We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Shep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Carrington
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Shepparton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great spot in Shep”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a spa room at the carrington. Great rooms, great service and great location. Had room service on one morning and the pancakes were light and fluffy.
No complaints at all, the only little thing is that whilst there is ample parking, it is not allocated: my personal preference is allocated parking. But anyway, we stayed three nights and were very happy we made the right decision going with the carrington.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank an8e100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
13
34
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My other half and I got married at the manor earlier this month and stayed in firstly the two bedroom apartment which is excellent with two big bedrooms, what I loved is the rooms have been renovated so all the furniture and whitegoods are new. In the apartment there is also a dryer and washer which makes things easy. Over in the manor we stayed in the king suite which is amazing with a bathroom which is bigger than most rooms, with a huge spa bath theres also a huge walk in wardrobe and the bed was amazing. Staff are fantastic and food in the resturant was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriso328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I often travel to Shepparton for work purposes but this was the first time staying at the Carrington. It would have to be the best place that I have stayed in Shepparton. My room was on the second floor of the main building and was excellent. It was very clean, nicely decorated and spacious.

The service was great too.

I cannot fault it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Located approx. 2 hours north of Melbourne, The Carrington is reasonably close to the city centre and across from Lake Victoria. We had a room in the Carrington Manor [overlooking the lake] which is a luxury 'house' built in the style of Elvis's Gracelands with a very imposing circular drive way and front door, although parking is behind the Best Western Motel next door [equally grand]. We also had a special dinner in a private room in The Carrington which was excellent with drinks at bar prices [very reasonable]. We also had the 'continental' breakfast next morning, which included wonderful fresh fruit, cereal etc plus eggs benedict. For more money, you could have the cooked breakfast, though I don't know why you would! Excellent weekend accommodation with flair.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfinpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having attended a wedding in Shepparton for the weekend, we decided to make a last minute choice to stay one more night before driving back to Melbourne. Due to long weekend, availability was limited, so we took a punt on The Carrington.

Check-in was friendly and no fuss, we were given a standard queen deluxe room. Room has queen size bed, 42" LCD TV, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, small mini bar, excellent side lounge and modern, updated bathroom. Furnishings well appointed and neutral tones.

Only downside was hot water did not work for over an hour, and even then, it was not able to reheat so we were promptly given another room. Well handled by the staff under the circumstances.

We would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_and_Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Having recently moved into the area I had heard that The Carrington was one of the best places to eat so I decided to give it a go.
We attended on a Saturday evening, we arrived at 7 and the resturant was very quiet. We were seated and before we had even sat down the waitress asked us how old we were, I found this very strange due to the fact we had not even mentioned purchasing an alcoholic drink, the waitress made everybody feel a little uncomfortable!
We waited a while for our drinks there was only one waitress working so think she was a little busy, we order garlic bread which was delicious!!
Our mains were all excellent I had the fillet eye steak which was particularly good and I would highly recommend, unfortunately the service and the atmosphere could not be similarly compared, by 7:30 we were the only people left in the resturant!
We had a lovely girls evening, however if you looking for a venue with some atmosphere and good service this is not the place for you, the food is however excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gleavesy1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penguin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked into this motel because of the good ratings and after a 20 hour trip from Tasmania to Shepparton we were hot and tired. The room was great and the pool was fantastic. The staff were friendly and co operative BUT at 8.00 PM an extremely loud band with big base started up in their Reception rooms. After sometime I rang reception and they suggested we move out and they would not charge us alternatively there would be no charge for the room. As we had no idea where to go if we left, I suggested they please ask the band to turn the base down.
They did do this and at least we could rest until they ceased playing.
I would have appreciated if the Carrington informed us prior to booking in that there was going to be loud music until 11.00 PM. And upon payment in the morning, they DID charge us for the room.
We probably wouldn't stay there again as they could have informed us of the Reception room being used and the fact that there was going to be loud music and they didn't keep their word to not charge us for the room. Everything else was good. Just the fact we were very weary and needed to sleep but we couldn't until the band stopped playing

Room Tip: Check with Reception upon booking IF their is a function with music in their Convention Rooms or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shepparton hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parklake Shepparton
0.6 mi away
Shepparton Bell Tower Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Sherbourne Terrace
Quality Inn Sherbourne Terrace
#15 of 15 in Shepparton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Motor Inn
Courtyard Motor Inn
#5 of 15 in Shepparton
65 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Peppermill
Comfort Inn Peppermill
#12 of 15 in Shepparton
70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Wyndhamere Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Carrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Carrington

Property: Best Western Plus The Carrington
Address: 505 Wyndham Street, Shepparton, Greater Shepparton, Victoria 3630, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Carrington)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Shepparton > Shepparton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Shepparton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus The Carrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this charming hotel in Shepparton, a modern and vibrant region just two hours north of Melbourne. BEST WESTERN PLUS The Carrington is located in the heart of Shepparton and offers a range of accommodation options including family rooms, deluxe rooms, spa suites and a two-bedroom apartment. The spacious, contemporary, newly remodeled guest accommodations feature 42-inch LCD TVs, high-speed Internet, cable TV and full mini bar. Guests may also choose to take advantage of timely room service. Hotel facilities include an a la carte restaurant, conference facilities and an outdoor swimming pool. A full aquatic center and gymnasium is conveniently located opposite the hotel. Guests staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Carrington in Shepparton can enjoy the proximity to local attractions such as Lake Victoria, The Shepparton Art Gallery, Emerald Bank Heritage Farm, Lookout Tower and Reedy Swamp Wildlife Reserve. The friendly, helpful staff at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Carrington are ready to ensure a memorable stay in Shepparton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Carrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shepparton
Shepparton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing