We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”
Review of The Spanish Grill

The Spanish Grill
Ranked #34 of 119 Restaurants in Mildura
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Spanish Grill is Mildura's only dedicated steakhouse, located in the historic Mildura Grand Hotel. We believe fire in flavour! All our meats are cooked over our red gum and Mallee root grill, giving each premium cut it's unique flavour.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Went here for dinner this week on recommendation of a local and the best steak award. well 2 of us commentated how poor the steaks were in quality. Maybe we struck a bad night. In addition I don't think it's appropriate that an establishment of this type has paper napkins and tablecloths just smacks of cost cutting . Incidentally went to sosta in Adelaide the following night now that is a place that knows how to do a steak!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Inkylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBGMIL, Owner at The Spanish Grill, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi there,
It's not often we receive such disappointing feedback, your opinion means a great deal to us and we wish we could have resolved these concerns on the night.
We take great pride in the quality of our steak, and have won several state and national awards, which is why it’s difficult for us to hear this kind of feedback.
Regardless of awards, our sincere apologies that your dining experience with us did not live up to the reputation. Our team have sat down and discussed your comments and we have spoken to our butcher who assures us, there was nothing different in these cuts of meat.
All we can do at this point is apologise and thank you for the time you have taken to let us know your thoughts, and hope that one day you will try us again, we know you won’t be disappointed.
Thank you again,
Mandy & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    53
    29
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lured by the title of winning the best steakhouse restaurant in 2009 (from memory) I was looking forward to a great steak. We ordered a sirloin & an eye-fillet. The steaks were pretty good, but didn't blow me away. The disappointing things were the sides and the sauces. The mushroom sauce was like water & really lacking in flavour. The seasonal vegetables were bland & disappointing. But the real let-down was the onion rings. 4 single rings dipped in a batter that was way too heavy for $8!

We ate here two nights in a row because the first night was a 3 course set menu as part of the jazz festival. That was terrific. Antipasto followed by braised beef cheeks and an orange cake dessert that had a fancy name that I can't recall now. That was all really nice & sitting outside in the street to enjoy the jazz was a treat. It was the meal the next night in the actual steakhouse that didn't live up to the hype for us.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBGMIL, Owner at The Spanish Grill, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and my apologies for not responding sooner. All of your feed back was really helpful and has been discussed with our team. Thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Jazz Banquet on the street, but we were so disappointed that your experience on the second night in The Grill didn’t live up to your expectations. Our delivery of product, its flavour, presentation and value for money is of the utmost importance and we need to know if there is a problem. So, thank you again for raising these issues, we have looked into the sides and sauces since then we believe are just perfect now.
We look forward to welcoming when you may return again for the Jazz Food & Wines Festival in 2013; it is a marvelous time to enjoy Mildura.
Again, our sincere thanks for your time and feedback.
Happy reviewing
Mandy & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnum, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and wine. Enjoyable Evening”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening sitting out on a lovely balmy evening. We started with Leek sformato gorgonzola fondue which was very tasty. The 'specials' fish dish was beautifully served with an amazing mixture of tastes and textures. Our only negative was inexperience of our waitress who was pleasant and tried hard.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bembridge286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBGMIL, Owner at The Spanish Grill, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled you enjoyed your evening. The Duck Liver Pate has become a signature dish now and we'll be leaving it on the menu for some time yet....our guests are demanding this....and why not, it's superb. Maybe we'll see you again soon in Mildura?
Thanks again for your feedback.
Regards
Andy & Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dareton new south wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food, great service”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently had the great pleasure of attending the Spanish Bar and Grill; The staff were very attentative, without being in your face. We shared a starter of duck pate with fresh passionfruit, fabulous, then followed our steaks cooked to perfection, and melted in our mouths. A very memorable evening. For a special night out I recommend it. Seasons & Stefano's are also special, as is the Pizza Cafe love them all!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBGMIL, Owner at The Spanish Grill, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so very much for your feedback, we love hearing that your experience at The new Spanish Bar & Grill was so good!!, the Duck Pate and fresh passion fruit is amazing, perfect starter before you get stuck into an amazing steak off the Red Gum Mallee Root Grill!!...so much so we are keeping it on our new Spring into Summer menu starting this week....we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Ciao for now
Mandy & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good food and wine at good value prices, shame about the variable cooking standards”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed our meal here, with food (all steaks - their speciality), good value wines and excellent service. Our steaks were spoiled by the variable cooking - shouldn't be an issue at a restaurant of this quality.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBGMIL, Owner at The Spanish Grill, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing The new Spanish Bar & Grill, and we are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us.
We believe all feedback is vital to the ongoing success of our restaurant and for the continued development in reaching high standards for our customers. Your comments have been discussed with our team.
Once again, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest regards
Andy & Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spanish Grill also viewed

Mildura, Victoria
Mildura, Victoria
 

Been to The Spanish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing