We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cake was fantastic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Monarch Bakery

Monarch Bakery
Ranked #5 of 7 Bakeries in St Kilda
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Geelong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cake was fantastic”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We opted to share a continental vanilla slice between us, with a coffee, it tasted as good as it looked. Just cant possibly eat a whole cake to yourself. Good value.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LIsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Old world but no charm.”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Chaotic if friendly cake shop trading on past glory. Not really good enough, quite dirty shop and average cake. Want to like it but can't.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Well_travelled_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“One of the Original Shops in St. Kilda since 1934”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

One of the institutions in St. Kilda. They offer magnificent pastries and hot coffee. They never lost their luster thru the years.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good luck deciding which sweet treat”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Also known as Monarch Cakes and Monarch Cake Shop and of course Monarch Bakery. No matter what you call this shop, you have to stop and sample the coffee and treats. Oh my lord. I've never seen a street lined with shops displaying the most delicious cakes on the universe. Acland Street St Kilda has just that and we followed the advice on Trip Advisor and gave Monarch a try. Cooffee - so yummy, hubby's passionfruit tart sweet as and my apple crumble was an eenee meenee minee mo because I could have bought one of everythng. Tram stops out the front, just beyond Luna Park. In fact the tram's last stop is here and then you can get back on to get back to Melbourne CBD. Take tram 96 with StKilda as a destination from either Queen/ Bourke, or Swanston/Bourke (or type into net tram 96 to St Kilda and it will give you station stops and times). Tram back to CBD will have East Brunswick on the front. You can't go wrong though because it's one line in and one line out. Anyway after your delicious treat do the Acland Street walk (not very long) and take in all the shops and people. Coles is also along here for quick top ups of water, fruit etc.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crab67tkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Six months ago I know this place and I can say I enjoyed any other at this level with pastels (except at my sister who is a cook) and the smell from the oven while I drink a caffe latte. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiguelNavarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monarch Bakery also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Monarch Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing