We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay City(Geelong) Motel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A place for the night”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The location is great as you get access to the centre of Geelong CBD by a short walk down Malop Street. Nothing special about the room, everything worked, we didnt have any interaction with the staff.
Easy parking for the car.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rod_heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam W, Owner at Bay City(Geelong) Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your location.
Thanks Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
13
25
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I arrived without having booked anything, and Lyn was very helpful on the phone and in person! Very close to CBD. Older facilities, but clean and you absolutely have everything you need. Off street parking was great as the streets were very busy. No restaurant but everything is so close that it didn't really matter. Would come back, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yukonem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam W, Owner at Bay City(Geelong) Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Sorry our restaurant, was between tenants at that time, the restaurant is now open its called pancakes and more, catering for all tastes. thank for the positive comments about my staff. and motel.Thanks Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night and was happy with the accommodation. Unfortunately the restaurant has been closed down and so we had to look elsewhere for dinner. Found an awesome restaurant for dinner nearby and would definitely return for dinner there again. We needed to do some washing and they do not have any laundry facilities. Also, as it was over the easter long weekend, the nearby laundrette was also closed. We had to go for a drive to find another one, which we finally did.

The room we had was quite spacious and the shower is amazing. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

Overall, a nice motel in Geelong.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveSleepingInPlanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam W, Owner at Bay City(Geelong) Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for the positive review, we have a new restaurant newly opened, we are sorry there were no laundry service we do offer this services but being a long weekend they were not open.
we are glad you enjoyed you stay and would come again,
Thanks Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, vic
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We've stayed here on two occasions, each time had no complaints, love the location of being able to park at motel, walk into the main street to both major shopping centre's, restaurants and beach as well.. Loved the comfy bed we got!! was very enjoyable, you get a few pay tv channels too thats always nice.. Shower is quite large, no complaints there.. overall a nice, clean decent motel and thats all you need.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam W, Owner at Bay City(Geelong) Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrandera
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed in room 3, bottom floor. Owner was very polite and could not do enough for us. Room was a little small and dated but very clean and comfortable, without exception the best shower in any Motel I have ever stayed at. The restaurant meals were fantastic and we recived a 25% discount because we were staying at the motel. The bar needs a couple of lounge chairs and tables added. Parking was safe and reasonable room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjrnarrandera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam W, Owner at Bay City(Geelong) Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for you nice comments.
Thanks Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
182 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

This is a good, above average motel with the usual facilities (welcoming staff, good sized bed, plenty of pillows and other bedding, three chairs, a good shower, breakfast to room) but why we'll stay there again is it is in a great central location.
Just along the street is Geelong's shopping centre. Walk down the nearest side road and you are on Eastern Beach, with its enclosed pools, children's playground, bungy trampolines, etc. You could walk to the Botanical Gardens, too. Walk the other way on the waterfront and you reach a great choice of restaurants and cafes, including the family-friendly Wharfshed Cafe/bar and the grander Le Parisien. The nearest cafe for breakfast is the excellent The Sprout and The Bean Organic Cafe, 163 Malop Street, a little way along in the direction of town. The Thai Elephant, the onsite restaurant, has an extensive menu but we didn't try it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam W, Manager at Bay City(Geelong) Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Glad you had a comfortable stay, the new restaurant is open and called Pancakes and more offering a wide range of food.
Thanks Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geelong hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
0.4 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
703 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#8 of 17 in Geelong
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
#14 of 17 in Geelong
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay City(Geelong) Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay City(Geelong) Motel

Property: Bay City(Geelong) Motel
Address: 231 - 235 Malop St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Bay City)
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay City(Geelong) Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay City(Geelong) Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing