We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BIG4 Whiters Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Loved our stay!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights for a family get-together and we all ha an absolute ball. We have 2 children and found the facilities perfect. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin and it was very clean and big enough to not feel cramped etc. Our kids brought bikes/scooters and really enjoyed riding around out the front of the cabin. It was very flat and safe. We enjoyed the pool and the playground was a good size. Hired bikes and had a play in the games room. Julie at reception was friendly and helped with everything we needed. Loved it was close to everything - especially having the supermarket 1 minute drive away. Really enjoyed our stay and I'm sure will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solemn-Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    78
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
111
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Definately not worth the cost per night. We stayed in a family cabin which barely resembled the photos on the website at all. The cabin hadn't been cleaned properly, we found a mouldy chicken nugget under one of the couches and a coffee ring on one of the bedside tables. The floor was also dirty. The furniture was old and outdated and the tv barely had any reception. The outdoor patio furniture was filthy and there was rubbish and leaves gathered around the front doot mat. From what we could see, no effort was made to prepare the cabin for our stay, apart from the beds being made. The cabins are near the road, so we were kept awake for half of the night by traffic noise.
The staff seem very standoffish and were unwelcoming when we arrived. When we returned the key at the end of our stay, the reception staff didn't even have the courtesy to ask if we enjoyed our stay. The pool and playground areas are made to look large on the website, but in reality they are tiny. There is not much to do at this park if your children are over the age of four. There is a games room, but every game is coin operated - even the billiard table! There are also pedal operated go carts for the kids, but again there is a hire charge.
We paid the highest rate to stay at Whiters and the only perk was being within walking distance of the main street. Don't waste your time or money staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raven_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Whiters many times and we always come away saying 'that was great'. Beautiful, well maintained gardens, pools, amenities....and a very welcoming environment. We always recommend Whiters to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Garden Cottages...a home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife had stayed here many years ago as a child with her parents. We returned with her now 85 year old mother and although the property had changed dramatically over the years it was a special time for them.

Stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which had all the facilities you could need. Altough our cabin was next to a road it didn't impact greatly on us.

The unit was light and airy with air conditioning if needed. There was a 2nd TV in the main bedroom and it also had a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer and was clean and tidy.

The staff were very helpful and friendly with suggestions on restaurants and attractions in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Banksia cabins are good value (we payed $80 a night). They are clean and well maintained, we would have liked a DVD player, but other than that everything was what you would expect. Beds aren't the most comfy, but aren't the worst either. The park itself is very well maintained, very kid friendly and even on a 24 degree day, the medium size pool was at a good swimming temperature which was nice. I have stayed in the garden cottages on a previous stay and they were much nicer... but also twice the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in the Banksia cabin (their cheapest) for 3 nights over Australia Day weekend and I must admit the cabins were better than expected after reading other reviews. They are a little small but hey you are on holidays - you are not in it 24/7. Clean and comfortable beds - kids liked the bunks. The pool is great and the kids loved the go-carts and the games room with billard table, ping pong and air hockey. Park wasnt overcrowded at this time - suprisingly. Walking distance to some shops and supermarket and only a block from the beach. Mum and dad stayed in the Hibiscus cabin which is slightly bigger - i will probably get this one next time - it has the better airconditioner !!!! Not much difference between the 2. Both have new modern TV's.

Room Tip: Don't get any of the 4 Banksia cabins that back onto Whiters Street - a little noisy with traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We would love stay in Big4 again. Good services and clean. My kids were enjoyed playing in the pool. ;))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
They should increase the fridge size from small to large. if you are staying for a week you got lot of stuff to put in the fridge. specially with kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#6 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Esplanade Resort & Spa
Esplanade Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lakes Caravilla Caravan Park
Lakes Caravilla Caravan Park
#24 of 38 in Lakes Entrance
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eastern Beach Holiday Park
Eastern Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 38 in Lakes Entrance
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Coastal Waters Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Whiters Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Whiters Holiday Village

Property: BIG4 Whiters Holiday Village
Address: 55 Roadknight St, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Lakes Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Whiters Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Whiters Holiday Village has five acres of resort style cabin and caravan accommodation and family friendly facilities. We are situated two blocks from the main shopping centre and from the footbridge that leads to the famous 90-mile beach which is excellent for windsurfing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your BIG4 Whiters Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing