We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place, great food, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greasy Joe's - CLOSED

Greasy Joe's
Cuisines: Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Seating
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place, great food, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This revived memories of 'Happy Days' - it had all the fun - less Fonzie!!! The staff are friendly and helpful and the servings are huge. We have been back and will return again.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was a good find on a first visit to St Kilda. Great food, really helpful staff, and surprisingly good value!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_M_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Friendly staff, wonderful food. What more do you need?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

This newly refurbished restaurant and bar is fitted with an open space fill helped by the floor to ceiling windows that let in the light and allow you to see the beach view.

The well stocked bar in the middle of the floor is serviced by a great bar tender that will mix you a cocktail to your liking and tell you about surrounding or Melbourne things to do. The friendly waitress will hand you a menu of old classic restaurant food with a modern trendy twist. Then chat to you about the suburb if you like.

My friend and I had the following for$50 total
1 x house wine 1 x cocktail
Main of beautifully cooked fish and chips with mint mushy peas (sounds odd but was amaxing)
Main of open chicken burger with chutney (yummy)

The day we went they were closing for a private function early and im sure at night the place would be very good bar to chill out at.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We went for dinner before the John Farnham concert. The staff were quick to take our orders and our food arrived very quickly. We all had different things but were all impressed by our choices. I had a warm chicken salad which was very fresh and tasty!
Yum...looking forward to our next visit to this lovely part of Melbourne!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScrapbytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great service, food and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

After a busy afternoon at Luna Park, we headed to Greasy Joe's, which is close, for a quick bite to eat...4 adults, 4 kids. Although it was only 4.30, they were open and more than happy for us to have an early dinner. The kids were accommodated quickly and could choose from a kids menu that wasn't bad. We were able to choose from the famous hamburgers through to the delicious green curry that I had. All the meals were great, service was fab and it didn't dent our pocket too much and everyone left happy. I haven't been here since I had my son, but we had spent many brunch dates and late nights beforehand. Now I know it works for families as well, I'll be back!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank culturaltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greasy Joe's also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing