We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very rude customer service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakes Entrance
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goldsmith's in the Forest
Ranked #4 of 11 Lakes Entrance B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2013

i just called to ask about their room, customer service answer and ask how many people is it for i said im not sure, about 3-5 people and i said i just need a room with 2 queen size bed, then she chuckled a bit and said 'no no no no no no, ok goodbye'
the worst phone conversation with receptionist ever!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank dim612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsmithsforest, Owner at Goldsmith's in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

We are a romantic/ rainforest B & B not a motel or backpackers, we do not have rooms with 2 queen beds, The answer to that request has to be no, he is asking for something we do not physically have. While the caller was unsure of how many people would be in his party it was not possible to tell him if we had vacancies for an unknown number. Being a small B and B we limit the number of guests on the property to ensure they all get fair access to the Spa and Sauna thus we need to know how many guests are inquiring. We offered queen and single rooms and would have suggested other places to try had the caller been cooperative rather than talking over the owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Goldsmith's in the Forest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 31 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

So, we wanted something to counter the two city trip we were doing, and we could not have found better.

You know you must have something pretty unusual when you have to drive for 15 minutes off the highway to get there.....once we arrived we found a wonder haven of tranquility.

Lovely log fire burning and lovely greeting from Les and Darylin. Things just got better - lovely lounge area and very comfortable bedroom - everything you could need, plus views into the forest.

We had noted that as it was a little of the beaten track we should consider having dinner there and wow, was that a good move. Darylins cooking is superb - it would put many good restaurants to shame. Wonderful rack of lamb with a lovely sauce and fresh local veggies. Home made bread too, followed by a desert to die for.

Utterly quiet nights sleep and then an equally fine breakfast from Darylin. Les then gave us the tour of the forest area - really great to see to native flora and fauna.

All in all just superb - if you fancy getting away from it all then this is the place for you - highly recommended.

Room Tip: All are great!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugby-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

we had three nights at Goldsmith's in the Forest, it was great, the rooms wer nice and clean and the hosts really know the area. There were wombats in the garden and Les has set up a wombat cam so you can see them. This is a really great B&B and the food is good and I have put on some weight. I would recommend this B&B. Great stay.
Breakfast was the best meal of the day, thank you Darylin.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed with them for two nights en route to our daughter’s wedding, (and if you are reading this Les and Darylin, everything worked out well).
B&B web sites can be misleading, all too often you choose something that looks good and find when you get there that reality does not live up to the promise. That is not the case with Goldsmith’s. Other reviewers have written about the superb quality of the accommodation, Darylin's wonderful cooking, Les's warm greetings, that in this oasis of tranquillity you are surrounded by so much of Australia’s flora and fauna. All that they have written is justified & may even be understated.
My only criticism is not with them or the accommodation. It is with myself; a two nights stay is not long enough to fully experience and enjoy all that this place has to offer. A week would not be excessive! How many places can one say that about? And to adequately describe Darylin’s cooking (such a crude word compared with the culinary delights she produces) one should be a restaurant critic. How does Les manage to control his weight? If you are lucky (read wise) enough to stay here DO NOT GO OUT FOR DINNER!

Room Tip: They are all good, don't worry about it.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon_Bennet_senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Staying with Les and Darylin was an excellent decision as they nurture the old spirit of the B&B culture: To receive you with the same enthusiasm and warmth as if we were old friends. Les was a great guide teaching us to smell the different odors of the plants, to hear the birds and to see rare animals. In spite of the fact that we forgot to make a dinner reservation, Darylin served us a two course menu, which was indeed a third course menu, with wonderful vegetables from her garden and rare ingredients were never heard of before, like black garlic. We really recommend to stay in this B&B as it was our Nr. 1 during our trip in Australia.

Room Tip: In theory in summer the back rooms are less hot. We choose a front room as the view was nicer.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Spectacular location in the peace and solitude of the forest. Birds all around, and the opportunity to explore. Friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming hosts. Superb home made breakfast. Heartily recommended for a complete getaway, conveniently close to Lakes Entrance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This accommodation is beautifully located in the middle of the forest, just a few km away from Lakes Entrance. It is the ideal place to get away from a busy tourist place and enjoy fascinating birds in their natural habitat, while still very close to spectacular beaches. Getting up early in the morning and watching the forest come to life was a highlight in our trip to Australia.
The 4 rooms are part of a separate building, designed and built only for the guests. There are numerous spots you can watch the surrounding forest from: the deck, the comfortable seating by the lounge window, the kitchen window, the breakfast table, or just your bed.
The room was clean and nice, with en-suite bathroom and all facilities we needed. Darylin and Les came over every morning and Darylin prepared awesome breakfasts. We also chose to have Darylin cook for us dinner twice and and greatly enjoyed her delicious meals, especially the lamb and the seafood.
Les took us on a walk on their property, explaining all about the trees and the plants and the birds. We were astonished about how knowledgeable he was and also about the marvellous pictures he had taken over the years. Darylin and Les were great hosts, not only they spoiled us while we were there, but they also helped us with our further planing and accommodation booking. It felt more like visiting family rather than staying at a B&B. We liked the place so much, that we extended our original stay of 2 nights with 1 more night.
We highly recommend not only the accommodation, but also Darylin's home made meals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aotearoa_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
2.7 mi away
Esplanade Resort & Spa
Esplanade Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Lakes Entrance
564 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#6 of 17 in Lakes Entrance
400 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#7 of 17 in Lakes Entrance
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 17 in Lakes Entrance
132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lakes Caravilla Caravan Park
Lakes Caravilla Caravan Park
#26 of 39 in Lakes Entrance
22 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Coastal Waters Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldsmith's in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsmith's in the Forest

Address: 191 Harrisons Trk, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lakes Entrance
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest retreat with abundant birdlife to see from the deck on guided bush flavour and sound walks in the 3 different forest types, or whilst relaxing in the forest spa. Fine food, local produce and Aussi bush flavours. The accommodation is set on 60 acres of covenant protected rainforest. For couples, ensuite rooms, sauna, clawfooted bath and Spa. Wood fire for winter pleasure and comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing