We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of Abel Tasman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abel Tasman Motel
Cobram, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at Abel Tasman as a holiday auction and were really satisfied. This is a great place to stay. Really quiet and not too far from the shops. Great walking distance to shops, eateries and beach. Room was large and kitchenette well stocked. Breakfast delivered through hatch on time. Plenty to eat. Bed was very comfortable. Heating worked well as it was cold outside.
Bathroom was large, shower good with nice hot water.
Hosts were helpful and friendly, very curteous.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Millgrove, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We loved this place - yes it is a little dated but it's spotlessly clean and tidy and has wonderful hosts who are so kind and helpful and thoughtful. Nothing was too much. Amazing 800 thread count sheets and soft Australian made Egyptian cotton towels. We also had a wonderful spa bath in our room, which was bliss to relax in and plenty of hot water. All of which in my opinion, made it a better place to stay than all the 5 star hotels that I have stayed in on business trips around Australia. Great location - away from the main strip but easily in walking distance of everywhere you'd want to go. A little noisy from the passing traffic at times but not impossible to ignore and all the other accommodation is on the main road as well. Great pool out the back along with a BBQ available to use. Loved talking to the Galah on the way past him each day. When we go back to Lakes Entrance, we will stay at Abel Tasman again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM13737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Abel Tasman as a stopover only. The Abel Tasman is a good place for a stopover only. We don't think this is a place where you could stay a week at.

The room was tidy & the shower was quite large with nice hot running water. The view is a good one however as this is situated on the Princes Hwy the noise was constant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrettJ2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had 5 rooms with friends over the long weekend. Motel is a little dated but clean and comfortable, with flat screen TV / DVD player and air con. Kitchenette was stocked well with cutlery etc coffee/tea provided, microwave, some had ovens and a Mini bar. Beach view from room and balcony. Rooms were serviced daily and nothing was a problem with the owners, very friendly. BBQ area was small but well equipped. Weather was disapointing so we didnt get chance to use the pool.
Accross the road from beach and short stroll to shops, cafes and restaurants.
Enjoyed our stay and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for the seventh year as we headed off to Mallacoota and its a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, bathroom spotless, great to walk down to the shops but be away from all the hype .It's all we needed for one night. Can be a little noisy at night with the traffic but quite bearable. price is very reasonable and I can recommend the friendly host, Tanya. Will help with information and amenities in the room. A great stay.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petits-pois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very pleased with the room and amenities. Good positon just outside of town. Tanya at the front reception was just lovely. 10 minutes and you at the beach, ice cream shop across the road, what more can you ask for? Four days in Lakes Entrance and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

the able tasman is quite dated but working aircon, flat screen tv and a large shower where great. It has a decent pool for dipping only and features a gallah that had been rescued from certain death its location is excellently situated at the walkbridge end of town making the cross to the real beach easy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
1.2 mi away
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
#12 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cunningham Shore Motel
Cunningham Shore Motel
#4 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Coastal Waters Motor Inn
1.0 mi away
Harbour Views
Harbour Views
#17 of 38 in Lakes Entrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#6 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abel Tasman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abel Tasman Motel

Property: Abel Tasman Motel
Address: 643 - 645 Esplanade, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Lakes Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abel Tasman Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abel Tasman Motor Lodge (AAA 3½ Star) goal is to make your stay a highly satisfying and memorable experience and the following features are available for guests: all rooms have lake views; fully serviced spacious suites with queen beds; kitchenette suites with microwave and cooking facilities(Hot plate & Grill Some with Ovens); quiet remote control split system heating/cooling; Free guest laundry (washing and drying); off- street parking; 32 inch televisions, DVD players in all rooms; Over 500 Complementary DVDs available from reception; sunny, secluded, sheltered, solar heated pool; outside undercover Free barbecue and eating area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Abel Tasman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing