We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy to stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bamboo Motor Inn

Bamboo Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bamboo Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very happy to stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I found this motel very nice to stay at. The owners are super friendly and provided everything that l needed. The rooms were really clean and comfortable and it was quiet. Straight across the road from the jetty and Pete and l had a great time chatting to the locals. I topped it off with a 50cm flathead off the Jetty. We also caught prawns straight across the road. Take a light with you and a prawn net this is awesome fun. It will be our motel when we head through Lakes Entrance in future. The rates were great for what we got. Ok l would have liked a microwave in the room to heat dinners but that is just me. They have a lovely little bbq area kept lovely and clean and that has a gas cooker bit which did suit me fine for my purpose. I was very happy and thank you guys for the experience. They even gave up their private parking so we could comfortably fit the troopy and boat in. That was a lovely jesture. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are really happy that your stay was so enjoyable and that we were able to contribute to that. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay again in the not too far distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
43
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

To be honest we were a bit skeptical when we booked with the Bamboo Motor Inn post referring to all the TA reviews. But everything went very well. Thanks to John who was extremely helpful and accommodating. We were late in booking at Lakes Entrance but John had one single room left for the Saturday and he assured us he would move us to a larger room on Sunday, which he did. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, there were sufficient tea, coffee sachets, the location is fantastic, overlooking the Esplanade and right at the centre of town, there are arrangements for BBQs' although we did not use it, the car park space was decent, the Queen suite is pretty large for 2 people and designed well. John, himself made us feel right at home from the onset and we cant thank him enough for all the suggestions he made, spending time with us in helping us build our itinerary. Overall, Lakes Entrance was a fantastic trip and John's hospitality@ Bamboo was the icing on the cake! Thank you John! We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter simply because the location of Bamboo is on the main thoroughfare and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are particularly pleased that you had a great weekend and we succeeded in exceeding your expectations. We are keen where possible to help our guests to have an experience in Lakes Entrance that will be remembered for the right reasons and we try hard to achieve this.
It is hoped you can visit again or recommend us to friends
Best regards John

We hope that those in the tripadviser community reading this will realise that with a motel of this size , type and price range expectations need to be realistic and we always listen to our guests and try to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Friends and I booked at night at Bamboo Motor Inn for our long weekend trip. We had a double with two single beds, room is clean and comfortable but one of single bed is a way too soft and very springy. Other than that location wise is excellent and owner is friendly and helpful. We kicked back and enjoyed a nice BBQ with beers. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for drawing our attention to the soft mattress which we immediately replaced. We certainly look forward to your return and hope you will recommend us to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We traveled from Melbourne to Sydney staying at 6 different motels. The bamboo was the best. The rooms were well equipped and the location excellent. The owner was most helpful and friendly and made us really welcome. He recommended the best fish and chips in town and they were excellent

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandBeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your review .Your positive comments are well received and reflect what we try to achieve with every guest. It is hoped you can visit us again and we really appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We didn’t have much choice with accommodation in Lakes Entrance as we required only one night in peak holiday time. Having read previous reviews we thought the Bamboo would be fine. The room was basic and clean. But we couldn’t lock/snib the sliding screen door from inside, and as we like fresh air at night this was a problem. The owner could not understand that we were concerned about a lack of a lock. It was assumed that everyone uses the air-conditioning. But the air conditioner was so noisy we couldn’t have slept with it on, so in the end placed things just inside the door and slept with it unlocked. Others have mentioned the basin in the bedroom, but this didn’t worry us. However, the fridge was just plonked by a power point, the table was on the other side of the room and half covered by the hospitality tray (no tea towel and only 1 teaspoon for three cups) which we had to move when we wanted to use the table. The jug didn’t fit under the tap, the TV remote had no batteries and the smoke detector was beeping. Both sets of batteries were cheerfully replaced. We had one half of a large family group in the room next to us – the other half was at the end of the motel so we had children running back and forth between the rooms and people calling to each other from outside one room to the other. Why the group weren’t assigned adjacent rooms is a mystery.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We regret that we failed to meet your expectations but would draw your attention to the following which may mitigate your criticism. We are proud to show rooms to potential guests which we certainly offered in this case as we want every guest to be satisfied with their choice. We have rooms with six different styles and configurations and levels of appointment featuring different types of air conditioning reverse cycle and inverter the former being noisier but none the less effective. Some rooms feature lockable sliding windows and entry doors for ventilation with screen doors on the outside and fire regulations do not permit these doors to be lockable from the inside. Our vanity basins have swivelling central nozzle to accommodate kettle filling. The bleeping smoke alarm indicated that the battery backup had been removed as were the batteries from the tv remote and these were replaced immediately it was drawn to our attention. We do advise guests that they should notify us of any shortages on room inventory so that these can be corrected.
In January -peak season we operate full to full with mostly prebookings and a few walk-ins like yourselves with the mix of room configurations ,and multiple day stays it is not always possible to allocate rooms ideally for the individual one night guest but without full information on all these variables it may be difficult to understand. Be assured we try to achieve an optimum solution wherever possible.
Advance booking would allow you more choice in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My family of 2 adults, 1 8yr old and 1 4yr old stayed in a 2 room unit for 3 nights over Xmas from 27th to 30th December 2012.

The room was configured as a 4 person family accommodation, and had 1 queen and 2 single beds.

Pros:
1. Well located along the Lakes Entrance Esplanade.
2. Comfortable beds with clean linen.
3. Decent shower with good pressure.
4. Free Internet.

Cons:

1. They squash two single beds into the kitchen area, and there's no room left for a table or chairs except for two stools under the kitchen bench. We found it impossibly difficult with more than 2 people - nowhere to sit to eat or relax except for the beds for more than 2 at a time! Can't watch TV except from beds as there is nowhere to sit. Ended up eat eating on the beds as well.

2. The kitchen taps were leaking. Drip, drip, drip all night! The managers solution for second night - a collindar with a towel in it (the manager told us that a plumber can't be raised on short notice...).

3. We noticed a disgusting smell from toilet starting on second morning, which turned out to be a leak dripping contaminated water over the toilet/bathroom floor. The managers solutions: an ice cream container to catch the dripping contaminant. Great. Didn't help the smell. And he again told us that he couldn't raise an emergency plumber within our stay.

4. A shower needs soap. Proper soap, not a liquid soap dispenser, which is all they have in the shower and the wash basin (the latter of which is in the main bedroom rather than the bathroom/toilet).

5. No pool.

6. Tiny car places.

7. No door to main bedroom - I feel that this used to be a single bedroom accommodation, but the kitchen area has been 'repurposed' - thus no table and chairs, and cram in the extra beds...

8. To get to shower or toilet it's right through the main bedroom. To wash hand it's out into the main bedroom where the only sink outside the kitchen...

9. $220 peak per night for a 3 star self rated accommodation! This is NOT a 3 star in my opinion, but it's priced as if it is...

10. Very small loving area; even more so with the kitchen area crammed with 2 extra beds.

My recommendation: Avoid.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theexecutioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We regret you found our accommodation unsatisfactory . Sometimes in spite of making every effort to correct situations'particularly when we were unable to offer a room change to another configuration due to being fully booked, we fail to achieve a satisfactory solution for which we apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have been staying a few motels while travelling to Merimbula, but this motel is the worst motel that we have been! The room is too small ! I don't think it should cost $ 145 per night for family suit for 4.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phuongdiem306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john B, Owner at Bamboo Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
It would be of assistance if you could be more specific by contacting me directly as to where we failed to meet your expectations since we fiercely defend our position as the best value friendliest accommodation in Lakes Entrance and at the time of your stay in peak season we were certainly the cheapest, providing a 28msq spotlessly clean unit with central dividing wall,comfortable double bed and 2 singles with powerful hot shower and crockery,cutlery,microwave, 140 litre fridge all modern clean bedding with a level of service that surpasseds that expected of a 4 star hotel so fail understand what could have caused such a negative review. Perhaps you would like to compare your review with those of others who stayed at this motel and consider if your assessment was fair or even relevant . We do not recommend overcrowding the units with additional guests as this may lead to discomfort and an additional occupancy charge when substantiated by CCTV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
#13 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allambi Holiday Apartments Lakes Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#9 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#6 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coastal Waters Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Motor Inn

Property: Bamboo Motor Inn
Address: 167 Esplanade, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront within easy reach of all that Lakes Entrance has to offer. The Bamboo Motor Inn is an independant better than 3 star self rated motel providing a range of unpretentious comfortable and clean no smoking ground level accommodation for individuals, couples and families with room capacities of up to 6 guests. For travellers wanting overnight or longer stays in standard rooms or self catering suites our rooms meet 98% of guests expectations. Our room descriptions and pictures are guaranteed accurate and are expected to meet and surpass 98% of guests expectations for quality and value for this class of accommodation with free parking, excellent tray service breakfasts, charge back meals, 24hr check in facilities, laundry service, internet access and covered carpeted colonnade and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing