We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waverley House Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in a cottage that we had booked for nearly twelve months. The first night I raised concerns with the owner/host that there was a knocking noise rendering sleep impossible. Attempts were made to fix it, whilst the frequency of the noise was reduced it remained intermittently. My husband then raised the problem the following day only to be told that nothing could be done because "all the plumbers are on holiday", the noise was worse the second night. To say there are sea views is a stretch and the race track road that the cottage backs on to contradicts the advertised "peaceful setting". At $250 a night for hardly any sleep we feel extremely ripped off.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank fee_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Customer satisfaction will always be a priority and it is true when alerted at 11.30pm our guests had this issue we did attempt to hear the knocking noise reported - not easy in very windy conditions. However eventually we did, secured a cable and felt all was well at 1am. We checked and again heard a noise the next morning and wondered if it it could be a plumbing issue as lots of water had been used washing, spa etc. Being New Year we did indeed warn the guest getting a tradesperson immediately might be difficult.It was attended to and nothing further was said to us re a problem the second night by guests on departure so this review comes as a surprise to us. We stand by all other features of our cottages but do acknowledge when at Christmas/New Year the town population trebles, traffic on our roads increase and could be an issue with light sleepers (the previous review is of a cottage next to this one and expresses a different opinion)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 124 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a perfect getaway in this beautiful, serene accommodation. We stayed in the Cunninghame cottage for our family of 4 (2 adults + 2 young kids). The place is clean, tidy and well equipped with all the necessity for a family. The kids enjoyed the spa in the cottage and the warm pool.
the cottage is spacious and beds are comfortable. the older reviews about stained waters is not true as the water is clean and clear when we were there.
location is great, short drive to the main beach and yet secluded in its own area. we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magdelin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

During the busy Christmas season, it is lovely to one of our guests has taken the time to review us - thank you so much and we certainly welcome you and the children back soon. Oh and the photos are nice too. I like the one with our Christmas bow on the front door, have never remembered to photograph the cottages "dressed for Christmas!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Upon arrival at Waverly House Cottages we were met with a lovely welcoming letter from our hosts Robin and Jan as we arrived late at night they were fully prepared for us, our cottage "Fish Pen" was awaiting our arrival with the curtains drawn, heater going, and the fire stacked and ready to be lit, exactly what we needed after driving several hours!

The "Fish Pen" cottage was extremely well presented, very clean, and provided us with everything we needed, from wine glasses to bathrobes!

Hosts Robin and Jan go beyond expectations providing the cottage with any information you could possibly ask for in regards to your stay at Waverly House Cottages, and also in regards to Lakes Entrance with meal recommendations, to a stack of ideas of what you can get up too!

The point behind our trip was a relaxing get away, this is exactly what the Waverly House Cottages offers, only a minutes drive from the main town of Lakes Entrance, the property is nestled away in the trees, providing peace and serenity. You aren't effected by traffic or noise at all.

All in all, we were very happy with our decision to stay in the "Fish Pen" and would strongly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

We are so glad your chance to get away and relax met expectations and thank you - feedback is always appreciated. I will pass on your comments to our hardworking staff too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

After having researched and booked a couple of months in advance, we were excited to head to Lakes Entrance for the weekend. After ringing to let them know we'd be late, we arrived at the cottages to find a message waiting for us. Heading to the cottage we found that the owners had been to shut the curtains, turn on the split system and turn the lights on for us. Just what you need after travelling in the car for four hours- to walk into a warm place!!

The cottage (Salmon Company) was awesome. Neat, clean, tidy. The king bed was comfortable, the bathroom and kitchen clean, the lounge room spacious and the wood fire divine. The owners were friendly, making sure everything was good the next morning and having a chit chat. We used the spa on the Saturday afternoon and found that it was clean and easy to use. Plus we had it to ourselves for a whole hour- heaven!

Overall, we had a fantastic time. We loved everything about the cottage, the owners were friendly and easy to talk to, the facilities are great. Although they are out of town, we enjoyed the peace and quiet in the natural bush setting. We'd definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Although we only stayed in one cottage, all of them look fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasey177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us - we do appreciate the feedback and your guestbook comments were very much appreciated too. it will be lovely to welcome you both again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Spacious and clean cottages. A few disadvantages: (1) we have never seen the owners of the property, not when arriving nor when departing (2) the cottages itself are located quite far from the village center and close to a road (3) when taking a bath, the water was dark.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

What a shame you were one of our international guests who we missed meeting. We live on site and I feel like I'm always at the office - however if you were only here briefly, out seeing our beautiful region or arrived late, left early it is possible we don't cross paths. As you would have found there is always a message left for you if for some reason we have to be elsewhere briefly.
I do hope you enjoyed your visit to Australia and of course you are very welcome to stay again - the road we are on is not a major road out of Lakes Entrance so shouldn't have been too noisy though January is the peak summer season so it would have more visitors using it.
As to our rainwater - regretfully when we have had lots of heavy rain the tannin staining from surrounding gum trees is hard to prevent ( there was a sign in the cottage explaining the water was totally safe to use but aesthetically not so good) While we will always use rainwater for environmental reasons we are excited that after many years of living with tanks only, the town water supply will also be connected this year so we will be able to control the water quality at last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Location:
Good, right on the hill, surrounded by lots of trees, and can see the water on a clear day. Although it's a good 30 mins walk into town.

Rooms/Property:
Average, spaceous, we stayed in the cunningham (no. 4), can easily accommodate 2 couples or a small family. The only downside with this cottage is it's right next to the main road, and can be noisy at times.

Amenities:
Below average. At this price range, i was expecting good quality handwash, it was supermarket variety. There wasn't any shampoo, body wash nor conditioner. Cooking facility for self catering was adequate, although i would suggest to bring your own cooking oil, salt and pepper - they are available at the property, but i'm questioning their freshness. Breakfast provisioning were a couple Kellog's cereal packs, and 4 slices of white (tip top?) bread - no thanks. Dishwashing detergent was barely enough, i appreciate that it's just a phone call away to have some more, but why?. Next was the water, the property uses rain water which is great from the environmental/conservation perspective - would i drink it straight from the tap? I don't think so. Coffee plunger is available, but no coffee? There is no ipod dock nor cd player; There is a flat pannel TV with good reception. Beds are comfortable and clean. The air conditioner is only in the main living area.

Overall, we were paying above average price and underwhelmed by what being offerred. Having said that, it's probably the best that Lakes Entrance can offer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekxplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property - while it is nice you felt ours was likely to be the best available in Lakes Entrance, I assure you there is a range of accommodation types in Lakes Entrance and the Gippsland Lakes which may well have met your particular likes.
We do believe at $AU210.00 per night, accommodation in a fully equipped two bedroom cottage for four adults and complimentary cot and highchair for a child, all linen including beach towels and bathrobes, continental breakfast provisions (juice, milk, butter portions, spreads, cereal, muesli, fruit cups & fresh bread) free use of pool, BBQ and hydrotheraphy spa and under cover carparking is extremely good value.
We beg to differ on some comments but do hope you and your family did enjoy your stay - it is worth noting that fully self contained accommodation is just that - it is expected that guests are independent or self contained, doing their own cooking and cleaning and providing their own groceries etc. The additional complimentary items in the cottage in our and any other FSC properties are added by the proprietors as additional attention to customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Desperately needing a break, my husband and l booked directly through the owners of the property for a 4 night stay. Directions to the property had been emailed to me, great idea, so it was easy to find. On arrival we were pleasantly supprised to find a quaint little cottage (Fish Pen) that had all the mod cons and more. Loved the king size bed! With the weather not on our side we spent most of our time at the cottage and felt very comfortable and relaxed, just what we needed. A great place for Couples and families and l highly recomend this property. I will miss sitting on the verandah at dusk and listening to the kookaburras :-( Jan was very helpful from booking to departure and we are looking forward to coming back in the near future.

Room Tip: There is a cottage overlooking the golf course with a wonderful view. Not sure how many bedrooms it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it is very much appreciated. After all the rain the sun is out today and all the birds have a chorus going!
The cottage adjacent to Fishpen Cottage is Bass Cottage - it is a two bedroom, two bathroom cottage and has the same floor plan and features as the two 1br cottages - Fishpen, which you enjoyed, and Salmon Company Cottage.
We look forward to welcoming you back again - and thank you for leaving our cottage so clean & tidy, we give you the highest rating as guests too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
2.4 mi away
Esplanade Resort & Spa
Esplanade Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
588 reviews
2 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#6 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kalimna Woods Spa & Woodfire Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#7 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Coastal Waters Motor Inn
2.8 mi away
Lakes Caravilla Caravan Park
Lakes Caravilla Caravan Park
#24 of 39 in Lakes Entrance
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley House Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley House Cottages

Address: 205 Palmers Rd, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Lakes Entrance
Price Range: $133 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waverley House Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six 1 and 2 bedroom self catering cottages, 2 minutes drive to shops, Ninety Mile Beach and Gippsland Lakes. Relax in quiet, landscaped native gardens overlooking Lakes Entrance. Choose the cottage with the features you desire - woodfire, Spa, Q/ K/KS beds, reverse cycle air conditioning and outside all have generous verandahs and covered carports. Each have a well appointed kitchen and laundry and spacious rooms. Continental breakfast provisions for the first morning are included in the tariff. Relax and enjoy our solar heated Pool, Covered BBQs or the Hydrotherapy spa with its open fire and TV. Perfect Gippsland, Victoria AUSTRALIA location for short breaks, romantic escapes and longer stays with family and friends. Lakes Entrance – an ideal base to explore East Gippsland’s National Parks, cruise, sail or fish the lakes, ocean and rivers. Enjoy the abundant natural and fresh attractions of our region. Your Hosts, Rob & Jan Davis look forward to making your stay an inspiring one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waverley House Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing