We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from the rat race for a while”

Bellarine Rail Trail
Ranked #10 of 66 things to do in Geelong
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Get away from the rat race for a while”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I entered onto the trail on the section through Leopold which is all composed of tarmac. I have recently walked it several times and cycled it several times. I enjoy it. My dog enjoys it. I recommend doing it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Needs Repairing”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We use the Bellarine Rail Trail on a regular basis as we live close by. We walk the dog and also go for bike rides. Over the last few months big wide cracks have appeared along the track especially between Coppards Road and Boundary Road. They really need some attention from the Council. You also have to watch out for broken glass which frequents the trail especially if you are walking a dog. We are always brushing the glass off the trail where we can. Overall it a great place to ride your bike as it is safer then being on the roads.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Ride”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The best way to enjoy this ride initially is to park near the Leopold Sports Club and ride to Queenscliff. It is an easy ride for the most part and I would suggest that you time your ride so as to enjoy a lunch at Queenscliff. Either fish and chips in the park or enjoy one of the many eateries in the town. Even a ride to the wharf area is worthwhile.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a great way to spend a day”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is my favourite bike trail in the Geelong region. It is 98% off road so is relaxed with outlooks not normally available to anyone else. It is basically a day outing depending on your fitness, such that fit riders would start at Geelong and ride the full 30 odd kilometers to Queenscliff then back, while better is to start at Drysdale and ride about 16km again to the end at Queenscliff. Queenscliff has some fine eaterys, ships, views, beaches etc etc so several hours can be spent before either riding or catching the steam train back to Drysdale. This is a mountain bike track as some of it is on gravel. Hire bikes can be found in Geelong.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrendenTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great for the kids”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

we live not too far from an entry point and we ride or walk between two main roads. It is a great safe environment for the kids learning how to ride with out training wheels and the surface is pretty smooth.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mumof2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellarine Rail Trail also viewed

Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 

Been to Bellarine Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing