.

We decided to stay here for a change from staying in the city. We thought we were staying in apartments. This was not the case, or maybe in hindsight it's the room we selected, but the room barely fitted the two single beds, with no room for luggage. Luckily we were only there to sleep, but even this was disturbed on the two nights we were there by the nocturnal coming and goings in room 110 who clearly Hadoop regard for anyone else. Not sure if they are a permanent resident, but very rude!

Easy access to the accommodation using tram 67 from the city, but in hindsight by the time we paid for and travelled back and forth, we would've been better off in the city. The location of the 'apartments' is a fair way from the shops in St Kilda, so we didn't bother to visit.

One advantage is that there is an Aldi right next door which would be handy if staying for my length of time.

Personally I wouldn't bother to stay again as the term Apartment is misleading, and too far from either the city or St Kilda,a to be worthwhile.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Fairywings2507,

Thank you for reviewing Apartments Ink. I am disappointed to read your review in that you didn't enjoy your with us and that the location was not as convenient as you expected. Even though we are in St Kilda, we are not right in the middle of the busy precinct. Most of our guests that have reviewed the location as excellent may prefer to be away from the main St Kilda precinct. However we are only a 10-15 min walk to access the main precinct.

The Hotel Queen/Twin Room is advertised as a Compact Room with Tea Coffee making facilities. The room does not come with a lounge or any living area like our Apartments. It is certainly ideal for an overnight stay where guests are looking for an economical room to have a sleep and go.

We recommend one of our 1 Bedroom Apartments that will give guests a lounge area and work desk. The Apartments also come with fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and a balcony.

I would love the opportunity to accommodate you and your family again. Please contact me personally so that I can arrange a great deal for you and give you the opportunity to experience our apartments.

Carlie Flanagan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.7 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Ink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Ink

Property: Apartments Ink
Address: 135 Inkerman St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apartments Ink 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Apartments Ink, a Modern, Stylish and Vibrant 4 Star Serviced Apartments Hotel which is located in cosmopolitan St Kilda, perfect for the corporate or leisure travelers. Situated on Inkerman Street between St Kilda Road and Chapel Street, it is only a few kilometres from Melbourne CBD.Our accommodation in Melbourne is beautifully appointed, and evokes a sense of warmth and sophistication. Kitchens are fully equipped with European appliances and laundry facilities are an added bonus in all apartments. St Kilda Beach, Fitzroy St, Acland St, Luna Park, Caulfield Racecourse and an array of shopping strips are all within close proximity to Apartments Ink. St Kilda is well known for the array of dining options it provides and the picturesque bayside setting they are set upon. All restaurants, cafes and bars are all within a 10-15 minute walk or a 5 minute tram ride. Enjoy our Melbourne accommodation specials and take advantage of discounted packages suitable for both business and leisure travelers. Facilities include ALDI supermarket and Asian Fusion Restaurant on the ground floor. Secure undercover parking is available at an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apartments Ink reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Ink St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing