We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dry & Dusty with a good pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wimmera Lakes Caravan Resort
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dry & Dusty with a good pool.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a highly maintained caravan park with a nice pool area. The cabins are large and the beds are very comfortable. Expect the rules in this park to be policed strictly (maybe a bit too strictly) I thought they could have let people stay in the pool past the usual closing time on a 45 degree day instead of sending them back to their hot caravans. My kids felt like they were doing things wrong all the time which made us all feel a bit on edge.
The astroturf around the pool is the only green thing about the park, it feel like you're in the middle of a dry paddock and the tennis court is not worth mentioning.
The BBQs look new and were kept very clean. The cabin prices were very reasonable and the aircon worked well. The TVs in the cabin were modern (flat) and a decent size.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicknlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a warm welcome we had on our arrival and a lovely clean cabin to stay in for 7 nights. It was very warm in Horsham (reaching 46 degrees one day) but the air-conditioning held up and the kids kept cool swimming all day and well into the evening in the fantastic pool. They loved it - making full use of the playground, jumping pillow, recreation room and even mini golf. Our cabin had Aus Star which was nice to have a change and something else to watch other than cricket and tennis.You could also hire a DVD from the office. It was nice not to be right in town but still close enough with a short drive to go out for dinner to the local pub.
Overall we had a great holiday and when we checked out we simply rebooked for Easter.
See you soon :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

must have new staff as man and guessing father were extremly rude blunt and agressive on every incounter we had. we had a few powered site that was large however no shade or grass. hoping to have a kid friendly family get together however due to this place we cut it short. when we arrived thought we were at the wrong address as doesnot look like the photos. strong winds and 33+ deg days equals trying to get shade away from dust blowing throughout vans and tents in the pool. there was some fake grass the only green you could see. was hoping to cool the kids and us off however ended in tears and chemical burns for both children and adult as the pool was not balanced correctly. shower blocks and toilets were not cleaned often. no instructions for cleaning bbq plate. male worker was very agressive went told us dont clean it with water . so first in best dressed if you wanted to cook as was very sticky and a mess after you finished. ohh and dont think your near or on a lake that is a drive away. i would use the caravan park in town at least that was clean, green, on the river and pool near bye.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peanuts2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Horsham hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Had a quick stopover with the family. The rooms were great, Good size and really comfortable. The staff were fantastic and were very helpful. We didnt hear any traffic noise even though we were on a busy highway but we did have a cabin in the back so that may have something to do with it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi-Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Really good facilities friendly staff but struggled to sleep through the night. The park sits on the main truck route from Adelaide to Melbourne and is situated on a corner where trucks continually use their engine brakes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller141592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Campbell, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This caravan park is ideal if passing through Horsham, easy access, and departure for large vans, large powered drive throughs at front of park for quick overnight stays, amenities clean and soap and hand dryer available. Staff very helpful and friendly, the park is not well grassed, and very dusty and sandy, which given the location is understandable, highway very noisy through the night,
Dump station at front of park, with easy access, as stated a good overnight location if passing on way to Adelaide or Melbourne.

Room Tip: Excellent large powered drive throughs at front of park with easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MikenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed in a "superior" cabin which boasted air conditioning but turned out to be extremely poor evaporated cooling!!! It was 36 degrees every day (we stayed 3 nights). The cabin was so hot and stuffy. Ran the 'air conditioner' all night and all day and still no relief from the heat. Very disappointed in the 'air conditioning'! We had no instructions for the 'Austar' TV that was supposed to be there so didn't use that. All in all though the cabin was clean and big enough. The park is well appointed and our kids loved the jumping pillow. Park was very clean and the pool was very well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sueau100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Horsham hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn May Park
Comfort Inn May Park
#2 of 12 in Horsham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.3 mi away
Horsham International Hotel
1.7 mi away
Horsham Riverside Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Majestic Motel
Majestic Motel
#5 of 12 in Horsham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Capital Horsham
0.8 mi away
Sundowner Horsham Westlander Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wimmera Lakes Caravan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wimmera Lakes Caravan Resort

Property: Wimmera Lakes Caravan Resort
Address: 9161 Western Hwy, Horsham, Victoria 3401, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Horsham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Horsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wimmera Lakes Caravan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wimmera Lakes Caravan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing