We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Consistantly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Parisien

Le Parisien
Ranked #47 of 496 Restaurants in Geelong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistantly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The only place in Geelong to take business collegues if you want consistantly good food and service. Have never found the waiting staff rude or unhelpful and am surprised by some of the reviews I have read. Have to wonder about the source. Perhaps it can be a little bit pricey at times, but after dining at restaurants in Melb and overseas it compares more than favourably. Steaks are always great and more importantly cooked properly, and the wine list exceptional. Seafood platters to die for. Have been a regular customer for over 20 years and will always keep goin back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mishish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    65
    37
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Pathetic service from the manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Terrible service. Arrogant manager who failed to 1) seat us 2) apologise 3) offer alternative to te complaint. Absolutely pathetic.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCRUIZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tired Old Duck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Le Parisienne for lunch 3 August, 2012.
Ordered
LE CONFIT DE CANARD
Duck leg confit, mash, French peas with a duck
jus and Cointreau
42.90
& was very disappointed with the dried, tasteless duck. Quelle horreur!
When I complained to the waitress and asked her to convey my dissatisfaction to the chef there was no feedback. The ?owner/maitre did not bother to speak with us, despite his presence in the restaurant talking to other customers.
The restaurant is very overpriced and obviously benefits from it's monopoly in Geelong.
The decor is tired and I object to being seated at a squashy table at the side of the restaurant when there are only 16 other diners.
We were asked if we wanted to "order" some breads which we declined on arrival.
$5 for a 150ml soft drink and $11.50 for a Stella is way up there. This is not Vue and I would recommend to keep on driving and go to Melbourne for a much better dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lunchclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrendous!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The evening began with a very cold welcome from a waitress clearly needing to get home! Entree was going well, till the equally rude waiter wandered over and took our snails...before we finished!! The duck main looked great, the crepe not so much. The duck was tough and incredibly salty...disgusting!! The crepe tasted like home made pie..a bad one!! Overall, apart from the overpriced very poor food and terrible service....

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jallchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An old classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This Restaurant has stood the test of time. While the menu could do with an update it delivers a classic French/Australian menu. Food was cooked to perfection and how we liked. No arrogance for staff I found them all very attentive and well trained. While the beer list is expensive and not much for this day and age, the wine list while with an ample selection could do with a restructure. Over all I enjoyed my night out honest food with out the trends molecular foam fizz or spheres!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Treydey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Parisien also viewed

 

Been to Le Parisien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing