We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Expectatations became Disappointment & Frustration”
Review of Apartments Ink

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments Ink
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived at 11.00PM last Thursday and had trouble locating the entry to the car park. There is no signage. We rang the manager who came down and checked us in and gave us instructions for car park entry. Messy at night when the main gate is closed. If we were aware that we needed to enter via the Aldi carpark, it would have been much easier, but this wasn't mentioned previously. The manager was very friendly and helpful and assisted us in finding something to eat. Our apartment was clean and functional, but not very spacious. I would consider a bigger apartment if staying again.There was a blind, but no curtains on the room length window of the bedroom. The curtains had been removed. When other guests came along the lights would come on automatically and shine in the bedroom. This became very annoying, very quickly. The coffee table had a broken leg and the glass was gone, presumably it had broken and had not been replaced.The rooms were serviced very well on Friday and Saturday, but it was not made clear that they weren't serviced on Sunday. This wasn't appreciated. As far as the car parking is concerned, it is just too much trouble. You need to go though two gates and the car spaces provided for guests are very tight, particularly if you drive a big car. Security is great, but moving around the building and into the garage was painful. When we departed this morning, Monday, we had to leave and then find somewhere to park in the street, so that we could return our keys. There must be a better system. Even though the apartment was comfortable and the staff very helpful,I very much doubt if we would retrun for another visit.

Room Tip: Take a larger one on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LambsofSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, General Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We put great emphasis on being the premium accommodation provider in the area and I am quite disappointed in the feedback that we have received on this occasion.

The entrance to the car park is always explained to all guests arriving, especially for late arrivals due to the main gate being shut for overnight security. Being the Onsite Manager I always pay special attention to this and it was the same when I checked you in. The car park map that was provided on check-in clearly explains this as well. Furthermore the confirmation email you received also explains the location of the car park and that it's shared with the ALDI car park. Perhaps all of the above was misunderstood when you were checking in. If none of the above was sufficient information regarding our car parking arrangements, I do apologize and will take steps to provide further information to our guests.

With regards to the room size, I believe you preferred to take a 1 Bedroom Standard Apartment on the 3rd floor with a view instead of a 1 Bedroom Deluxe Apartment on the 2nd floor which was also offered to you at the time of booking with me. If you were not happy with the size of the room the option to upgrade to a 1 Bedroom Deluxe Apartment was discussed and offered.

The Apartments do not come with curtains however blackout blinds cover the entire length of the window which shields any light coming into the bedroom. I believe the blinds may have not been used correctly on this occasion.

I do apologize for the loose coffee table leg which should have been fixed prior to your arrival however since your feedback it has been rectified. I hope this was not too much of an inconvenience.

No servicing on a Sunday is a very common practice in the Serviced Apartments Sector. The welcome letter that was given to you on arrival clearly states that there is no servicing on the Sunday. There is also a second information sheet in the room that explains that even though there is no servicing on the Sunday any amenities and towels can be requested from reception if needed.

With regards to your comments regarding the car park being too secure and being a hassle, I believe the instructions and map provided makes it very clear and easy to understand. The car parking spaces are sufficient for any size vehicle to park as we have a large van (5 Meters x 2 Meters) that is parked quite easily. I am unsure how big your vehicle was.
The most disappointing element for me was that while you had concerns from the time the booking was made, I made a personal assurance that everything will be done to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I gave you my personal mobile number and you assured me that if there were any concerns that you would contact me to bring it to my attention. However not hearing from you at all during your stay and then to see such comments on public forum is quite disappointing.

However even though it’s disappointing I still really appreciate and value your feedback and will take steps to ensure that this is not repeated for any of our future guests.
Sarana Halpe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 331 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place looks a lot better on the website than in reality. I don't know how it has such a high rating. The staff are really nice and accomodatiing but the units are filthy. The place is also in the middle of nowhere and there was a fight outside our apartment that was disturbing. The TV's are miniature as well.
I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApartmentsInk, General Manager at Apartments Ink, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at Apartments Ink. As new Owner Managers, we take pride in ourselves at exceeding guest expectations and put great emphasis on being the premium accommodation provider in the area.

I am a bit surprised by the comments on this occasion as we have had really good reviews as well as direct comments regarding our rooms and the service levels. I am equally disappointed that your expectations were not met and that you would not recommend us to anyone as I put great emphasis on the team to ensure that all our guests receive 5 star service in the rooms as well as from the staff.

On our website we clearly state the location of the hotel with a direct link to Google maps to ensure we reflect our location properly. We also found that many of our guests who chose to stay with us, preferred not being in the heart of the busy St Kilda precinct such as Fitzroy Street or Acland Street. However getting access to those areas are less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

During the check-in process we advice all our guests regarding the after hours mobile numbers that can be contacted in case of any urgent matters. It would have been really good for us to receive a phone call so that we could have investigated the noise that disturbed your night with us. We take every possible step to ensure that all our guests are able to enjoy their stay with us.

I would appreciate it very much if you could contact me at your earliest convenience and give us the opportunity to respond, rectify and compensate for any issues that you had during your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you soon in the near future and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed 1 night in the city and then 2 nights in Apartments Ink. The manager had helped us with a good price for a 1 bed with rollaway for 9 yr old which was a bit of a squeeze in the bedroom (and unlikely to fit in the living area) but our bed was HUGE and comfortable.Well equipped kitchen, nice toiletries, and huge desk for studying/working. Had to request the rollaway and extra set of towels after check in but not a problem. The balcony was nice, and the location is surprisingly good. Short walk to trams into city, 15 min walk to Acland St which was packed on the Sunday afternoon we were there and more managaeable on the Monday. Close to Luna Park so we could get a rollercoaster ride in. The apartments were just a teensy bit shabby..scuffs on walls and floors, shower not spotless and toilet seat lid off its hinge (not a huge problem, and the gentleman at reception said the maintenance guy would look at it during his usual rounds) and the carpet in the lift stained and the walkway to apt dusty and grubby. Also the TVs are positioned quite high up on the walls, so you're looking up quite high to watch them. None of this is a big deal, just a little of a let down as we had high expectations after the reviews. But our stay was pleasant, great value, Aldi very convenient, felt safe and secure in the complex and would definitely book again for apartment living in St Kilda.

Room Tip: We were Block A facing Inkerman St, on first floor. Sunny, not much traffic noise, pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelpools46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

small like a hotel with a very big bathroom but very clean, with secure underground parking. A small 15min walk to St Kilda main street for the night life. Not to pricey for the area. Tram line just at the corner to take you into Melbourne. This is also next to a supermarket (Aldi) which is handing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The apartments are fantastic, i stay here a lot for work reasons and really enjoy it, the apartments are clean and quiet for a good night sleep. Location is perfect you dont need a car to go anywhere.
The staff are fantastic and really look after me, ive stayed in many hotels but service is important for me and they are perfect.

Bailey
Business Director

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Will certainly be back, next time with kids. Rooms were spotless, the service was fantastic-they even organised taxis for us & it is located within walking distance to Luna Park, beach, shopping & some fantastic cafes/bars.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Premiers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a nice surprise, these apartments are affordable and well located with only a short walk to Acland Street, luna Park and the Beach.They have the convenience of modern spacious rooms, 2 bathrooms, private balcony and supermarket below for cooking requirements if you choose, and yet are very sound proof for sleeping and privacy ...Great Choice!

Room Tip: Perhaps a lower level of the 4 if you have children and a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
0.7 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Ink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Ink

Address: 135 Inkerman St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: $88 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apartments Ink 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Apartments Ink, a Modern, Stylish and Vibrant 4 Star Serviced Apartments Hotel which is located in cosmopolitan St Kilda, perfect for the corporate or leisure travelers. Situated on Inkerman Street between St Kilda Road and Chapel Street, it is only a few kilometres from Melbourne CBD.Our accommodation in Melbourne is beautifully appointed, and evokes a sense of warmth and sophistication. Kitchens are fully equipped with European appliances and laundry facilities are an added bonus in all apartments. St Kilda Beach, Fitzroy St, Acland St, Luna Park, Caulfield Racecourse and an array of shopping strips are all within close proximity to Apartments Ink. St Kilda is well known for the array of dining options it provides and the picturesque bayside setting they are set upon. All restaurants, cafes and bars are all within a 10-15 minute walk or a 5 minute tram ride. Enjoy our Melbourne accommodation specials and take advantage of discounted packages suitable for both business and leisure travelers. Facilities include ALDI supermarket and Asian Fusion Restaurant on the ground floor. Secure undercover parking is available at an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Ink reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Ink St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing