We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and perfect area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Central Hotel Motel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and perfect area”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for two nights before Xmas. First thing that I noticed was that it was easy to find and great parking. When getting the keys, the lady at the desk was soooo nice, helpful and just a joy to talk to. The cleaning lady was also in there, she informed me that she had just cleaned the floors so to be careful, which was nice to see they clean the floors!. Went to the room which was big and clean. The kitchen was new and was big. The bathroom was clean and new looking. We just loved it. There is only 3 things that I could be picky about...the air con was very loud!. On Monday morning the dump trucks come right near the rooms..sooooo loud. And last thing was the shower, it was very hard to get the right temp, it was hot or cold so it took await to get it right.

We will be back! And thank you for all your help!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazza16kayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have stayed here on two occasions now ... and realised i wont be staying again..the bathroom was newish looking, soap was very budget and it was dirty with think brown grime in sink and smelt, hairs everywere... alot of hair in a big bundle stuck in shower, drain, all switches were dirty, i wanted a drink and got a glass from fridge and it was filthy. Then we were kept awake all night due to a group having a big fight in the room under us ..nobody did a thing about .....not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julienmelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonB975, Owner at The Central Hotel Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Your feedback has left us quite sad and dissapointed. We take pride in the cleanliness of our Motel rooms and find it hard to beleive you found it in the state you are describing. Im sure we would have more bad reviews if this was the case. As for the disturbance in the room below, management dealt with this as soon as they became aware of it. The people causing the trouble were not guests in the Motel, and came from the street. Management dealt with the people concerned and evicted the guests from the room immediatly. We are sorry this happened during your stay, this is the first time this has happened in the last 5 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lakes Entrance hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place was a hidden gem.
Went there for lunch yesterday and had a good lunch for very liitle money.
They have meals starting from as little as $9!
I had the soup and sanga for $12 and it was very good.
It was the biggest bowl of soup I have ever had - potato and leek with a toasted ham,cheese and tomato sandwich made with very thick bread.
The food was tasty and filling and the service was good. Definitely worth a second visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonB975, Owner at The Central Hotel Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback, the "Soup and Sanga" Deal has been very popular in our Bistro during the winter months, see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to the Central Hotel for a couple of drinks, I bought 2 pints of beer, 1 white wine and 2 packets of chips and it cost me $35, where do you people get off, do you think we are stupid, we are for paying this sort of money, you won't see us back there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petenwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonB975, Owner at The Central Hotel Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, our pricing is as follows:
2 Pint Carlton Draught $16.80 ($8.40 each)
1 Glass white wine ($7.50 for NZ Sauv Blanc) House wine is $5.00
Packet of chips $3.50 x 2 is $7.00
Total = $31.30
These are average pub prices these days.
Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I have been to Lakes Entrance on many ocassions( app 8 times), and have stayed at a number of differant motels. Now we have stayed at the central hotel 4 times.
The staff are so friendly they now treat us as a local. The accomadation was quite good $99/nite plus a buy one get one free at the bistro. Realy it can not be faulted.
At one of our stays approx 12 months ago, we went on a lake cruise with lunch included and had a fantastic time. The cruise went to a place called Metung, we were so impressed that we ended up buying a block of land and we are going to build a house there very shortly even the staff at the hotel know about it.Now if you have not been then you must walk the boardwalk with the water and fishing boats and cafe on the water, it is so relaxing that my blood pressure went down to normal after beeing high for some time. We have now been back twice in 2 months and are going there to live. See you there soon

Room Tip: all rooms are around the pool. there are only 16 rooms the beach is accros the road over the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxed082010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here recently for a weekend with a fair few of us staying as we had a funeral to go to. With such a large amount of us - about 5 rooms all up, the staff were very helpfull and friendly, and considering we were a rather loud bunch not once did we get told off or felt uncomfortable. The pool area was great for the kids aswell! The rooms are basic and have a great little kitchenette. Great location on main street right across the road from the river and backs onto the restaurant which has great food and music later in the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were in Lakes Entrance over the Melbourne Cup weekend and dined here on Monday night. The food was delicious! We started with the ribs and calamari: the meat on the ribs was so tender it fell off the bone. The calamari was fresh and tasty. For main we had the chicken parma which was very tasty and not your usual pedestrian chicken parma - and the grilled fish which was fresh and delicious. I'd like to commend this place for it's excellent kids meal of "tomato pasta" - which sounded so simple but was absolutely delicious. So many restaurants serve up kids meals which are ordinary. This dish was simple but so tasty - our daughter devoured most of it - and then hubby and I devoured the little that remained ;) Thanks for a lovely meal!!
One suggestion though: please take your side salads to the next level. We were served an ample amount of salad with our main meals (which is great for me who loves salad) but the dressing lacked flavour and most of it remained on the plate. A very small thing to improve but this would have made the meal superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYML18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
#13 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#9 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Coastal Waters Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Lakes Waterfront Motel
Lakes Waterfront Motel
#3 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bamboo Motor Inn
Bamboo Motor Inn
#11 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel Motel

Property: The Central Hotel Motel
Address: 321 Esplanade, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Central Hotel, located on the waterfront of Victoria's Gippsland Lakes, is in the center of town, close to all of the popular tourist attractions and shops. We offer a range of 3 1/2 star accommodation styles to suit all needs and budgets available in single, twin, double and family rooms. All rooms encircle our private outdoor pool and spa. Enjoy a meal in our bistro which specialises in fresh local seafood, Gippsland prime beef and local beer & wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Central Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing