We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not child friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barwon River Tourist Park
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The manager of the park doesn't seem to like children. He was on my children's back the entire stay. They were supervised by us at all times, and the only thing they seemed to be doing wrong was trying to have fun. It made us extremely uncomfortable, and therefore we would not consider staying there again, or recommending it to anyone. A big disappointment to our otherwise fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ppjd1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarwonRiverTP, Manager at Barwon River Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

It sadens me greatly to read your review as we are & have always been a family owned & operated tourist park. We take great pride in our accommodation, facilities & staff . We also aim to excell in our customer service at all times.
All of our management & reception staff have their own young children & are without a doubt fantastic family orientated people. However I have spoken with all of our staff, including our grounds staff, so that everyone is aware that we did have a guest feel this way.
We have been continuosly improving our park over the last 26 years & more so in the last few years & having an extra focus on our facilities for families & children, such as the addition of a jumping pillow, a 2nd children's playground, pedal go karts & currently we are installing an outdoor solar heated swimming pool with a seperate childrens wading pool.
We do hope that you will consider returning as we belive this was definitely a one off occurance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

We booked the previous evening by telephone for 2 nights – Deluxe cabin @ $100 p.n. = £65. Access, from the Great Ocean Road, was very straightforward and well sign-posted. We arrived mid-afternoon, and friendly staff checked us in and recommended things to do in the area. We were allotted Cabin 7, towards the centre of the park, and well away from the road.

It is a fair-sized park, with 2 ablution blocks (newer ones nearest to Reception), and 2 playgrounds. Tent sites are along the Barrabool Road side, which skirts the Barwon River. Long-term cabins are along the middle, as well as to the back of the park. Some of them appear to be permanent homes, with some nice long-established gardens. There are also plenty of large trees for shade. Tourist cabins are all to the left side of the park, away from the road. There is a Camp Kitchen, a laundry and 2 BBQ areas. No pool, otherwise i would give the park 5 stars, but they do have a small bouncing pillow.

The cabins are arranged in rows, and are only one car-width apart. Outside, they are similar to other cabins we have stayed in, with a slatted metal exterior, but this one has a cream painted-weatherboard-effect finish.
Inside, the cabin is perfect in every way, and is only 3 months old. Only the bathroom shows some signs of use. 1 double bedroom, 2 twin-bunk rooms, 1 large shower room, and a fully equipped kitchen bar in the living area. Everything is new : full set of pans, 6 place settings of crockery, cutlery and glassware. L-shaped settee, for at least 6 people, and a nice oval dining table with 6 fabric-padded chairs. A/C heating unit, and a large flatscreen TV. - A bonus to have a small table-top ironing board and an iron (Kambrook Speed Steam), but I couldn’t seem to get the iron to put out any steam at all.

This is the 8th holiday park cabin we have stayed in, and definitely the nicest, and best value for money. At night, we heard muffled train hooters just after going to bed, and again later, some traffic noise and some bird noise – but no crying babies, or yapping dogs, so no complaints really!

The park is 10 minutes by car from the Waterfront area, straight down Moorabul road. The Visitor Information Centre is a block before you come to the Waterfront, and shares a building with the Wool Museum. There are plenty of car parks, and ticket parking spaces, in the city centre. The waterfront itself is buzzing, with lots going on. The Botanic gardens, at the east end of the waterfront, are small but attractive

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spotless as new cabin furnished tastefully and comfortably. Friendly helpful staff. Fantastic for the family with children, we felt really welcome. Lovely atmosphere by day and quiet, peaceful nights. Thank-you, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

A lovely park with good grassy sites. There had been some rain and sites turned muddy with poor drainage. Perhaps management should consider concrete slabs? Overall, lovely camp kitchen and good amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarwonRiverTP, Manager at Barwon River Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geelong
0.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Geelong
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.1 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#9 of 19 in Geelong
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#2 of 19 in Geelong
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 19 in Geelong
137 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwon River Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwon River Tourist Park

Address: 153 Barrabool Road, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3221, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Geelong
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barwon River Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing