We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Goat and Goose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lakes Waterfront Motel(Lakes Entrance)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albatross Motor Inn(Lakes Entrance)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cunningham Shore Motel(Lakes Entrance)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Bar Motel(Lakes Entrance)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Central Hotel Motel(Lakes Entrance)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Esplanade Motel(Lakes Entrance)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
90
28
12
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
28
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoatthe main housesconesb bfour poster bedbass straitspa bathtop floorbreakfast was amazingprivate deckhost and hostessbreakfast is servedbiggest roomentire floorocean viewromantic weekendbig breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 140 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in the Gooses nest. Joy made us tea on our arrival and dropped us in to town for our evening meal. A lovely self contained room with veiws to amaze. We enjoyed the spa with a glass of wine and slept peacefully in the large four poster bed. Joy was the perfect host and cooks the best breakfast ever. Her scones are light and delicious. We would recommend a stay at the Goat and Goose for fantastic hospitality, wonderful veiws and wildlife.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harley100th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Goat and Goose for one night at the beginning of our touring holiday on the mainland. We were greeted by Joy's grandchildren who enthusiastically told us where we would be staying! Joy took over and we were shown the main house with its soaring ceiling and amazing views over to 90 mile beach and beyond. The house is full of Joys travel memorabilia and is a fest to the eye. We enjoyed delicious coffee and cake and then were taken to the Gooses Nest, a little self contained retreat with similar views to the main house. The accommodation was comfortable and private, the large spa within the main room is great fun as you can enjoy it and the view with a glass of wine, very nice. Much has been written about Joy's hospitality and I must agree with it all, Joy is a wonderful hostess, attentive, interesting and generous, she drove us down to our restaurant without hesitation and totally made us feel at home. I particularly enjoyed chatting with her and her delightful family, it was very relaxed and homely. I would recommend the Goat and Goose to anyone who wants to experience true Australian hospitality, it's a gem.

Room Tip: the Gooses nest is separate from the main house and therefore a little more private
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GloriaSome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband I stayed her for a weekend and we had the loveliest time. Joy was an absolute delight, nothing was too much trouble (finding us board games, directions for walks or a late breakfast).
The rooms are comfortable and have a bit of charm to them, and the view! it was wonderful.
We'll definitely go back in summer when it's a bit warmer.

All in all, very relaxing and pleasant.

Room Tip: The Gooses nest is away from the main house so you have a bit more privacy (although there are possums that run across the roof, so just be aware of that if you are a light sleeper)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

this was really a top quality 5* B&B Joy was very very welcoming nothing was to much trouble, the breakfast was simply fantastic, the home made scones were about the best I have ever tasted. Joy even feeds the parrots and parakeets so you can sit and watch them while having your own breakfast, or just look out over the fantastic ocean view, There may be cheaper places to stay in Lakes Entrance, but if you want proper service with a smile, one of the best views Australia has to offer and the best home made breakfast I've ever had, this is the place for you. The rooms were large and all with fantastic views, very very clean and tastfully decoracted. Joy reccomended the most fantastic place for dinner as well, could have moved in here we felt so much at home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougalDogHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by Joy--- we so enjoyed chatting with her at length. Her presence though, is unobtrusive; we were on our own in the evening, and felt that we were alone in the big house (we were the only guests). But we so enjoyed her knowledge and fun conversation when we arrived, and again at breakfast. I know she enjoys her guests immensely. She told us that she vicariously sees the world through the eyes of her guests. Room was very clean, and spacious with large bathroom; we were on the upper floor, which had a lovely and comfortable lounge with a spectacular view. Morning time we were treated to seeing birds on the porch at the feeder. Sadly, this was just a one stay for us... Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bass Strait room, on the top floor (but not that many stairs), and loved having the "lounge" adjacent. Room is much larger than it appears on the website pic, bathroom also large!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews