We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexperienced kitchen for a non existent lunch”
Review of Darriwill Farm

Darriwill Farm
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Inexperienced kitchen for a non existent lunch”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

It took a lot of convincing my partner incoming back to Darriwill Farm Hamilton after 18months but the final nail in the coffin has been hammered. Wait staff was varied, we didn't know there were specials until we heard another table was told. No water was given but everyone else seemed to have a jug.. I felt very singled out. Our meal never came but four others tables who were sat after us got their meals.... I understand that we selected meals that take longer than your average soup/pie/sandwich, but first IN first OUT! In the end my partner got up, explained our situation and we left.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_Traveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Hedley, Manager at Darriwill Farm, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Food_Traveler 79,
Thank you for your review of Darriwill Farm Hamilton restaurant. We are disappointed to hear that you were less than satisfied with your dining experience. On this particular occasion we had a new chef on their first day and unfortunately we were overwhelmed with excessive walk-ins to our cafe, we had one table booked and did in excess of 70 covers. All we can do on this occasion is deeply apologise for your less than adequate experience, we are continuously training our staff to stop these situations from happening or at the very least given the circumstances to handle the situation in a more professional manner. Your experience on this occasion was less than adequate, however we do strive for excellence & we welcome you back to try us again. The new chef is now flourishing and enjoying their time with the Darriwill Farm team.
Please contact us for the opportunity to discuss your comments and for us to make amends for your less than adequate experience.

Kind regards,
John Hedley
Manager, Hamilton Darriwill Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“Must stop shop”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We passed though Hamilton again on the weekend and made sure we called into Darriwill Farm. After having been amazed at the kitchen gadgets i never new i needed and picking up some new Herbies spices to try. We found ourselves soaking up the atmosphere whilst having a very enjoyable lunch. As per usual the staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the food was delicious. Thanks again guys. Will see you the next time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Hedley, Manager at Darriwill Farm, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Matthew F,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We were extremely happy to read that we are a 'must stop shop' for you when passing through Hamilton. We feel that we are unique in that we offer a dining & shopping experience in one. We are proud to stock Herbies spice range, they have quite a loyal following! We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Hamilton,

Kind regards,

John Hedley
Manager, Darriwill Farm Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“worst place to eat at hamilton”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

tasteless food, horrible food portions and expensive to the core, ambience is average, nothing extraordinary selections on the menu, below average dining experience and not to go there unless you have money which grows on trees to spend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Hedley, Manager at Darriwill Farm, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Agkoshy85,

Thank you for your review of Darriwill Farm Hamilton restaurant. We take all feedback from customers on board. We are disappointed to hear that you were less than satisfied with your dining experience. We strive for excellence, particularly with quality gourmet & local ingredients & we welcome you back to try us again.
We feel that we have value for money as you receive three substantial courses for under $50 at lunch and two exceptional courses whilst dining with us in the evening.
Could you please provide us with details of when you dined with us and what you tried on the menu so we can follow up more accurately?
Please contact us for the opportunity to discuss your comments,

Kind regards,

John Hedley
Manager, Darriwill Farm Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Gourmet Delight”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We opted to buy provisions from this amazing providore and take them back to our motel as we were a little tired of eating out. We selected cheeses, smoked trout and a bottle of wine and the lass serving us very kindly found us plastic plates and knives and forks to assist in our bedroom picnic.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FOSSHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Hedley, Manager at Darriwill Farm, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Fosshill,

Thank you for your review of Darriwill Farm Hamilton. It is fantastic to hear that our staff are going the extra mile for our customers.
We strive to be ambassadors for regional & gourmet produce - we are also happy to read that we were able to provide you with all the goodies you needed for your picnic.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

John Hedley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nailsworth south australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, casual atmosphere, a little pricey”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Three of us dined here on a Saturday evening. The food was enjoyed by all, although it seemed a little expensive given the casual setting. Seems to be a very popular spot with a very noisy hens party the night we visited.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrewbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darriwill Farm also viewed

Hamilton, Grampians
Hamilton, Grampians
 
Hamilton, Grampians
Hamilton, Grampians
 

Been to Darriwill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing