We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable & welcoming”
Review of Bamboo Motor Inn

Bamboo Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bamboo Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Clean, comfortable & welcoming”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

A great little spot. When we rang, John advised that he was totally booked out but assured us that he'd be able to sort something out for us. When we arrived he suggested we go for a walk to get some lunch while he figured out our diggings. Upon our return he showed us to a beaut little corner room. Whilst there was no view, it was dead quiet - which was just what we needed.. The free wifi & BBQ were just an added bonus. Highly recommend this place for short or long stays.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heretic4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments It is always great to have confirmation that we continue on the right track - Straight forward clean rooms with a little bit of extra effort . We hope to see you, your friends or family back here in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
43
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Located right in the heart of town, very clean room and got a very good sleep.

Ideal for an overnight stay and to be close to the local shops and piers.

No views though but basic needs met.

Clean and spacious rooms, big TV in rooms. Close and convenient car parking.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLukic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review . Your experience is what we endeavor to achieve with all our guests and hope you will return. Please recommend us to friends and family who may be coming this way .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for a weekend at the Bamboo Inn in early Sept. 2013. John, the owner was delightful and extremely helpful with suggestions of places of interest to visit and great recommendations of restaurants.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped with free wifi.
The Motel is situated right across the road from one of the jetty's and a leisurely stroll to the main shops .. a very central location.
A fantastic weekend and would highly recommend the Bamboo Inn, very reasonably priced. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
It is always a pleasure to provide for our guests and achieve a great outcome. We very much appreciate your positive review. Thank you and it is hoped you and it is hoped you will return .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've been on the road for 3 weeks and stayed in reasonably priced places literally all across Australia. This is by far the most comfortable, cleanest, friendliest place so far. The man at the front desk was very personable and willing to help. We also had breakfast at reception the next morning, which he cooked for us fresh. Breakfast was only $15 per person when we were there and the coffee was great! Thanks for a great stay! We will highly recommend the Bamboo Motor Inn

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan Juc, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We Stayed overnight at Bamboo Motor Inn and or room was clean comfortable and had all that we needed. We found the owner John extremely helpful and friendly. Mum was a little cold so John quickly found extra blankets and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast came on time and John will even make you a delicious hot pod coffee. A lovely position just across from the Jetty and a leisurely stroll into and around the town. Thanks John!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANNE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I found this motel very nice to stay at. The owners are super friendly and provided everything that l needed. The rooms were really clean and comfortable and it was quiet. Straight across the road from the jetty and Pete and l had a great time chatting to the locals. I topped it off with a 50cm flathead off the Jetty. We also caught prawns straight across the road. Take a light with you and a prawn net this is awesome fun. It will be our motel when we head through Lakes Entrance in future. The rates were great for what we got. Ok l would have liked a microwave in the room to heat dinners but that is just me. They have a lovely little bbq area kept lovely and clean and that has a gas cooker bit which did suit me fine for my purpose. I was very happy and thank you guys for the experience. They even gave up their private parking so we could comfortably fit the troopy and boat in. That was a lovely jesture. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are really happy that your stay was so enjoyable and that we were able to contribute to that. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay again in the not too far distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

To be honest we were a bit skeptical when we booked with the Bamboo Motor Inn post referring to all the TA reviews. But everything went very well. Thanks to John who was extremely helpful and accommodating. We were late in booking at Lakes Entrance but John had one single room left for the Saturday and he assured us he would move us to a larger room on Sunday, which he did. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, there were sufficient tea, coffee sachets, the location is fantastic, overlooking the Esplanade and right at the centre of town, there are arrangements for BBQs' although we did not use it, the car park space was decent, the Queen suite is pretty large for 2 people and designed well. John, himself made us feel right at home from the onset and we cant thank him enough for all the suggestions he made, spending time with us in helping us build our itinerary. Overall, Lakes Entrance was a fantastic trip and John's hospitality@ Bamboo was the icing on the cake! Thank you John! We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter simply because the location of Bamboo is on the main thoroughfare and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are particularly pleased that you had a great weekend and we succeeded in exceeding your expectations. We are keen where possible to help our guests to have an experience in Lakes Entrance that will be remembered for the right reasons and we try hard to achieve this.
It is hoped you can visit again or recommend us to friends
Best regards John

We hope that those in the tripadviser community reading this will realise that with a motel of this size , type and price range expectations need to be realistic and we always listen to our guests and try to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
#12 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allambi Holiday Apartments Lakes Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#9 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#6 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Coastal Waters Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Motor Inn

Property: Bamboo Motor Inn
Address: 167 Esplanade, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront within easy reach of all that Lakes Entrance has to offer. The Bamboo Motor Inn is an independant better than 3 star self rated motel providing a range of unpretentious comfortable and clean no smoking ground level accommodation for individuals, couples and families with room capacities of up to 6 guests. For travellers wanting overnight or longer stays in standard rooms or self catering suites our rooms meet 98% of guests expectations. Our room descriptions and pictures are guaranteed accurate and are expected to meet and surpass 98% of guests expectations for quality and value for this class of accommodation with free parking, excellent tray service breakfasts, charge back meals, 24hr check in facilities, laundry service, internet access and covered carpeted colonnade and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bamboo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing