We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Mildura Grand
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Mildura
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Went down there by myself and stayed for 3 nights. Was recommended this by a friend. I quite liked the vintage look and layout. Air conditioner was turned on before my arrival, on a 36 degree day that meant superb service. Rooms are nicely renovated and spacious. The restaurant next door has the great steak. Overall, great location, comfortable bed, couldn't ask for better.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Many thanks for your very good review and commenting on attention to detail by our housekeeping team. We aim to make all our guests' stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    205
    146
    47
    32
See reviews for
78
238
28
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Whilst it is the "Grand" Hotel. She is now very, very tired and in a serious need of a facelift. I have stayed here on a few occasions and it is not getting any better. Next stay we are going to try somewhere different, as we are semi-regular travellers to Mildura. On this visit I had what is obviously one of the better rooms, but it was still very tired and run down. The remote control for the heater/air con was missing its battery cover and they used duct tape which was falling off. The bathroom had cobwebs, the shower head was missing the ring at the tiles and you could see through the wall. The breakfast was only average - the bacon was cold and soggy, the poached eggs were very oily for some reason. The girl on the front desk, whilst not rude, was quite disinterested (maybe was at the end of here shift and was tired). The only real advantage that the Grand Hotel has is its proximity to good eateries. Overall experience was OK, but not great.

Room Tip: Room 47 overlooking the rose garden was one of the better ones I have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was so excited to stay at the Grand Hotel and once we finally arrived there was nobody at the front counter. I actually had to go and look for someone. Our room was a refurbished room on the top floor. It was nice the cleaning could have been better. There were water marks on the mirror in the bathroom which weren't wiped and the bathroom door was dirty. The shower was the worst ever! The water had no pressure what so ever and it would go from boiling hot to freezing cold. The buffet breakfast had a big variety of food and was very tasty. The lids to all the hot food need to be replaced though as they couldn't stand on their own so it made it diffucult to get your food onto your plate. After explaining the situation with the shower we were offered a spa suite. That sounds lovely however this room was a non refurbished room. Very latge but old. The carpet wasn't flat, chairs in the room were torn. The noise from the street is loud at night/

To say the least, very disappointed. It's a beautiful building and has lovely gardens. I think if more money was invested in the rooms this place could be a gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room with a shower head that works and don't stay at any of the front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natsta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mildura hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed for a two night package - overpriced and wanting in so may ways. There were issues on the night of dinner included with the package. We chose extras during the dinner so owed $s above what was included in the package and there was an 'issue' re us putting it on our room bill. When checking out they were perplexed as to why that should be so and were to give us feedback still waiting. Breakfast is below par - one read issue is filling tea cups out of hot pots and everyone jostling to and fro past children etc with hot cups.

Room Tip: Try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDT-36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The location is perfect, particularly for the best restaurants in town. The parking simple. The reception desk was efficient and knowledgeable. The room decoration was ok, but the windows needed cleaning and in some cases replaceing due to cracking. The bathroom was ok, but there was a smell, and the soap holder in the shower was broken. The beds were not very comfortable and in fact aggravated a bad back situation. As per others no porter available to take bags to the room.

Saturday night was noisy and the police were required to attend a situation outside very late. Broken sleep. Please do not let this detract you from stayin here as the alternatives are not that much better, and if you go out for dinner with wine one should not be diving.

Sunday morning fronted to breakfast at 10:00am to be berated for coming late, not service driven. Looked at other rooms, but all seemed to be much the same, and in need of some modernisation. Mionday was a better reception and acceptance that we were late. Coffee stewed abissmally and unable to get a fresh espresso.

Staff helpful and engaging.

Internet access a little difficult; had to go to the nearest direct modem access to log onto VPN in the corridor by the stairs. Would not work in the room.

Room Tip: Not sure what the best room would look like as they are all different. No noise is probably an inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapermezel, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for your positive feedback on the location, restaurants and parking at the hotel. It was a concern about the housekeeping, maintenance and comfort issues in the room you were staying, plus manner in which you were greeted for breakfast by a staff member. Maintenance and housekeeping are addressing the points you raised re your room. As a 4 star hotel, Porterage is not a standard but generally there is a staff member available to assist guests with their bags. We regret that this was not offered to you. Breakfast service is from 7.00am to 10.00am and is included in the room rate, however arriving on 10.00 should not entitle a staff member to ‘berate’ you for being late which we are looking in to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great position in town, but grand in name only. To live up to its name it is badly in need of a make-over.
Slow reception accessed by stairs, and almost non existent porter.
The property has obviously been expanded over the years, with changing levels, stairs but only one lift in one section, seemingly random room numbering. Very difficult finding your way around, and staff not very helpful.
Spacious room adj pool, but poorly ventilated. Bathroom quite dated.
In comparison I ate in the downstairs restaurant (from the foyer, accessed via a rabbit warren!). Both food and service superb. Best country dining I have had in ages.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tnuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapermezel, Director of Sales at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We’re proud of Quality Hotel Mildura Grand’s heritage and reputation as Mildura’s historic, art deco hotel, originally built over 100 years ago, and extended over the years to create an interesting maze of corridors and levels. We’re disappointed that a staff member was not helpful with directions which we’ll address. As a 4 star hotel, Porterage is not a standard but generally there is a staff member available to assist guests with their bags. Again, we’ll review why this was not offered to you. Re bathrooms, at this stage the majority of the hotel has been refurbished although there are some bathrooms which have received a modest make-over and priced accordingly for the budget conscious traveller. On your next visit to Mildura, please ring us personally so that we can ensure that we get your requirements right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Arrived to reception had to wait while staff took their time getting off the seat out the back room, (you could see them through the gap) was the same the next morning, Room badly in need of refurbishment, cupboards tried to be shabby chic but were just plain shabby, cupboard in front of fridge wouldn't shut, fridge wasn't serviced properly, half opened items from the previous guest still in it, TV remote didn't work properly, bedside lamp didn't work, mould in the shower recess, power point in the writing area didn't work, had to charge my phone in the bathroom, ended up moving the bedside table to use the power point for the lamp for my tablet and the carpet had been laid around the table, giant hole in the wall behind the table, very shabby. Shower taps turned off so tight that when you turned them on you were hit with cold water, configuration of the shower doesn't allow you to turn it on without getting wet. Only 2 heat lamps work, why have a luxury touch if guests cant benefit from it, then staff nagging at 9am to service the room while we were still getting ready for the day. No parking other than across the road in a public car park, was anxious al night as several car alarms went off and I got up each time to check my car - never again. Even the breakfast although nice the lids on the buffet warmers didn't stay up on their own and one crashed down on my plate while I was putting food on it, had to start again, management need to spend some money if they want repeat visitors.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, General Manager at Quality Hotel Mildura Grand, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Cath,

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback on your visit to the Hotel.

It was extremely disappointing to read such comments regards to your experience and your overall perception of our Hotel.
Whilst isolated maintenance issues will always come up from time to time I am very disappointed that you experienced so many during your stay.
I do hope that our staff were made aware at the time, so we had the opportunity to rectify the problems for you.

We pride ourselves on customer service and facilities and work very hard to maintain our heritage building to a high standard. Our aim is to always provide an enjoyable and comfortable experience to all our guests. Recent refurbishments in numerous of the wings of the building have been getting very positive reviews from our Guests which is pleasing.

It maybe reassuring for you and our other Guests to know that our offsite carpark is patrolled by security guards and the city also has CCTV cameras in the vicinity.

Thank you again for your honestly, I will discuss your comments with my maintenance and Housekeeping Team to ensure these isolated matters have been resolved.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back so we have the chance to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards,
Kelly Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mildura hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mildura
Mercure Hotel Mildura
#7 of 25 in Mildura
541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Chaffey International Motor Inn
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Deakin Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Resort Inlander Mildura
0.2 mi away
7th Street Motel
7th Street Motel
#4 of 25 in Mildura
189 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mildura Motor Inn
Mildura Motor Inn
#3 of 25 in Mildura
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Mildura Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Mildura Grand

Property: Quality Hotel Mildura Grand
Address: Seventh Street, Mildura, Victoria 3500, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mildura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mildura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Mildura Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Mildura Grand is an historic landmark with a contemporary outlook. A cross-section of services and facilities have been designed to suit individual guests needs. There is an extensive range of accommodation from specialty suites to simpler, yet equally comfortable rooms. Located within Quality Hotel Mildura Grand are six varied dining outlets. These include the award winning restaurant, Stefano’s, Spanish Bar & Grill, Seasons, Pizza Café, the Mildura Brewery Pub and Stefano's Cafe Bakery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Mildura Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mildura
Quality Inn Mildura
Grand Mildura
Quality Hotel Mildura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing