We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably excellent”
Review of Le Parisien

Le Parisien
Ranked #25 of 453 Restaurants in Geelong
Price range: $22 - $74
Cuisines: Steakhouse, French, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 1976, Le Parisien has offered fine food, wines and dedicated service to the Geelong region. Opened by Lorraine and Jean-Paul Temple on the 11th of November 1976, Le Parisien is still run by the Temple family with their children and grandchildren now working in the business. The restaurant relocated to its now iconic waterfront location in 1998. Le Parisien is situated right on Geelong’s Waterfront and gives widespread views of Corio Bay. The building originally being an old boat shed still retains many of its original timber features, the main dining room is full of exposed timber beams and surrounded with large windows. Le Parisien also has a balcony, perfect for those long Sunday lunches in the sun. The main dining room has capacity for seating up to 130 people as well as a full public address system making it perfect for weddings and functions, Le Parisien is also equipped with a private function room with a sit down dining capacity of up to 40 people. Gift vouchers are available in person or by phone order. From May 1st through to the end of September we are open for lunch and dinner Wednesday through to Sunday. Mondays and Tuesdays by appointment only.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reliably excellent”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of those restaurants that ticks all the boxes, it has great food and authentic. The service is good and staff are pleasant. Hardly any spare tables.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AntoinetteS1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    79
    43
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FINE FRENCH DINING”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This restaurant serves authentic French Cuisine and is located overlooking Geelong's fabulous Waterfront. Ideal setting for a special occasion. Staff are always well presented and knowledgeable about the menu, the service is what you would expect in a fine dining restaurant. The casualness of the dress code is noticeable but it doesn't distract from the ambience created. The food is very good but the menu needs to be changed more often.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank adrianjfanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templestowe, Australia
1 review
“Completely satisfying first experience.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I feel compelled to write this review in complete contradiction of the most recent reviews by others. Saturday 12th January 2013 was a significant day in my life. My wife and I were spending an overnight stay in Geelong so we booked for dinner at Le Parisien. I had read the reviews by others and almost had second thoughts. Thankfully, I chose to ignore these and went. To say that the setting is simply stunning is an understatement. We were promptly taken to probably the best table location in the whole place. Friendly and 100% attentive service from the staff combined with completely balanced timing for delivery of the entree and mains together with timely topping of the wine left me wondering how could you not be impressed? The food was superb. Expensive? Yes, but not for what was delivered together with total sevice from their wait staff. Overall, I left highly impressed with the entirely satisfying evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I did like the decor, very opulent and a lot of character (wooden beams, candelabras over flowed with wax from previous melted candles,history of the restaurant famous clientele as you walk up the flight of stairs, large white linen tables and a huge flower display) but at the end of the day- if I get bad service....It fails automatically. To top that off, the food was bad.... all I can remember was lots and lots of tasteless cream...

I'm a firm believer on you pay for what you get but I felt ripped off...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_Traveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Christmas Lunch disappointment".”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We decided to book Christmas lunch at Le Parisien as we have dined here before and enjoyed the meals. Considering it was Christmas Day one would expect something a little special. Upon arrival we found the ambience quite ordinary without even a Christmas decoration let alone a Christmas tree. The Service was very ordinary: We were offered a drink without the drink menu before we even sat down and we were not offered another drink until desert by the young inexperienced waiters who lacked communication skills as they dropped the plates on our table and snuck away as if to elude any eye contact and service (clearly cheap labour hire for the day). We selected the prawn cocktail for the entree which was bland and not de-veined. The ham and turkey of the main course was too salty and not very tender. More than one piece of the potato and pumpkin would have been appreciated. For $130.00 per head on Christmas Day without even a glass of champagne or a coffee included, was unacceptable. On a previous Christmas Lunch we journeyed to the 'Sky High' in Mt Dandenong. It was well worth the drive and our expectations were exceeded on a memorable occasion with a full smorgasbord that was mouthwatering which even came at a better price per head. Le Parisien you have 'Cashed In For Christmas'. We will not be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Zeddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Parisien also viewed

Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 

Been to Le Parisien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing