We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Horsham Masala Indian Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 48 Restaurants in Horsham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Tiki masala good, tandoori very good, beef madras worst I've ever had. Naan dry. Birriani flavourless. Would buy tandoori again and may try a couple of other dishes but not in a hurry to go back. Lovely quiet restaurant and lovely people though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    34
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chicken offcuts used in butter chicken”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I go to Horsham usually once a month and every second time use to eat here, however the last three times have been getting worse.
Originally the butter chicken was very good, as is their naan bread.
However the last few times I've been there the chicken bits have gone from tender fillet pieces to what only can be described as the off cuts. And to top it off last time I ate there there was six small pieces of chicken in the takeaway dish, less than half full!!!
Once I got back to hotel and discovered this I rang them to which the reply was "I'm sorry sir, that's how it comes".
Please please please go back to using quality fresh chicken and you will have happier customers. I don't mind paying your prices but want the quality food you once offered!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitch32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent curry in Horsham”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

As a UK expat living in rural South Australia, I can't pass over an opportunity to try a new curry house as good curry is hard to find and even harder a decent naan.
Horsham Masala ticked all the boxes, excellent samosa to start. The beef madras and lamb korma were superb and I was beside myself to see the tandoor oven and the resulting perfect naan bread. Shame there was no Kingfisher beer to wash it all down with.
If only it weren't a 1.5 hour drive to Horsham from where we live, we would be there every Friday night for a take away!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meals.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed in Horsham overnight and first thing we did was to look for Indian, We tried Horsham masala and was very pleased with our meal, the service was good atmosphere was good. We tried a few entree's and a couple mains and all were very good. would recommend to try this place if your in Horsham.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MediumZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Chicken Jalfrezi asked for it med/hot and it tasted fantastic. We tried this restaurant after reading the other reviews and really pleased we did . If you like things spicy then I would recommend med/hot rather then med.
Being English I've been spoilt with good Indian Restaurants but the Horsham Masala is up there with the best.
The chef asked if we enjoyed the food. Thought that was a nice touch. Take aways were very busy with local customers (good sign).
We traveled from Adelaide to Melbourne and stopped overnight in Horsham. If you want a good curry then this is the place for you.
We wouldn't hesitate to eat here again. Well done Horsham Masala.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carpkernel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horsham Masala Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Horsham Masala Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing