We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay City(Geelong) Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$97
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn(Geelong)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Geelong(Geelong)(Great Value!)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkwood Motel(Geelong)(Great Value!)
$80
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong(Geelong)(Great Value!)
$104
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barwon Valley Lodge(Geelong)(Great Value!)
$117
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rippleside Park Motor Inn(Geelong)(Great Value!)
$76
$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Geelong(Geelong)(Great Value!)
$100
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
8
25
17
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
25
17
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom downstairsoff street parkinggreat locationwalking distancecomfy bedgreat showercentral locationwould definitely stay here againwestfield shopping centrea great staygood sizehospitalwaterfront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 69 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on our way back to Melbourne from GOR. Booked this motel via booking.com. The room looks old but is clean. it has the basic items i.e. microwave, kettle, utensils. The staff was kind enough to give us the room downstairs (which is easy access to our car) when we suppose to have a room upstairs. Is a walking distance to Eastern Beach and Westfield.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilBabySun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this motel through booking.com as our last stop 09/04/2013, before Melbourne, having traveled from Adelaide via the great ocean road. We were looking for a central location stay where we could venture out foot but also reasonably priced.
This turned out to be the perfect venue, the room was large with all amenities including a microwave & fridge and was also very clean,

Cannot complain it was a good price and perfect for us, if we ever returned to Geelong this would be the fisrt place for us to consider for a stay

Room Tip: You can always ask to see the room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this Motel through Booking.com before reading Trip Advisor, If I had done it the other way round I wouldn't have booked and we would have missed out on an excellent stay. The room was spotless the bed very comfortable, the room had all that was needed including a microwave. The bathroom was very big and had a double shower that was fantastic you could move around and not hit the walls. To top things off there is now a restaurant attached and it is fantastic. All in all it was a great stay and next time we go back to Geelong that is where we will stay

Room Tip: We had room 5 on the Ground floor
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieChrisMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a motel/motor inn that we paid $280 for one night. Granted I made over 15 calls to find a room in Geelong on a long weekend - but by anyone's standards this was a rip-off, but beggars can't be choosers. I don't know if this is the normal rate - I can only hope not.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank argonaut64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam W, Owner at Bay City(Geelong) Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

as this was the Australia day long weekend,with a major sailing event in Geelong, we are inner city motel we were full, then one of our sailing teams left early, so we had one room left, and our price was lower than any other motel left with rooms in the city. this is not a standard price. sorry you felt that you were over charged, but we pay triple time rates for staff over this weekend, prices get passed on to the customers. we are always the cheapest motel in the city and always give the lowest prices for city motels. sorry you were unhappy. thank you Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This property has deteriorated so badly in the past couple of years. Prices have escalated whilst cleanliness and service has dropped dramatically. Complimentary tea/coffee etc not stocked, rubbish on floor & around bins, stains in toilet, vinyl cover on spare bed was smeared with baby oil or such, pre-used shower cap shoved back into little box, cobwebs under basin, stains on walls above shower (which had a dodgy patch job on it's base), hot tap dripped unless you were Hercules (in which case you could actually wrench it off). Management claim new cleaner but the stains & cobwebs etc etc did not happen overnight. It was absolutely rank! The only housekeeping which happened was a change of sheets (well, I hope they had been changed). ewww Never again, and I shall be shouting this from the rooftops especially as management did not want to know about it. Also Run Geelong was on that weekend and the road out front was closed off - when management were asked night before checkout how we could get out the manageress suggested rather crudely just driving out anyhow despite there being thousands of runners! She said otherwise back gate would be open for exit - it wasn't...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevian2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam W, Owner at Bay City(Geelong) Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

All alligations were proven to be false as they sent the city of greater Geelong to do a spot check on this room and as the customer knows we were given a fuul bill of health as we were 2 months prior when we received 200 out of a possible 200 for room quality and cleanliness cant argue with that.We have a access and at no time were they trapped clearly they wernt happy paying $150.00 when previously they stayed at $90.00 but there were two sporting events on that weekend and the city was full.and our prices were higher. they booked through wotif and our rate on there site has never dropped below 4 out of 5, not bad for a 3.5 star motel. staff/ owner were not informed of any of these issues at all and lets be honest if you had all of these issues, would you stay?, I WOULDNT. Thanks, Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews